Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada-Japan Relations


Toward a Renewed Canada Japan Partnership

Recommendations

The Canada-Japan Forum recommends:

1. That an early visit to Canada by Their Majesties the Emperor and Empress take place as a symbol of the significance of the relationship of trust and friendship fostered over the years between peoples of Canada and Japan.


Politics and Diplomacy

2. That a policy be instituted of reciprocal visits by prime ministers at least every second year to ensure ongoing engagement of the partnership at the highest level. Foreign ministers should meet every year in Canada or Japan to discuss issues of common concern, and this should be complemented by annual strategic talks at the deputy ministers' level.

3. That the Bilateral Peace and Security Cooperation Symposium should establish two expert groups of officials and representatives from civil society; one to advance practical cooperation on disarmament and non-proliferation, and a second one on human security including health issues. Both should attach particular emphasis on cooperation in Asia.

4. That cooperation and dialogue on development between JICA and CIDA and among NGOs continue, with greater emphasis on common priorities of education, human rights, small business development, science and technology, and the socio-economic role of women.

5. That the Canadian and Japanese governments seek common ground and a coordinated approach towards the reform of the United Nations and, in particular, the Security Council.


Economy and Environment

6. That a comprehensive Free Trade Agreement should be the ultimate objective of the Joint Study conducted under the Economic Framework and that a clear strategy be established for follow up actions to the Joint Study expected in December 2006.

7. That the challenges of the entry of small and medium enterprises (SMEs) into each other's market be addressed, and that the role of trade commissioners of Canada and the Japan External Trade Organisation (JETRO) in support of SMEs be reviewed in consultation with stakeholders.

8. That laws and regulations that may hinder the development of a closer economic partnership, be reviewed and where appropriate amended, including issues relating to working visas and unemployment insurance for nationals on assignment in each other's countries and a revision of the Canada Japan Tax Treaty.

9. That governments further encourage the exchange of research on emerging agricultural, marine, and medical issues and technologies between the relevant agencies and between the universities and research institutions of both countries. One suitable area for research would be cooperation in marine environment protection.

10. That governments undertake bilateral discussions on the consequences of current changes in the global energy situation, focusing on non-traditional energy approaches.

11. That, in order to respond to the serious global warming issue, both countries work together in all environment-related fora in which they are active, to coordinate policy, and obtain broad support from the governments and the private sectors for workable solutions in the post-Kyoto framework.

12. That tourism authorities review the declining trend in two way tourism and identify measures to redress the situation, and set numerical targets for the industry's development.


People-to-People Exchanges

13. That Canada establish a system modelled after the JET program to assist in the teaching of Japanese in Canadian schools. Japan should actively promote the program in Canada, and expand the parameters of the JET program to allow retired or semi-retired Canadian English teachers to participate.

14. That the Japan Foundation expand funding available for exchanges of opinion leaders and that the Canadian Government create a parallel program.

15. That the quota of 5,000 visas a year available to young Japanese wishing to take working holidays in Canada be immediately doubled, and that Japan streamline its procedures for its working holiday programs.

16. That governments publicize sister and friendship arrangements between Canadian and Japanese cities and towns and promote the expansion of this network.

17. That exchanges between media outlets, journalists, journalism schools, and journalism students be promoted. Governments should establish an ongoing program of information tours for visiting journalists and encourage the participation of senior editors.

18. That the international cultural divisions of the Japanese and Canadian foreign ministries, the Japan Foundation and the Canada Council, convene a bilateral meeting of cultural leaders to make specific recommendations to expand bilateral cultural relations.

19. That universities and colleges of both countries create more cooperative research and development programs.


The Future

20. That, as recommended by previous Forum reports, the Forum continue with its status as a standing, non-governmental consultative body covering the full spectrum of the bilateral relationship.

21. That governments ensure the implementations of these recommendations bearing in mind the celebrations of the 80th anniversary of diplomatic relations in 2008-2009.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-08

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Relations Canada-Japon


Vers un partenariat Canada-Japon renouvelé

Recommandations

Le Forum Canada-Japon recommande :

1. Que Leurs Majestés l'empereur et l'impératrice visitent sans tarder le Canada pour symboliser l'importance de la relation de confiance et d'amitié forgée au fil des ans entre les peuples du Canada et du Japon.


Politique et diplomatie

2. Qu'on instaure une politique de visite réciproque des premiers ministres au moins aux deux ans afin d'assurer une participation soutenue au plus haut niveau. Les ministres des Affaires étrangères se rencontreraient chaque année au Canada ou au Japon pour discuter de sujets d'intérêt commun, ce qui devrait être complété par des pourparlers stratégiques annuels au niveau des sous-ministres.

