Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Discover Canada
  4. >
  5. Visas and Immigration

Student Partners Program

The Student Partners Program (SPP) is an administrative framework designed and implemented in partnership between the Canadian visa offices in India and Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan). The current list of participating CICan members is the following: 

  1. Algonquin College
  2. Bow Valley College
  3. Cambrian College of Applied Arts & Technology
  4. Camosun College
  5. Canadore College
  6. Centennial College of Applied Arts & Technology
  7. College of New Caledonia
  8. College of the Rockies
  9. Columbia College
  10. Conestoga College
  11. Confederation College of Applied Arts & Technology
  12. Douglas College
  13. Durham College
  14. Fanshawe College of Applied Arts & Technology
  15. Fleming College
  16. George Brown College
  17. Georgian College of Arts & Technology
  18. Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning
  19. Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  20. Langara College
  21. Lambton College of Applied Arts & Technology
  22. Loyalist College of Applied Arts & Technology
  23. Manitoba Institute of Trades & Technology
  24. Medicine Hat College
  25. Mohawk College of Applied Arts & Technology
  26. Niagara College
  27. North Island College
  28. Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
  29. Northern College
  30. Northern Lights
  31. Okanagan College
  32. Parkland College
  33. Red River College of Applied Arts, Science & Technology
  34. Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  35. Sault College
  36. Selkirk College
  37. Seneca College of Applied Arts & Technology
  38. Sheridan College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning
  39. St. Clair College of Applied Arts & Technology
  40. St. Lawrence College
  41. University of The Fraser Valley
  42. Vancouver Island University

Please note that there are many other CICan colleges which also welcome students from India. Applications to these colleges will also receive prompt processing and a fair and individual decision based on the documentation provided.  Further information on the CICan, including a full list of member institutions. 

The Student Partners Program is open to Indian nationals only. Students do not apply to the SPP; they apply to a participating college and may be considered under the program if they meet specific criteria. Application submission under the SPP is at the discretion of each participating college. Students interested in submitting applications under the program are encouraged to contact the participating college of their choice for information. The Student Partners Program involves close cooperative partnership and feedback from the participating colleges to ensure student compliance with the terms of their study permits. Essential to the program feedback mechanism is the student's consent for the institution to provide information on attendance. The student must sign the consent declaration on the SPP checklist in order to be processed under this program.

All Study Permit application checklists have been revised and improved as a result of the Student Partners Program framework to help students make simpler applications. All students are strongly encouraged to submit supporting documents as indicated in the checklists to facilitate the processing of their applications. Checklists are available online.

We strongly recommend that you submit your application at least three months ahead of your proposed date of travel. Applications that are received after 01 April for May entry, after 01 August for September entry and after 01 December for January entry will not normally be processed in time for the start of classes and may be refused.      


Date Modified: