Canada - Israel Relations

Canada recognized the State of Israel upon its founding in 1948, and the two countries established formal diplomatic relations on May 11, 1949.

In Israel, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Tel Aviv.

Israel is represented in Canada by an embassy in Ottawa. Israel also has consulates in Montreal and Toronto.

Canada and Israel have strong, multidimensional bilateral relations, marked by close political, economic, social and cultural ties. Support for Israel, especially its right to live in peace and security with its neighbours, has been at the core of Canada's Middle East policy since 1948. The relationship has been strengthened in recent years as evidenced by increased cooperation in several areas, including public security, defence, trade and investment, and the increased frequency of ministerial visits. Canada and Israel marked 60 years of diplomatic relations on May 11, 2009. On this occasion, Prime Minister Stephen Harper stated: “At the heart of relations between Canada and Israel is the dynamism of our shared communities. We look forward to the next 60 years and beyond.”

One of the underlying strengths of the Canada-Israel bilateral relationship lies in the extensive people-to-people ties. There are approximately 20,000 Canadian citizens living in Israel and many Canadians have family in Israel. The Canadian Jewish community, which stands at around 350,000, acts as an important bridge between Canada and Israel. These informal ties give rise to significant cooperation between our two countries in business, philanthropy and tourism.

Demonstrating the importance of the relationship, Prime Minister Harper travelled to Israel in January 2014 with a delegation which included 6 Ministers as well as Canadian business leaders and many prominent members of the Canadian Jewish community. During his visit to Israel, PM Harper became the first sitting Canadian Prime Minister to address the Knesset (Parliament).  

A key deliverable of the visit was the signing of the Canada-Israel Strategic Partnership MOU, designed to further strengthen the bilateral relationship in several areas including: energy, security, international aid and development, innovation, and the promotion of human rights globally - and enhance existing arrangements. Currently, Canada and Israel are particularly focussed on improving the trade relationship between the two countries.

One year after this historic visit, in January 2015, then-Minister of Foreign Affairs John Baird travelled to Israel where he and his counterpart, Israeli Foreign Minister Avigdor Lieberman, signed a Joint Declaration of Solidarity and Friendship  to rededicate Canada and Israel to meet the objectives outlined in the Strategic Partnership. In addition, the two Ministers signed: 

Minister of Transport Lisa Raitt also visited Israel in January 2015, at which time she signed a Declaration of Intent on Aviation Security, the Canada-Israel Air Transport Agreement, and a Memorandum of Understanding on Transportation with Mr. Yisrael Katz, Israel’s Minister of Transport and Road Safety. 

From Israel, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu visited Canada in March 2012, then-President Shimon Peres paid a state visit to Canada in May 2012, Minister of Intelligence and Strategic Affairs Yuval Steinitz visited in October 2013, and Minister of Defence Moshe Ya’alon visited in November 2013. 

Various bilateral agreements support Canada’s commercial relations with Israel. These include the Air Transportation Agreement (2015), a renewed and funded Science & Technology Agreement, the Double Taxation Agreement (1977), and the Canadian Space Agency - Israeli Space Agency MOU for Space Cooperation (March 2005).

Israel is an important economic partner for Canada in the Middle East and North Africa region, with a full range of business possibilities including trade, investment, science & technology and innovation. The Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA), in force since 1997, has led to a tripling in the value of merchandise trade between our countries to C$1.5 billion in 2014. On January 21, 2014, Prime Minister Harper and Israeli Prime Minister Netanyahu announced the launch of negotiations to modernize and expand the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA), and negotiations are ongoing.

A key element of the commercial relationship is collaboration in science, technology and innovation (STI). Bilateral STI relations are strong and based on a significant, 20-plus year history of close collaboration to jointly fund bilateral industrial and basic research. Currently, a number of Canadian government organizations and the provinces of Ontario and Saskatchewan are funding collaborative research and development with Israel, and Nova Scotia recently established a programme to enhance R&D partnerships with Israel. DFATD is responsible for the Canada-Israel Agreement on Industrial Research and Development, which commits both parties to providing up to $1M per year towards industrial R&D with Israel. This funding is managed by an arms-length delivery entity, the Canada-Israel Industrial Research and Development Foundation.     

