Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada-Japan Relations


Toward a Renewed Canada Japan Partnership

Appendix


Background

In 1991, the Prime Ministers of Canada and Japan announced the establishment of a Canada Japan Forum, a non governmental eminent persons group mandated to develop a stronger and more effective bilateral partnership. The first Forum was co-chaired on the Canadian side by Peter Lougheed and on the Japanese side by Yoshio Okawara. A Follow-up Committee worked from 1993 and 1995, and the Forum was re-constituted in 1996 as a standing mechanism with new membership that continued until 2000. The Forum was renewed again in 2003.


Membership

(Canadian members)

  • Don Campbell
    Group President, CAE (Co chair)
    (Former Ambassador to Japan)
  • William J.S. Boyle
    CEO, Harbourfront Centre
  • Jonathan Manthorpe
    International Affairs Columnist, The Vancouver Sun
  • Lorna Marsden
    President, York University
  • Robert Ritchie
    President and CEO, Canadian Pacific Railway
  • Gerard Veilleux
    President, Power Communications Inc.

(Japanese members)

  • Peter Yoshiyasu Sato
    Advisor, Tokyo Electric Power Company (Co chair)
    (Former Ambassador to the People's Republic of China)
  • Hiroyuki Yoshino
    Director and Advisor, Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
  • Hiroshi Zaizen
    Corporate Advisor, Mitsubishi Corporation
  • Akira Kojima
    Chairman, Japan Center for Economic Research
    Special Editorial Adviser, Nihon Keizai Shinbun
  • Masayuki Yamauchi
    Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, University of Tokyo
  • Reiko Kuroda
    Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, University of Tokyo


Terms of Reference

1. The Government of Canada and the Government of Japan (The Governments) agree to establish a bi national panel, to be known as The Canada Japan forum (The Forum).

2. The Forum will consist of twelve members, six appointed by each government. One member of each national contingent will be designated by the appointing government as Co Chair of the Forum.

3. Members will normally be appointed for terms of three years, except that appointments made at the time the Forum is established may be for one or two years at the discretion of the appointing government. A member term may be renewed once for a three year period.

4. The forum is mandated to pursue the following activities, focusing its efforts as may be appropriate from time to time:

(a) to identify opportunities, gather ideas, promote understanding and stimulate enhanced Canada Japan cooperation in fields including but not limited to the following: peace and stability; promotion of trade, tourism and investment; industrial and scientific partnership; enhancement of cultural and educational exchanges; and collaboration on global challenges such as development and environmental protection.

(b) to support and encourage concrete cooperation and collaboration in appropriate areas between non governmental sectors in Canada and Japan, including but not limited to the business, academic, cultural and media sectors.

(c) to facilitate contact and promote cooperation between groups in various regions of Canada and Japan active in bilateral programs, including but not limited to provincial and municipal twinnings, business organizations, Canada Japan associations and Canadian/Japanese studies programs.

(d) to encourage both expert study and public awareness of important issues in Canada Japan relations, through the holding of seminars and other means.

5. The forum will hold one formal session (the annual meeting) in each fiscal year, alternately in Canada and Japan based on an agenda to be agreed in advance by the Co Chairs. Other full or partial meetings of the Forum or its individual national contingents may also be called by the Co Chairs, financial considerations permitting.

6. The Co Chairs may each elect to invite an appropriate participant to sit with the Forum at a given annual meeting, to provide expert advice on specific items of interest.

7. The Co Chairs will provide to the Governments an annual report on the Forum substantive activities and findings for the previous fiscal year. This report will normally be made public.

8. Financial arrangements:

(a) the Governments will separately provide sufficient financial resources to their respective national contingents to fund at a minimum the annual meeting (including participation by the experts noted in item 6 above) and the preparation and distribution of the annual report.

(b) national contingents, after consultation with respective Governments, may choose to seek funding from, or establish cooperative relationships with other bodies, to organize additional activities.

(c) financial administration and reporting systems will be set for each national contingent by its respective Government.

9. The Governments will each establish a Secretariat to their respective national contingent, who will be responsible for the administration and financial management of the national contingent, under the general supervision of the pertinent Co chair. The official addresses of the Forum will be the addresses of the two national Secretariats.

10. The progress of the Forum will be reviewed at the appropriate times by the Governments.

11. The views expressed by the Forum or by its individual members on matters pertaining to the Forum mandate need not reflect, and should not be taken necessarily to reflect, those of the Governments on these matters.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-08

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Relations Canada-Japon


Vers un partenariat Canada-Japon renouvelé

Annexe


Contexte

En 1991, les premiers ministres du Canada et du Japon ont annoncé la création d'un Forum Canada-Japon, un groupe non gouvernemental de personnes éminentes chargées d'établir un partenariat bilatéral plus solide et plus efficace. Le premier Forum était coprésidé, du côté canadien, par Peter Lougheed et, du côté japonais, par Yoshio Okawara. Un comité de suivi a travaillé de 1993 à 1995 et le Forum a été reconstitué en 1996 sous la forme d'un mécanisme permanent composé de nouveaux membres. Il a poursuivi ses travaux jusqu'en 2000. Le Forum a été renouvelé en 2003.


