Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Italy.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living / Travelling in Italy

Authentication

Authentication (sometimes also referred to as “legalization”) is the certification of the genuineness of the signature and seal of an official. Through this process, it is attested that the official has the authority to execute, issue or certify a document in one jurisdiction, so that it may be recognized in another jurisdiction. Authentication does not certify the genuineness, legality or credibility of the documents or their contents.

The process of authentication aims at confirming, for the civil and judicial officials of a country, that the signature and seal of an official affixed to a document that was issued in another country, are authentic. This is accomplished by creating a chain of subsequent authentications, each by a progressively higher government authority, on the basis of deposited specimens of signatures.

Canada is not a member of the 1961 Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement for Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. This convention replaced legalization, in member states, as the default procedure with a system of apostille. Its mechanisms are not applicable to Canada.

Furthermore, documents on which an apostille has mistakenly been placed may not be submitted for authentication for use in Canada. A new, clean version of the document must be obtained prior to submitting to an Embassy or Consulate of Canada.

For further information, please refer to the notarial services section of the website of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

Authentication of documents executed or issued abroad for use in Canada

The Embassy of Canada in Rome and the Consulates headed by Honorary Consuls can authenticate the signatures of certain officials on locally-issued documents meant for use in Canada.

For documents issued in Italy, the Embassy may authenticate the signatures of authorized officials of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Ministero degli Affari Esteri) and of a Prefettura (Prefettura), as well as those of delegated judges of a Court (Procura della Repubblica). Consulates in Italy do not provide these services.

Documents bearing signatures to be authenticated must be sent by mail (posta raccomandata) or by courier to the Embassy of Canada in Rome. Drop-off in person is not possible. Please send all documents for authentication, your full contact information (including e-mail and telephone number), as well as appropriate fee payment (see below), to:

Ambasciata del Canada
Sezione consolare LN
Via Zara 30
00198 Roma RM
Italia

Fees apply for services performed on each set of like documents; more details are in the Fee section below.

Documents issued in Albania must first be submitted for authentication to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Ministria e Punëve të Jashtme), as explained on the website. When submitting documents to the Albanian Ministry, clearly indicate that they are for use in Canada and that they must not to be apostilled.

After authentication by the Albanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, an appointment must be made with the Consulate of Canada in Albania, so that authentication for use in Canada can be finalised.

Fees apply for services performed on each set of like documents; more details are in the Fee section below.

Documents issued in Malta must first be submitted for authentication to the Ministry for Foreign Affairs (Ministeru għall-Affarijiet Barranin), as explained on the website http://www.foreign.gov.mt/default.aspx?MDIS=521. When submitting documents to the Maltese Ministry for authentication, clearly indicate that they are destined for use in Canada and that they must not be apostilled.

After authentication by the Maltese Ministry for Foreign Affairs, an appointment must be made with the Consulate of Canada in Malta, so that authentication for use in Canada can be finalised.

Fees apply for services performed on each set of like documents; more details are in the Fee section below.

Processing times

Consular services are based on written Service Standards; every effort is made to obtain solutions to specific problems and to provide the required service. Authentication services are provided within 3 working days* from the time the Embassy of Canada in Rome receives a complete request; were delays to incur, for example due to missing specimens of signatures from local authorities, clients will be contacted and provided with an estimated completion date.

After authentication, the Embassy of Canada returns documents via registered mail (posta raccomandata), the costs whereof are included in the fees.

Consulates are bound by the same Service standards. If you have a particularly urgent need, please contact the point of service directly to inquire about possible special arrangements.

*Refers to response time and may be subject to factors beyond our control.

Fees

Consular fees apply for the authentication of the signature on one or multiple copies of the same document (a “set”). Additional service fees are charged for each different document or set. If you have any doubt about the fees to be paid or questions about the process, write to us.

Checklist

  • Original document(s) to be authenticated
  • Full contact information (including e-mail and telephone number) and return address
  • Fees in an accepted method of payment

Authentication of documents executed or issued in Canada for use in Italy, Albania, Malta, or San Marino

The signatures on documents executed or issued in Canada (including provincially-issued documents such as birth, marriage, divorce or death certificates) must be authenticated in Canada. To discover how to authenticate Canadian documents so that they will be accepted abroad, consult Global Affairs Canada’s Authentication of Documents section. The documents should be authenticated before your departure. The process can be accomplished entirely by mail if you have already left Canada or if you live abroad.

Some documents executed or issued in Canada may be subject to authentication, for a fee, by the Embassy of Canada in Rome; this is rather exceptional. You must verify, with the expected recipient of the document, whether such authentication will be accepted; we do not provide advice with regards to this.