Canada’s top merchandise exports to Israel in 2014 (valued at $449 million) were aircraft, electrical machinery, paper/paperboard, precious stones and metals, cereals and vegetable products. Canada’s main merchandise imports (valued at $1.1 billion) were pharmaceutical products, electrical machinery and equipment, precious stones and metals, machinery, plastics, chemicals, and scientific and precision instruments.

Israel has a relatively open investment environment. Foreign investors mostly enjoy equal treatment with nationals, though foreign investment is restricted in some sectors (such as defense) and requires government approval in other sectors (such as banking and insurance). Israel has robust infrastructure, a highly-skilled workforce, and it benefits from its Qualified Industrial Zone agreements with Jordan and Egypt.

Export Development Canada (EDC) offers all of its products and services (insurance, financing and bonding) in Israel. Israel is rated as investment grade by three international rating agencies.

Canada and Israel have a number of bilateral agreements in place, including one on Film and Videotape Production and on Mutual Legal Assistance. There are also a number of sub-national agreements between Israel and certain provinces, including Manitoba and Ontario.

March 2015

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Israel.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada–Israël

Le Canada a reconnu l’État d’Israël dès sa fondation en 1948, et les deux pays ont établi des relations diplomatiques officielles le 11 mai 1949.

En Israël, le Canada est représenté par l'ambassade du Canada à Tel Aviv.

Israël est représenté au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa. Israël compte également des consulats à Montréal et à Toronto.

Le Canada et Israël jouissent de solides relations bilatérales multidimensionnelles marquées par des liens politiques, économiques, sociaux et culturels étroits. L’appui à Israël, surtout pour son droit à vivre dans la paix et la sécurité avec ses voisins, est au cœur de la politique sur le Moyen-Orient du Canada depuis 1948. La relation s’est resserrée ces dernières années, comme on le constate en raison de la coopération accrue dans plusieurs domaines, y compris la sécurité publique, la défense, le commerce et l’investissement et des visites ministérielles plus fréquentes. Le Canada et Israël célébraient 60 ans de relations diplomatiques le 11 mai 2009. En cette occasion, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a indiqué ce qui suit : « Le dynamisme de leurs communautés communes forme la pierre angulaire des relations entre le Canada et Israël. Nous nous réjouissons à l'idée de poursuivre ces relations pendant encore 60 ans et bien au-delà. »

L'une des forces sous-jacentes aux relations bilatérales israélo-canadiennes réside dans les nombreux liens entre les gens. Environ 20 000 citoyens canadiens vivent en Israël et de nombreux autres ont de la famille dans ce pays. La communauté juive au Canada, laquelle comprend environ 350 000 membres, constitue un pont important entre le Canada et Israël. Ces liens informels donnent lieu à une coopération substantielle entre nos deux pays dans le secteur des affaires, de la philanthropie et du tourisme.

Faisant preuve de l’importance qu’accorde le Canada à la relation, le premier ministre Stephen Harper s’est rendu en Israël en janvier 2014, accompagné d’une délégation de 6 ministres, des chefs d’entreprises canadiennes et de nombreux membres éminents de la communauté juive canadienne. Au cours de sa visite en Israël, le premier ministre Harper est devenu le premier chef d’État canadien en exercice à prendre la parole devant le (Parlement) Knesset.

Un important élément livrable de la visite a été la signature du Protocole d'entente du partenariat stratégique Canada-Israël, qui vise à renforcer et consolider les relations bilatérales dans plusieurs domaines, notamment l’énergie, la sécurité, l’aide internationale et le développement, l’innovation, la promotion des droits de l’homme dans le monde – et renforcer les arrangements en vigueur. Présentement, le Canada et Israël visent surtout l’amélioration des relations commerciales et économiques entre les deux pays.

Un an après cette visite historique, soit en janvier 2015, le ministre des Affaires étrangères de l’époque, John Baird, s’est rendu en Israël, où lui et son homologue, le ministre israélien des Affaires étrangères Avigdor Lieberman, ont signé une Déclaration conjointe de solidarité et d’amitié pour réaffirmer l’engagement du Canada et d’Israël à répondre aux objectifs ainsi qu’il est fait mention dans le Partenariat stratégique. En plus, les deux ministres ont signé :

La ministre des Transports Lisa Raitt a également visité Israël en janvier 2015, alors qu’elle a signé une Déclaration d’intention sur la sûreté aérienne, l’Accord Canada-Israël sur le transport aérien, ainsi qu’un Protocole d’entente sur le transport avec M. Yisrael Katz, le ministre des Transports et de la Sécurité routière d’Israël.

