Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Italy.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living / Travelling in Italy

Medical Services in Italy

Medical Emergency

If you are visiting Italy and need urgent medical assistance, you can go to the Pronto Soccorso (Emergency) at any hospital to receive treatment. If the doctor deems it necessary, you will be hospitalized.

Should you need an ambulance, you can request one by dialing 118 from anywhere in the country.

General Medical Assistance

A foreign citizen living in Italy with a valid Permit of Stay has the same rights as Italian citizens to medical assistance assured by the Servizio Sanitario Nazionale - SSN (National Health Service). In order to obtain health and medical assistance, the foreign citizen must enrol directly at the Azienda Sanitaria Locale - ASL (Local health office) of his/her area of residence.

Travellers who have private health insurance can visit a general physician or specialist of their choice, whether in the private or public sector. If the doctor is in the public sector, the cost of the visit is set by the National Social Security Plan whereas the cost of a visit with a private doctor will vary. You can ask about the doctor's fee when you call his office to make an appointment. Fees are payable as the visit ends. Make sure to obtain a receipt as it is up to you to claim reimbursement from your Provincial Health Plan and/or private insurance. All or a part of the cost will be reimbursed by your private insurance company.

Some private hospitals and clinics are well known and more comfortable than public hospitals, although public hospitals have the necessary equipment to conduct specialized examinations.

A complete list of health facilities in Italy is available from Pagine Gialle (yellow pages). A search for "ospedale" (hospital) will provide results that may be sorted by category of facility (e.g. hospital, pharmacy) and geographic location, and that are fully searchable.

The Embassy maintains a list of doctors for your convenient reference.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-03-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Italie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager en Italie

Services médicaux en Italie

Urgence médicale

Si vous avez besoin d'une assistance médicale d'urgence pendant que vous êtes en Italie, vous pouvez vous rendre au Pronto Soccorso (urgence) de n'importe quel hôpital pour recevoir des soins. Si le médecin estime que c'est nécessaire, vous serez hospitalisé.

Si vous avez besoin d'une ambulance, composez le 118, où que vous vous trouviez au pays.

Assistance médicale générale

Un ressortissant étranger qui vit en Italie avec un permis de séjour valide a le droit de recevoir l'assistance médicale offerte par le Servizio Sanitario Nazionale - SSN (service national de la santé) au même titre qu'un citoyen italien. Pour obtenir de l'assistance sanitaire et médicale, le ressortissant étranger doit s'inscrire directement à la Azienda Sanitaria Locale - ASL (bureau local du service de la santé) de son lieu de résidence.

Les voyageurs qui ont une assurance-maladie privée peuvent consulter un médecin généraliste ou un spécialiste de leur choix, qu'il soit dans le secteur privé ou public. S'il s'agit d'un médecin du secteur public, le prix de la consultation est établi par le régime national de sécurité sociale, mais le prix d'une consultation privée peut varier. Vous pouvez vous informer du prix de la consultation quand vous appeler pour prendre rendez-vous. Il faut payer à la fin de la consultation. N'oubliez pas de demander un reçu, car c'est vous qui devez demander un remboursement à votre régime provincial d'assurance-maladie ou à votre assurance privée. Votre compagnie d'assurance privée remboursera les coûts en tout ou en partie.

Certains établissements médicaux privés sont bien connus et plus confortables que les hôpitaux publics, mais ces derniers disposent de l'équipement nécessaire pour procéder à des examens spécialisés.

On peut trouver une liste complète des établissements médicaux d'Italie dans les Pagine Gialle (pages jaunes). En faisant une recherche pour " ospedale " (hôpital), vous obtiendrez des résultats interrogeables qui peuvent être triés par catégorie d'établissements (hôpitaux, pharmacies, etc.) et par emplacement géographique.

À toutes fins utiles, le site de l'ambassade contient une liste de médecins.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-03-06