Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Italy.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living / Travelling in Italy

Assistance to Canadians

Your Travel Document

Transport companies, such as air, rail, and bus services, are required to ensure that all passengers travelling to Canada can produce valid, universally accepted travel documents. This includes Canadian citizens returning to Canada from abroad. Transport companies, especially international airlines, may be fined if they carry improperly documented travellers and are often liable to return those passengers to their point of origin.

A Certificate of Canadian Citizenship is not a travel document. A Canadian passport is the only reliable and universally accepted travel and identification document available to Canadians for the purpose of international travel. Canadian citizens returning to Canada who present other documents, such as a Certificate of Canadian Citizenship, birth certificate, provincial driver's license, or foreign passport, instead of a Canadian passport, may face delays or be denied boarding by transport companies.

Canadian citizens travelling with a non-Canadian passport, accompanied by a Canadian citizenship card, may be refused boarding by the airline when attempting to return to Canada. It is recommended that Canadian citizens travel with a Canadian passport.

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-08-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Italie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager en Italie

Vos documents de voyage

Les compagnies de transport, comme les services aériens, ferroviaires et d'autobus, doivent veiller à ce que tous les passagers à destination du Canada soient munis de documents de voyage valides et reconnus universellement. Les compagnies de transport, en particulier les lignes aériennes internationales, risquent une amende si elles amènent des voyageurs n'ayant pas de documents réglementaires et sont souvent responsables de ramener ces passagers à leur point d'origine.

Un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne n'est pas un document de voyage. Le passeport canadien est le seul document de voyage et la seule pièce d'identité fiable et reconnue universellement aux fins de voyages internationaux. Les citoyens canadiens qui reviennent au Canada et qui, au lieu du passeport canadien, présentent d'autres documents, comme un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne, un acte de naissance, un permis de conduire délivré par une province canadienne ou un passeport délivré par un autre pays, peuvent s'attendre à des délais ou se voir refuser l'accès à bord par des compagnies de transport.

Les citoyens canadiens qui voyagent avec un passeport non canadien, ainsi qu'une carte de citoyenneté canadien, peuvent être refusés l'embarquement par la compagnie aérienne pour le voyage de retour au Canada. On recommende aux citoyens canadiens de voyager avec un passeport canadien.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-08-07