Du côté d’Israël, le premier ministre Benyamin Netanyahou a rendu une visite officielle au Canada en mars 2012, le président de l’époque Shimon Peres en mai 2012, le ministre de l’Intelligence et des Affaires stratégiques Yval Steinitz en Octobre 2013, et le ministre de la Défense Moshe Ya’alon en novembre 2013.

Divers accords bilatéraux viennent appuyer les relations commerciales du Canada avec Israël. Citons notamment l’Accord Canada-Israël sur le transport aérien (2015), le renouvellement et le financement d’un Accord sur la science et la technologie, la Convention de double imposition (1977), et le Protocole d’entente entre l’Agence spatiale canadienne et l’Agence spatiale israélienne sur la coopération spatiale (mars 2005),

Israël est un partenaire économique important pour le Canada dans la région du Moyen-Orient et de l'Afrique du Nord, avec une gamme complète de possibilités commerciales, notamment le commerce, l'investissement, la science et la technologie et l'innovation. L'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI), en vigueur depuis 1997, a triplé la valeur du commerce des marchandises entre nos pays à 1,5 milliard de $CA en 2014. Le 21 janvier 2014, le premier ministre Harper et le premier ministre israélien Benyamin Netanyahou ont annoncé le lancement de négociations visant à moderniser et à élargir l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI), et celles-ci sont en cours.

Un élément clé de la relation commerciale est la collaboration dans le domaine de la science, de la technologie et de l'innovation (STI).  Les relations bilatérales en matière de STI sont solides et fondées sur une collaboration étroite qui existe depuis longue date pour financer conjointement la recherche industrielle et fondamentale. Présentement, un certain nombre d’organisations gouvernementales canadiennes et les provinces de l’Ontario et de la Saskatchewan financent la recherche et le développement coopératifs avec Israël, et la Nouvelle-Écosse a récemment créé un programme pour renforcer les partenariats de R.-D. avec Israël. Le MAÉCD est responsable pour l’Accord Canada-Israël sur la recherche et le développement industriels, qui engage les deux parties à fournir des contributions annuelles à hauteur d’un million de dollars chacune pour la recherche et le développement industriels avec Israël. Ce financement est géré par une entité non liée, la Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels.

Les principales exportations de marchandises du Canada à destination d’Israël en  2014 (évaluées à 449 millions de dollars) étaient des aéronefs, de la machinerie électrique, du papier et du papier cartonné, des pierres et du métal précieux, des céréales et des substances végétales. Les principales importations de marchandises (évaluées à 1,1 milliard de dollars) en provenance d’Israël étaient des produits pharmaceutiques, des machines et équipements électriques, des pierres et du métal précieux, de la machinerie, des matières plastiques, des produits chimiques, et des instruments scientifiques et de précision.

Israël offre un environnement propice à l’investissement. Les investisseurs étrangers apprécient surtout l’égalité de traitement avec les ressortissants nationaux, bien que l’investissement étranger soit restreint dans certains secteurs (dont la défense) et nécessite une approbation du gouvernement dans d’autres secteurs (tels les services bancaires et les assurances). Israël est doté d’une solide infrastructure, d’une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée et tire profit de ses Accords de zones industrielles qualifiées avec la Jordanie et l’Égypte.

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) offre tous ses produits et ses services (assurance, financement et cautionnement) en Israël. Enfin, trois agences internationales de notation accordent à Israël une cote de solvabilité élevée pour l’investissement.

Le Canada et Israël comptent actuellement un certain nombre d'accords bilatéraux, y compris un concernant la Production cinématographique et magnétoscopique et un sur l’Entraide juridique. Il existe également un certain nombre d’ententes infranationales entre Israël et certaines provinces, y compris le Manitoba et l’Ontario.

Mars 2015


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder à ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-03-31