The Italian government has indicated that authentication of Canadian documents at the Embassy in Rome does not make them acceptable by the Italian public administration. They must be authenticated in Canada as indicated in the paragraph above, and must then be legalized by one of the Italian diplomatic or consular missions in Canada.

Exceptionally, the expected recipient may confirm that authentication at the Embassy of Canada is acceptable. In this case, the Embassy must still verify whether it can authenticate the signature on the Canadian document. Please submit by e-mail a legible scan of all pages of the original document. The e-mail must include your full contact information, including telephone number. An officer will review the document and confirm, by e-mail, whether the service can be provided by the Embassy.

At that point, the original documents bearing signatures to be authenticated must be sent by mail (“raccomandata”) or by courier to the Embassy of Canada in Rome. Drop-off in person is not possible. Please send all the documents for authentication, with your full contact information (including e-mail and telephone number), as well as appropriate fee payment (see above), to:

Ambasciata del Canada
Sezione consolare LN
Via Zara 30
00198 Roma RM
Italia

Is there an error on this page, or is a link broken? Please let us know.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-01-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Italie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager en Italie

Authentification

L’authentification (ou « légalisation ») est la certification que une signature et/ou un sceau sont authentiques. L’autorité du signataire à exécuter, octroyer, émettre ou certifier un document dans sa juridiction est ainsi confirmée, afin d’en permettre la reconnaissance dans une autre juridiction. L’authentification ne certifie pas l’authenticité, la légalité ou la crédibilité des documents ou de leur contenu.

Le processus d’authentification vise ainsi à confirmer, pour les autorités civiles et judiciaires d’un pays, que la signature et le sceau apposés par un fonctionnaire dans un autre pays sont authentiques. Cela est accompli par une série d’authentifications successives, chacune par un palier gouvernemental supérieur au précédent, sur la base de spécimens déposés de signatures.

Le Canada n'est pas un membre de la Convention supprimant l'exigence de la légalisation des actes publics étrangers (signée à La Haye le 5 octobre 1961). Cette convention a remplacé, dans les États membres, la légalisation par un système d’apostille. Ses mécanismes ne sont pas applicables au Canada car le Canada n’est pas membre de la Convention.

En outre, les documents sur lesquels une apostille est placée par erreur ne peuvent pas être soumis à l'authentification pour le Canada. Une nouvelle copie du document doit être obtenue avant de pouvoir le soumettre à une ambassade ou un consulat du Canada.

Des renseignements supplémentaires se trouvent dans la section Services notariaux du site du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du commerce et du développement.

Authentification de documents étrangers pour utilisation au Canada

L'Ambassade du Canada à Rome et les consulats dirigés par des consuls honoraires peuvent authentifier les signatures de certains fonctionnaires sur les documents, émis localement, pour une utilisation au Canada.

Pour ce qui a trait aux documents délivrés en Italie, l'ambassade peut authentifier les signatures des fonctionnaires autorisés du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères (Ministero degli Affari Esteri) et d'une Préfecture (Prefettura), ainsi que celles des juges délégués d'une Cour (Procura della Repubblica). Les consulats qui se trouvent en Italie n’offrent pas ces services.

Les documents portant une signature à authentifier doivent être envoyés par la poste (posta raccomandata) ou par courrier à l'Ambassade du Canada à Rome. La livraison en personne par le client n'est pas possible. Veuillez envoyer les documents pour l'authentification, vos coordonnées complètes (y compris l’adresse courriel et le numéro de téléphone), ainsi que le paiement des frais appropriés (voir ci-dessous), à:

Ambasciata del Canada
Sezione consolare LN
Via Zara 30
00198 Roma RM
Italia

Des frais s'appliquent pour le service fourni sur chaque ensemble de documents identiques; plus de détails dans la section Frais ci-dessous.

Les documents délivrés en Albanie doivent d'abord être soumis à l'authentification au Ministère des Affaires Étrangères (Ministria e Punëve të Jashtme), comme expliqué par le site http://foreignaffairs.gov.mt/en/Pages/Home_Page.aspx (en anglais). Lors de cette soumission au Ministère albanais, indiquez clairement qu'ils sont pour utilisation au Canada et que l’apostille n’y doit pas être placée.

Après authentification par le Ministère albanais des Affaires Étrangères, un rendez-vous doit être pris avec le Consulat du Canada en Albanie, afin de finaliser l'authentification pour utilisation au Canada.

Des frais s'appliquent pour le service fourni sur chaque ensemble de documents identiques; plus de détails dans la section Frais ci-dessous.