Composition

(Membres canadiens)

  • Don Campbell
    Président du groupe, CAE (coprésident)
    (ancien ambassadeur au Japon)
  • William J.S. Boyle
    PDG, Harbourfront Centre
  • Jonathan Manthorpe
    Chroniqueur aux affaires internationales, The Vancouver Sun
  • Lorna Marsden
    Présidente, Université York
  • Robert Ritchie
    Président et chef de la direction, Canadian Pacific Railway
  • Gérard Veilleux
    Président, Power Communications Inc.

(Membres japonais)

  • Peter Yoshiyasu Sato
    Conseiller, Tokyo Electric Power Company (coprésident)
    (ancien ambassadeur auprès de la République populaire de Chine)
  • Hiroyuki Yoshino
    Directeur et conseiller, Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
  • Hiroshi Zaizen
    Conseiller général, Mitsubishi Corporation
  • Akira Kojima
    Président, Centre d'études économiques du Japon
    Conseiller spécial à la rédaction, Nihon Keizai Shinbun
  • Masayuki Yamauchi
    Professeur, Haute école des arts et des sciences, Université de Tokyo
  • Reiko Kuroda
    Professeur, Haute école des arts et des sciences, Université de Tokyo


Mandat

1. Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Japon (les « gouvernements ») conviennent d'établir un groupe binational, désigné du nom de Forum Canada-Japon (le « Forum »).

2. Le Forum est composé de douze membres, soit six nommés par chaque gouvernement. Un membre de chaque contingent national est désigné par son gouvernement comme coprésident du Forum.

3. Les membres sont habituellement nommés pour un mandat de trois ans, sauf les nominations faites au moment de la mise en place du Forum qui peuvent être pour un mandat d'un an ou de deux ans à la discrétion des gouvernements. Le mandat d'un membre peut être renouvelé une fois pour une période de trois ans.

4. Le Forum est chargé d'exécuter les activités suivantes, en ciblant ses travaux lorsque cela s'avère nécessaire :

a) repérer des possibilités, recueillir des idées, favoriser la compréhension et stimuler la coopération accrue entre le Canada et le Japon, entre autres dans les domaines suivants : paix et stabilité; promotion du commerce, du tourisme et des investissements; partenariats industriels et scientifiques; renforcement des échanges culturels et éducatifs; collaboration face à des défis globaux comme le développement et la protection de l'environnement;

b) appuyer et favoriser la coopération et la collaboration concrètes dans des domaines pertinents entre les secteurs non gouvernementaux du Canada et du Japon, notamment, entre autres, les milieux des affaires et le milieu universitaire et les secteurs culturel et médiatique;

c) faciliter les rapports et promouvoir la coopération entre des groupes dans différentes régions du Canada et du Japon, actives dans des programmes bilatéraux, notamment, entre autres, les jumelages provinciaux et municipaux, les organisations de gens d'affaires, les associations canado-japonaises et les programmes d'études canadiennes et japonaises;

d) favoriser l'étude par des spécialistes et la sensibilisation du public sur des enjeux importants dans les relations canado-japonaises, par la tenue de colloques et d'autres moyens.

5. Le Forum tient une séance officielle (la « réunion annuelle ») au cours de chaque exercice financier, en alternance au Canada et au Japon, selon un ordre du jour établi au préalable d'un commun accord par les coprésidents. Ces derniers peuvent également convoquer d'autres réunions plénières ou partielles du Forum ou de ses groupes nationaux, si le budget le permet.

6. Les coprésidents peuvent choisir d'inviter chacun un participant compétent à siéger avec le Forum à une réunion annuelle donnée, afin de fournir des avis spécialisés sur des points d'intérêt particuliers.

7. Les coprésidents remettent aux gouvernements un rapport annuel sur les activités et les conclusions importantes du Forum au cours de l'exercice précédent. Ce rapport est habituellement rendu public.

8. Dispositions financières

a) Les gouvernements fournissent séparément des ressources financières suffisantes à leur groupe national respectif pour assurer le financement minimal de la réunion annuelle (y compris la participation des spécialistes susmentionnés au point 6) et la diffusion du rapport annuel;

b) les groupes nationaux, après avoir consulté leur gouvernement respectif, peuvent décider de demander l'aide financière à d'autres organismes, ou d'établir des rapports de coopération avec eux, afin d'organiser d'autres activités;

c) chaque gouvernement met sur pied pour son contingent national des systèmes d'administration financière et d'établissement de rapports.

9. Les gouvernements mettent sur pied un secrétariat pour leur contingent national respectif qui est chargé de l'administration et de la gestion financière du groupe national, sous la supervision générale du coprésident compétent. Les adresses officielles du Forum sont les adresses des deux secrétariats nationaux.

10. Les gouvernements examinent les progrès du Forum au moment jugé opportun.

11. Les opinions exprimées par le Forum ou ses différents membres sur des questions relatives au mandat du Forum ne reflètent pas forcément, et on ne devrait pas considérer forcément qu'elles reflètent, les opinions des gouvernements sur ces questions.

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-08