Iran’s Nuclear Program

Canada and the international community have grave concerns about the nature of Iran’s nuclear program.

While Iran has recently begun cooperating with the IAEA though the Framework for Cooperation, there have not yet been any substantive responses from Iran regarding the possible military dimensions (PMD) of its nuclear program. Given Iran’s continued non-compliance with its NPT safeguards agreement and the absence, to date, of any tangible answers relating to PMD this has led to serious concerns from the international community regarding the exclusively peaceful nature of Iran’s nuclear program.

Iran has a long history of non-compliance with its legal obligations, and continues to engage in activities that are in violation of six United Nations Security Council resolutions. Despite ten years of concerted effort by the International Atomic Energy Agency to engage Iran in good faith, Iran has yet to provide substantive and tangible explanations for the potential military nuclear weapons work it has undertaken; nuclear weapons related activities that the IAEA has extensively reviewed and finds to be “credible”.

Iran’s unanswered questions regarding its nuclear program work bring harm to the Iranian people. To date, the regime has spent billions of dollars on nuclear activities that show little tangible gain. Combined with considerable economic mismanagement and the regime’s continued defiance of the international community, the program will only serve to further impoverish and isolate Iranians from the rest of world. At a time of economic hardships and continued exposure of corruption within the Iranian regime, the Iranian people are now asking themselves whether Iran’s nuclear activities are worth the price.

In order to resolve this issue, it is imperative that Iran restore the international community’s confidence in the peaceful nature of its nuclear program, which Iran can do by meeting its legal obligations, complying with UN Security Council resolutions, and explaining fully all past and present outstanding issues relating to its nuclear program. Canada supports a peaceful, diplomatic solution to the current crisis and urges Iran’s leaders to accelerate and expand their cooperation with the international community.

Programme nucléaire de l’Iran

Le Canada et la communauté internationale sont gravement préoccupés par la nature du programme nucléaire de l’Iran.

L’Iran a commencé récemment à coopérer avec l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) par le biais du cadre de coopération, mais n’a pas encore donné de réponses substantielles concernant les dimensions militaires possibles (DMP) de son programme nucléaire. Compte tenu du non-respect continuel par l’Iran de l’entente sur les mesures de sécurité du Traité de non‑prolifération et étant donné l’absence, à ce jour, de toutes réponses concrètes concernant les DMP, la communauté internationale entretient de sérieuses préoccupations quant à la nature exclusivement pacifique du programme nucléaire iranien.

L’Iran agit depuis longtemps en violation de ses obligations juridiques et il poursuit des activités contraires aux dispositions de six résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Même si l’AIEA tente depuis dix ans, par une action concertée, de coopérer de bonne foi avec l’Iran, celui-ci n’a toujours pas donné d’explications substantielles et concrètes concernant les travaux qu’il a entrepris sur des armes nucléaires aux dimensions militaires possibles; l’AIEA a examiné de près ces activités liées à des armes nucléaires et estime qu’elles sont « crédibles ».

Les questions en suspens au sujet du programme nucléaire de l’Iran sont préjudiciables au peuple iranien. À ce jour, le régime a dépensé des milliards de dollars pour des activités nucléaires qui ont donné peu de résultats concrets. Conjugué à des lacunes considérables dans la gestion de l’économie et au mépris persistant du régime pour la communauté internationale, ce programme ne fera qu’appauvrir encore plus les Iraniens et les isoler davantage du reste du monde. En période de difficultés économiques et face à la persistance de la corruption au sein du régime iranien, le peuple iranien se demande maintenant si les activités nucléaires iraniennes en valent le prix.

Pour remédier à la situation, il est essentiel que l’Iran convainque la communauté internationale de la nature pacifique de son programme nucléaire, par exemple en s’acquittant de ses obligations juridiques, en respectant les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies qui le concernent, et en donnant des explications complètes sur les questions passées et présentes en lien avec son programme nucléaire. Le Canada plaide en faveur d’une solution pacifique et diplomatique à la crise actuelle et exhorte les dirigeants iraniens à accélérer et à accroître leur coopération avec la communauté internationale.