Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Indonesia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Indonesian Youth Discuss Human Rights


Counsellor Jonathan Yendall opens the Youth Rights Conference
   

Inayah Wahid, daughter of former Indonesian president Abdurrahman Wahid, leads a discussion on freedom of religion
   

A human rights mural on display at the closing of the conference
   

A high school student shares her personal experience at a discussion on human rights and anti-violence in Jakarta
   

The Human Rights Campaign for Youth was a joint project by the Embassy of Canada and the local human rights NGO the Commission for the Disappeared and Victims of Violence, or KontraS. The project raised understanding among youth on the connection between human rights and social, political and cultural issues.

The first phase of the campaign was a Youth Rights Conference that was held at the National Library Auditorium in Jakarta on 22 December 2012 under the general theme of "Promoting Human Rights, Embracing Diversities". It began with a plenary session with remarks from Political Counsellor Jonathan Yendall; KontraS coordinator Haris Azhar; and Vice Chair of Ombudsman of Indonesia, Azlaini Agus. Following the plenary, the youth attended sessions  examining 10 different themes ranging from freedom of religion to LGBT rights, and from freedom of expression to the environment. The discussions were very dynamic and the participants were eager to learn more from the speakers. One of the speakers was Inayah Wahid, daughter of late Indonesian president Abdurrahman Wahid, who encouraged the youth participants to be more tolerant towards peers who practice different faiths.

The conference also included an art component with several young street artists painting human rights themed murals that were displayed at the closing session. In the end, more than 225 youths braved the heavy rain to come to the conference. 

The second element of the project was a roadshow to schools and university campuses. The first discussion was held at Parahyangan University in Bandung on 31 January. The 70 students in attendance engaged in a lively discussion on political rights, which is a topic of great interest given Indonesia's upcoming general elections in 2014. The second discussion took place at Asy-Syafi'iyah 01 Islamic High School in Jakarta on 18 February. Focussed on "Human Rights and Anti-Violence", it highlighted the rising trend of violence among high school students in Jakarta. During the discussion, some of the students very movingly shared their own experiences of violence committed by their friends at school. A short movie called "Humans love Humans and the History of Human Rights" was also screened at the event to expose students to human rights values and principles of non-violence. The last discussion was held at National University in Jakarta on 25 February. The discussion provided a better understanding to university students about the importance of respecting and acknowledging the democratic process and human rights.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-05-16

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Indonésie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

La jeunesse indonésienne discute des droits de la personne


Le conseiller Jonathan Yendall a ouvert la Conférence sur les droits de la jeunesse.
   

Inayah Wahid, fille de l’ancien président indonésien Abdurrahman Wahid, mène une discussion sur la liberté de religion.
   

Une fresque sur les droits de l’homme est exposée lors de la clôture de la conférence.
   

Un lycéen partage son expérience personnelle lors d’une discussion sur les droits humains et la lutte contre la violence à Jakarta.
   

La Campagne de promotion des droits humains à l’intention des jeunes est un projet conjoint de l’Ambassade du Canada et de la Commission des disparus et des victimes de violence (KontraS), une ONG locale de défense des droits de la personne. Le projet aide les jeunes à mieux comprendre les liens entre les droits de la personne et les questions sociales, politiques et culturelles.

La première phase de la campagne consistait en une conférence sur les droits de la jeunesse qui a eu lieu à l’Auditorium de la Bibliothèque nationale à Jakarta le 22 décembre 2012 sous le thème général de «la promotion des droits et la célébration des diversités». La conférence a débuté par une séance plénière marquée d’allocutions prononcées par le conseiller politique Jonathan Yendall, le coordonnateur de KontraS Haris Azhar, et le président adjoint du bureau de l’ombudsman de l’Indonésie Azlaini Agus. La conférence a abordé 10 sujets différents allant de la liberté de religion aux droits des LGBT, à la liberté d’expression et à l’environnement. Les discussions ont été très animées puisque les participants souhaitaient profiter de la présence des conférenciers pour accroître leurs connaissances. L’une des conférencières était Inayah Wahid, fille du regretté président indonésien Abdurrahman Wahid, qui a invité les jeunes participants à se montrer plus tolérants envers leurs camarades qui pratiquent d’autres religions.

La conférence comportait également un volet artistique. Plusieurs jeunes artistes de rue ont peint des fresques ayant pour thème les droits de la personne qui ont été affichées lors de la session de clôture. Au total, plus de 225 jeunes ont bravé la forte pluie pour assister à la conférence.

Le deuxième volet du projet consistait en une tournée des écoles et des campus. La première discussion a eu lieu à l’Université Parahyangan à Bandung le 31 janvier. Les 70 étudiants présents ont participé à une discussion animée sur les droits politiques, une question qui suscite un grand intérêt puisque des élections générales auront lieu en Indonésie en 2014. La deuxième discussion a eu lieu au lycée islamique Asy-Syafi'iyah 01 à Jakarta le 18 février. Axée sur «les droits humains et la lutte contre la violence», la discussion a mis en relief la recrudescence de la violence chez les élèves du secondaire à Jakarta. Au cours de la discussion, certains étudiants ont également partagé leurs experiences concernant des actes de violence commis par leurs amis à l’école. Un court-métrage intitulé «Humans love Humans and the History of Human Rights» a également été projeté à cette occasion pour permettre aux étudiants de se familiariser aux valeurs des droits humains et aux principes de non-violence. La dernière discussion a eu lieu à l’Université nationale à Jakarta le 25 février et a permis aux étudiants universitaires de mieux comprendre l’importance de respecter et de reconnaître le processus démocratique et les droits de la personne.         

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-05-16