3. Que le Symposium bilatéral sur la coopération en matière de paix et de sécurité forme deux groupes d'experts, composés de fonctionnaires et de représentants de la société civile. Un groupe travaillerait à la coopération en matière de désarmement et de non-prolifération et le deuxième, sur la sécurité humaine, y compris les questions relatives à la santé. Les deux groupes accorderaient une attention particulière à la coopération en Asie.

4. Que la coopération et le dialogue sur le développement entre la JICA et l'ACDI avec des ONG se poursuivent, en accordant plus d'attention aux priorités communes de l'éducation, des droits de la personne, du développement de la petite entreprise, de la science et de la technologie et du rôle socio-économique des femmes.

5. Que les gouvernements canadien et japonais cherchent un terrain d'entente et une approche concertée à l'égard de la réforme des Nations Unies et, en particulier, du Conseil de sécurité.


Économie et environnement

6. Qu'un accord de libre-échange global soit l'objectif ultime de l'étude conjointe exécutée sous l'égide du Cadre économique et qu'une stratégie claire soit établie pour donner suite à l'étude conjointe dont le rapport est attendu pour décembre 2006.

7. Que l'on se penche sur les difficultés que les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) éprouvent pour entrer sur le marché de l'autre pays et que l'on revoie le rôle des délégués commerciaux du Canada et du Japan External Trade Organisation (JETRO, l'Office du commerce extérieur du Japon) à l'appui des PME, en consultation avec les parties intéressées.

8. Que l'on revoie, et modifie s'il y a lieu, les lois et règlements qui peuvent nuire à l'établissement d'un partenariat économique plus étroit, notamment les problèmes liés aux visas de travail et à l'assurance-chômage pour les ressortissants affectés dans l'autre pays et la révision du traité fiscal Canada-Japon.

9. Que les gouvernements facilitent davantage le partage d'études sur les enjeux agricoles, océanographiques et médicaux qui pointent à l'horizon et des technologies entre les organismes compétents et entre les universités et institutions de recherche des deux pays.

10. Que les gouvernements entreprennent des discussions bilatérales sur les conséquences des changements actuels dans le contexte mondial de l'énergie, en mettant l'accent sur les sources d'énergie non conventionnelles.

11. Que les deux pays collaborent, pour réagir au grave problème du réchauffement de la planète, dans toutes les tribunes se rapportant à l'environnement dans lesquelles ils sont actifs, afin de coordonner leur politique et d'obtenir un vaste appui des gouvernements et des secteurs privés à l'égard de solutions réalistes dans le contexte de l'après-Kyoto.

12. Que les responsables du tourisme se penchent sur la tendance à la baisse du tourisme bilatéral et qu'ils définissent des mesures pour redresser la situation, en fixant des objectifs chiffrés pour le développement de ce secteur.


Programmes d'échanges

13. Que le Canada établisse un système modelé sur le Programme d'échanges et d'enseignement au Japon (PEEJ) pour contribuer à l'enseignement du japonais dans les écoles canadiennes. Le Japon devrait faire activement la promotion du programme au Canada et élargir les paramètres du PEEJ pour permettre la participation de professeurs d'anglais canadiens retraités ou semi-retraités.

14. Que la Japan Foundation majore l'aide financière disponible pour permettre des échanges de leaders d'opinion et que le gouvernement canadien crée un programme parallèle.

15. Qu'on double immédiatement le quota annuel de 5000 visas offerts à de jeunes Japonais qui souhaitent faire un séjour de vacances-travail au Canada et que le Japon simplifie ses procédures pour ses programmes de vacances-travail.

16. Que les gouvernements fassent connaitre les ententes de jumelage et d'amitié entre les villes et municipalités canadiennes et japonaises et qu'ils encouragent l'élargissement de ce réseau.

17. Qu'on fasse la promotion d'échanges entre des organes de presse, des journalistes, des écoles de journalisme et des étudiants en journalisme. Les gouvernements devraient établir un programme permanent de visites d'information à l'intention des journalistes en visite et qu'ils encouragent la participation de rédacteurs en chef.

18. Que les divisions de la culture internationale des ministères des Affaires étrangères du Japon et du Canada, la Japan Foundation et le Conseil du Canada convoquent une réunion bilatérale des leaders culturels afin de formuler des recommandations explicites visant à élargir les relations culturelles bilatérales.

19. Que les universités et collèges des deux pays créent davantage de programmes de coopération en recherche et développement.


L'Avenir

20. Que le Forum poursuive ses activités, tel que recommandé dans les rapports antérieurs du Forum, en conservant son statut d'organisme consultatif non gouvernemental permanent couvrant tout le spectre de la relation bilatérale.

21. Que les gouvernements veillent à mettre en œuvre les présentes recommandations, en prenant en compte les célébrations du 80e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre les deux pays en 2008-2009.

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-08