Les documents délivrés à Malte doivent d'abord être soumis à l'authentification au Ministère des Affaires Étrangères (Ministeru għall-Affarijiet Barranin), comme expliqué par le site http://www.foreign.gov.mt/default.aspx?MDIS=521 (en anglais). Lors de cette soumission au Ministère maltais, indiquez clairement qu'ils sont pour utilisation au Canada et que l’apostille n’y doit pas être placée.

Après authentification par le Ministère maltais des Affaires Étrangères, un rendez-vous doit être pris avec le Consulat du Canada à Malte, afin de finaliser l'authentification pour utilisation au Canada.

Des frais s'appliquent pour le service fourni sur chaque ensemble de documents identiques; plus de détails dans la section Frais ci-dessous.

Délais de traitement

La livraison des services consulaires est régie par des normes de service écrites : tous les efforts sont déployés pour obtenir des solutions à des problèmes spécifiques et à fournir le service demandé. Les services d'authentification sont fournis dans les 3 jours ouvrables* suivant la réception, par l'ambassade du Canada à Rome, d’une demande complète. En cas de retard, par exemple en raison de spécimens de signatures manquants, les clients sont contactés et une date d'achèvement prévue leur est communiquée.

Après l'authentification, l'ambassade du Canada renvoie les documents par courrier recommandé (posta raccomandata), dont les coûts sont inclus dans les frais.

Les consulats sont liés par les mêmes normes de service. Si vous avez un besoin particulièrement urgent, contactez le point de service directement afin de négocier des arrangements spéciaux.

*Temps de réaction, qui peut dépendre de facteurs indépendants de notre volonté.

Frais

Des droits consulaires s'appliquent pour l'authentification de la signature sur une ou plusieurs copies d'un même document (un « ensemble »). Des droits supplémentaires sont dus pour chaque autre document ou ensemble. Si vous avez des doutes quant aux droits à payer ou des questions au sujet du processus, écrivez-nous.

Liste de vérification

  • Document(s) original(aux) à être authentifié(s)
  • Coordonnées complètes (y compris adresse courriel et numéro de téléphone) et adresse de renvoi
  • Frais payés dans l’un des modes de paiement acceptés

Authentification de documents délivrés au Canada pour utilisation en Italie, Albanie, à Malte, ou Saint-Marin 

Les signatures sur les documents délivrés au Canada (y compris les documents provinciaux ou territoriaux, tels que les certificats de naissance, mariage, divorce ou décès) doivent être authentifiées au Canada. Pour découvrir comment authentifier des documents canadiens pour utilisation à l'étranger, consultez la section Services juridiques et notariaux du site des Affaires mondiales Canada. Les documents devraient être authentifiés avant votre départ. Le processus peut quand même être accompli entièrement par la poste, si vous avez déjà quitté le Canada ou vous résidez à l'étranger.

Quelques documents délivrés au Canada pourraient être authentifiés, moyennant le paiement de droits, par l'Ambassade du Canada à Rome; il s’agit pourtant d’un nombre limité dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Il est à vous de vérifier, avec le destinataire du document, si cette authentification sera acceptée; nous ne conseillons ni renseignons à cet égard.

Le gouvernement italien a formellement indiqué que l'authentification de documents canadiens par l'ambassade de Rome ne les rend pas acceptable par l'administration étatique italienne. Plutôt, ils doivent être authentifiés au Canada comme indiqué dans le paragraphe ci-dessus, et doivent ensuite être légalisés par l'une des missions diplomatiques ou consulaires italiennes au Canada.

Il arrive cependant que, exceptionnellement, le destinataire confirme que l'authentification par l'ambassade du Canada est suffisante. Dans ce cas, l'ambassade doit quand même vérifier si elle peut authentifier la signature apposée sur le document canadien. Vous devrez soumettre par courriel une copie numérisée lisible de toutes les pages du document original. Le courriel devra inclure vos coordonnées complètes, y compris le numéro de téléphone. Un fonctionnaire examinera le document et confirmera, par courriel, si le service peut être rendu par l'ambassade.

Une fois la confirmation reçue, les documents originaux portant la signature à authentifier devront être envoyées par la poste (« raccomandata ») ou par courrier à l'Ambassade du Canada à Rome. La livraison en personne par le client n'est pas possible. Veuillez envoyer tous les documents à authentifier, avec vos coordonnées complètes (y compris courriel et numéro de téléphone), ainsi que le paiement des frais appropriés (voir ci-dessus), à :

Ambasciata del Canada
Sezione consolare LN
Via Zara 30
00198 Roma RM
Italia

S’il y a une erreur sur cette page ou un lien qui ne fonctionne pas, informez-nous-en.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-07-18