Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Indonesia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Embassy of Canada Organizes Ramadan Outreach


 
Counsellor Yendall (middle) poses with some of IIEC students.

During the Islamic month of Ramadan, the Embassy of Canada organized a number of visits with Muslim community groups in Indonesia, led by Political Counsellor, Mr.  Jonathan Yendall.


Counsellor Yendall delivers his opening remarks.
   

Counsellor Yendall welcomes Embassy contacts to a breaking-of-the-fast dinner at his residence.
   

The Embassy’s outreach program began with a visit to the campus of the International Islamic Secondary School and the International Islamic High School (IISS/IIHS) – two schools under the International Islamic Education Council (IIEC) – in downtown Jakarta.  

Mr. Yendall was welcomed by the IIEC Founder, Mr. Emil Abbas, and took part in a lively discussion with around 300 students and teachers from the two schools that crowded the auditorium. The outreach program is a part of the Embassy’s efforts to engage Indonesians on the topics of human rights, democracy, good governance and interfaith cooperation.

Earlier in the year, over 170 students and teachers from both schools went to Canada to join an overseas program for six weeks in Kamloops, British Columbia.  This was the second time that IIEC had selected Canada as the destination for their overseas program.

Two students who joined the overseas program in Canada later presented a slide show chronicling their Canadian experience, which included taking part in a Canada Day parade in Vancouver. During the “Question and Answer” session, the students seemed very interested in getting to know more about studying in Canada. The visit ended with a breaking-of-the-fast dinner.

As part of the Embassy's Ramadan Outreach program, Counsellor Yendall also hosted a breaking-of-the-fast dinner at his residence. Various Embassy contacts were invited including prominent Muslim figures from the government, academic and civil society backgrounds. It was an excellent opportunity to strengthen existing partnership   as well as to establish new relationships.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Indonésie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

L’ambassade du Canada organise un programme de sensibilisation durant le ramadan


 
Le conseiller Yendall (au milieu) pose en compagnie d’étudiants de l’IIEC.

Pendant le mois du ramadan, le conseiller politique Jonathan Yendall a dirigé plusieurs visites organisées par l’ambassade du Canada auprès de groupes communautaires musulmans indonésiens.


Le conseiller Yendall prononce son allocution d’ouverture.
   

Le conselleir Yendall accueille des contacts de l’ambassade à un repas de rupture du jeûne à sa résidence.
   

Le programme de sensibilisation de l’ambassade a commencé par une visite du campus de l’International Islamic Secondary School et de l’International Islamic High School (IISS/IIHS) – deux établissements sous l’égide de l’International Islamic Education Council (IIEC) situés au centre-ville de Jakarta.  

Accueilli par Emil Abbas, fondateur de l’IIEC, M. Yendall a participé à une discussion animée dans l’auditorium auprès de 300 élèves et enseignants provenant de deux écoles. Le programme de sensibilisation fait partie des efforts menés par notre ambassade pour favoriser l’expression des Indonésiens sur des enjeux comme les droits de la personne, la démocratie, la bonne gouvernance et la coopération interconfessionnelle.

Plus tôt cette année, plus de 170 élèves et enseignants des deux écoles ont séjourné six semaines au Canada dans le cadre d’un programme d’activités à l’étranger qui se tenait à Kamloops (Colombie-Britannique). Pour la deuxième fois, l’IIEC avait choisi le Canada comme destination de son programme à l’étranger.

Deux jeunes participants à ce programme ont présenté un diaporama qui relatait leur expérience canadienne, notamment leur participation à un défilé de la fête du Canada à Vancouver. Pendant les échanges qui ont suivi, les écoliers souhaitaient en savoir davantage sur les possibilités d’études au Canada. La visite s’est conclue par un souper de rupture du jeûne.

Dans le cadre du programme de sensibilisation de l’ambassade pendant le ramadan, le conseiller Yendall a également offert un repas de rupture du jeûne à sa résidence. Diverses connaissances de l’ambassade y ont été invitées, dont d’importantes personnalités musulmanes du gouvernement, du milieu universitaire et de la société civile. Ce fut une excellente occasion de renforcer le partenariat existant et de nouer de nouveaux liens.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-06