Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

india.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Media awards help close the gender gap in India

Bookmark and Share


From left to right: Mr. Ameen Sayani, Mr. Harish Bhimani, Laadli Awards chair Dolly Thakore, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Population First Director Dr. Sharada and Executive trustee Mr. Sista..
 

Consul General Richard Bale and United Nations Population Fund's Deputy India Representative Mr. Toshihiro Tanaka unveil "Through the Gender Lens" a collection of past Laadli award winners.
   

Canadian Consul General, Richard Bale, describes Canada’s commitment to girls and women empowerment.
   
Laadli award winners and organizers.
   

Gender equality is an issue that concerns both women and men. Achieving equality will involve working together to bring about changes in attitudes and behaviour at home, in the workplace, and in the community.

In India, although progress has been made in improving the status of women, cases of sexual violence against women as well as instances of child, early, and forced marriage (CEFM) remain prevalent throughout the country. Promoting gender equality in India is the key to unlocking the full potential of women and girls in society.

As part of Canada’s ongoing efforts for girl child empowerment, the Consulate General of Canada in Mumbai partnered with the National Laadli Media and Advertising Awards for Gender Sensitivity to encourage positive images of women and girls in India. The award recognizes and celebrates the efforts of those who are helping to bridge the gender gap in India through advertising and media.

“Cherished Daughter”

The Laadli Awards were launched in 2007 by Population First, an NGO based in Mumbai, with long-term support from the United Nations Population Fund.  The awards are a part of Population First’s media advocacy efforts under the Laadli - A Girl Child Campaign. The objective of the campaign is to make the term Laadli, which means “sweetheart” or “cherished daughter” in Hindi, synonymous with women empowerment and the celebration of womanhood.

This year, in the sixth edition of the national awards, close to 1300 entries were received in 13 different languages. With an audience of approximately 700 officials, members of the media, advertisers and activists, the award ceremony served as an important opportunity to underscore the value of women’s participation in India.

Awardees included journalist Danish Raza from the Hindustan Times for his story “Cheaper than Cattle,” which covered the lives of “molki” (“one who has a price” in Hindi) women trafficked for marriage. Dainik Vajpal was awarded for running a campaign that addressed acid attacks against women in advance of a Supreme Court decision on the banning of acid sales.

Many other members of the media such were also recognized for stories that address sexual violence, women’s health, women’s right to employment and to financial inclusion. Chief Minister of Maharashtra state in India, Devendra Fadnavis, presented the “Laadli Voice of the Century” award to the legendary Bollywood singer Lata Mangeshakar, whose career spans seven decades with 30,000 songs in 36 Indian languages.

Canada’s commitment to end gender inequality

During the award ceremony, Canadian Consul General in Mumbai Richard Bale emphasized Canada’s commitment to addressing issues related to CEFM; maternal, newborn and child care; and sexual and gender based violence.

Canada was proud to support the Laadli Awards through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), and will continue to support initiatives that empower women in India and around the world. Working together to empower women is central to achieving global gender equality. 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

inde.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Une remise de prix pour les médias contribue à réduire le fossé entre les sexes en Inde

Partagez et faite un signet


De gauche à droite : M. Ameen Sayani; M. Harish Bhimani; Mme Dolly Thakore, présidente des prix Laadli, le ministre en chef Devendra Fadnavis; Dre Sharada, directrice de Population First; et M. Sista, administrateur exécutif.
 

Le consul général, M. Richard Bale, et le représentant adjoint pour l’Inde du Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population, M. Toshihiro Tanaka, dévoilent « Through the Gender Lens » (dans l’optique de l’égalité entre les sexes), un recueil d’anciens lauréats des prix Laadli.
   

Le consul général du Canada, M. Richard Bale, décrit l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de l’autonomisation des filles et des femmes.
   

Lauréats et organisateurs des prix Laadli.
   

L’égalité entre les sexes est une question qui touche autant les femmes que les hommes. Pour atteindre cette égalité, il sera nécessaire de travailler ensemble pour provoquer des changements dans les attitudes et les comportements à la maison, au travail et dans la collectivité.

En Inde, bien que des progrès ont été accomplis pour améliorer le statut des femmes, les cas de violence sexuelle à l’égard des femmes et de mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés demeurent répandus dans l’ensemble du pays. La promotion de l’égalité entre les sexes en Inde est essentielle pour libérer le plein potentiel des femmes et des filles dans la société.

Dans le cadre des efforts soutenus du Canada pour favoriser l’autonomisation des filles, le Consulat général du Canada à Mumbai a apporté son soutien au National Laadli Media and Advertising Awards for Gender Sensitivity (en anglais seulement) (prix national pour les médias et la publicité Laadli sur la sensibilisation à l’égalité entre les sexes) pour encourager la diffusion d’images positives de femmes en Inde. Ces prix reconnaissent et célèbrent les efforts de ceux qui contribuent à réduire le fossé entre les sexes en Inde au moyen des médias et de la publicité.

La « fille chérie »

Les prix Laadli ont été lancés en 2007 par Population First, une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) située à Mumbai, grâce au soutien de longue durée du Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population. Les prix font partie des efforts de sensibilisation médiatique de Population First relatifs à la campagne Laadli - A Girl Child Campaign. L’objectif de cette campagne est de transformer le terme Laadli, qui signifie « chérie » ou « fille chérie » en hindi, synonyme d’autonomisation et de célébration de la femme.

Cette année, dans le cadre de la sixième édition de la remise de prix nationale, près de 1 300 candidatures dans 13 langues différentes ont été reçues. Avec un auditoire composé d’environ 700 représentants, membres des médias, annonceurs et militants, la cérémonie de remise de prix représente une occasion importante de souligner la valeur de la participation des femmes en Inde.

Les lauréats comprenaient le journaliste M. Danish Raza du Hindustan Times pour son reportage « Cheaper than Cattle » (moins cher que le bétail), qui traitait de la vie des femmes molki (« personne qui a un prix » en hindi), qui sont victimes de traite les obligeant à se marier. M. Dainik Vajpal s’est mérité un prix pour la campagne luttant contre les attaques à l’acide subies par les femmes qu’il a menée avant la décision de la Cour suprême concernant l’interdiction de la vente d’acide.

De nombreux autres membres des médias ont eux aussi été reconnus pour leurs reportages qui portaient sur la violence sexuelle, la santé des femmes, et le droit à l’emploi et à l’inclusion financière des femmes. Le ministre en chef de l’état du Maharashtra en Inde, M. Devendra Fadnavis, s’est vu remettre le prix « Laadli Voice of the Century » (la voix Laadli du siècle) à la légendaire chanteuse bollywood Mme Lata Mangeshakar, dont la carrière s’étend sur sept décennies et comprend un répertoire de 30 000 chansons dans 36 langues indiennes.

L’engagement du Canada à éliminer l’inégalité entre les sexes

Pendant la cérémonie de remise de prix, le consul général du Canada à Mumbai, M. Richard Bale, a souligné l’engagement du Canada à lutter contre les problèmes liés aux mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés : les soins des filles enceintes, des nouveau-nés et des enfants, et la violence sexuelle et sexiste.

Le Canada était fier d’appuyer les prix Laadli par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) et continuera de soutenir les initiatives qui contribuent à l’autonomisation des femmes en Inde et partout dans le monde. Le travail de collaboration pour l’autonomisation des femmes est essentiel pour atteindre l’égalité entre les sexes dans le monde.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-07-17