Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living / Travelling in Japan

Citizenship

Attention: Name Policy

Effective May 31, 2013, Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) has instituted new procedures on establishing consistent name records in their systems for all lines of business (Citizenship, Passport, Permanent Resident, etc.). The procedures emphasize the significance of using the most reliable documentary evidence available pertaining to the name of an individual, rather than using a name at the request of the applicant.

The Name Policy does not allow for statutory declarations concerning names. The primary document used to establish the name record is the applicant's foreign birth certificate. If the applicant is unable to provide a foreign birth certificate, the name indicated on their passport or travel document will be used to establish the name record.

Some applicants may present documentation containing a name (or names) that is in accordance with Japan's naming convention but is not necessarily the name with which the applicant identifies. In these instances, the applicant may seek a legal change of name once in Canada, in accordance with the policies/procedures of the province or territory of residence.

 

Return of Citizenship Certificates by Mail

As of April 1, 2015, we require a self-addressed LetterPack PLUS envelope to return your original documents to you if you send in your application by post.

LetterPack Plus is a prepaid envelope used to return your documents by express post that can also be tracked. LetterPack Plus is available at any Japan Post Office and most convenience stores for 510 yen.

We will contact you when your Citizenship Certificate is ready to have you send another LetterPack PLUS envelope in order to return the certificate to you, or to have you pick it up in person if you prefer.

Please use this link to track your LetterPack PLUS.


Applying for Citizenship


Canadian Citizenship — Children Born Abroad

The proof of Canadian citizenship for a Canadian born abroad is a Canadian citizenship certificate. A child born outside Canada to a Canadian parent and meeting certain requirements is a Canadian citizen. However the child will not possess a birth certificate issued by a Canadian governmental authority and for proof of Canadian citizenship, the child will need to obtain a Canadian citizenship certificate. An application must be submitted to obtain this certificate. Although applications are processed in Canada, you may submit the application to a Canadian diplomatic office abroad. In Japan, such applications can be submitted to the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo.

For details on how to apply, please read How to Apply for a Canadian Citizenship Certificate for a Child Born Outside Canada.

The Embassy will not accept applications that are incomplete, or which have been incorrectly completed. Incomplete or incorrect applications will be returned to the applicant and will only be processed once all documentation has been submitted and/or the application correctly submitted.


Canadian Citizenship — Replacement Certificates

If you have had a Canadian citizenship certificate lost or stolen you should apply as soon as possible for a replacement. While applications are processed in Canada, you can submit the application to a Canadian diplomatic office abroad. In Japan such applications can be submitted to the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo.

For details on how to apply, please read How to Apply for a Replacement Citizenship Certificate.


Dual Nationality

Canada permits dual or multiple nationality. However in accordance with Japanese law, a Japanese citizen having a foreign nationality shall choose either of the nationalities before he or she reaches twenty two years of age (or within two years of acquisition of the second nationality if acquisition took place after the age of twenty). Please see the website of the Ministry of Justice of Japan for further details.


Instructions

How to Apply for a Canadian Citizenship Certificate for a Child Born Outside Canada

A child born to a Canadian parent and meeting certain requirements is a Canadian citizen at birth. To determine if your child, born outside Canada, is a Canadian citizen at birth, please see New Citizenship Rules. Proof of the child's citizenship, in the form of a Certificate of Canadian Citizenship (CCC) can be applied for at any time after the child's birth. The following documentation will need to be presented:

  1. Complete an application form.
  2. Two photographs of the child as per the specifications.
  3. The child's official record of birth which establishes the relationship between the child and the Canadian parent. In Japan this is usually the Certificate of Acceptance of Registration of Birth (shussei todoke no juri shomesho) issued by ward or city offices, along with an accurate typed translation. This document must bear the names of the parents. The Family Register (koseki tohon or koseki shohon) with an accurate typed translation can also be accepted if the child also has Japanese citizenship. Hospital records of birth are not acceptable.
    Translation in English or French is required (please see information below).
  4. The original of the parent's document which establishes his/her own Canadian citizenship. This is usually a birth certificate or a Canadian Citizenship Certificate.
  5. Two additional pieces of personal identification for the child (original documents required) along with typed, accurate translations, such as Mother and Child Handbook (boshi techo) health insurance card, resident card (jumin hyo), hospital appointment card, hospital birth certificate, foreign passport, etc.
    Translation in English or French is required (please see information below).
  6. The fee.
  7. A self-addressed LetterPack Plus envelope for the return of your original documents by mail.

If you wish for your original documents to be returned by post but do not include a LetterPack Plus envelope, we will return your original documents to you cash on delivery. Please note that the Embassy is not responsible for delivery times.


Translated Documents

Any document that is not in English or French must be accompanied by

  • the English or French translation, and
  • an affidavit from the person who completed the translation.

Note: An affidavit is a document on which the translator has sworn, in the presence of a person authorized to administer oaths in the country in which the translator is living (Canadian Embassy/Consulate or Notary Public in Japan), that the contents of their translation are a true translation and representation of the contents of the original document. Translators who are certified members in good standing of one of the provincial or territorial organizations of translators and interpreters of Canada do not need to supply an affidavit.

  • At the Embassy of Canada, the translator's affidavit can be notarized at the same time as the submission of the application at the Embassy of Canada (09:30-12:00, Monday to Friday except Embassy holidays without an appointment. The translator needs to appear in person and the notary service fee will apply.
  • For service at the Consulates of Canada in Japan, please contact them directly to make an appointment in advance. The translator needs to appear in person and the notary service fee will apply.

The translator's affidavit can also be notarized at a local notary public. A list of notary public offices can be found here (in Japanese only).

Important information: Translations by family members are not acceptable.

Family member is defined as being a: parent, guardian, sibling, spouse, grandparent, child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew and first cousin.

Your application will be returned to you if you do not include the translation of your documents and an affidavit from the translator.

Please click for a list of translators.

Canadian citizenship certificates are issued in Canada, and you should expect that it will take upwards of a year for issuance.

A person whose Canadian citizenship is documented as above remains a citizen until such time as he/she renounces citizenship. Renunciation requires a formal application and official acceptance of this application.


How to Apply for a Replacement Citizenship Certificate

A person who is applying to replace a Canadian citizenship certificate must:

  1. complete an application form.
  2. surrender any/all original citizenship/naturalization certificates and any pink transmission copies that may be in your possession.
  3. submit two pieces of personal identification. Photocopies of these documents are acceptable. If original documents are submitted to the Embassy or Consulate, we will make the necessary copies and return the originals to you.
  4. submit any other documentation which may apply to your circumstance such as legal change of name documentation, marriage certificate, etc.
  5. submit two photographs as per the specifications and instructions shown on the application form.
  6. submit the fee.
  7. submit a self-addressed LetterPack Plus envelope for the return of your original documents by mail.

If you wish for your original documents to be returned by post but do not include a LetterPack Plus envelope, we will return your original documents to you cash on delivery. Please note that the Embassy is not responsible for delivery times.


Translated Documents

Any document that is not in English or French must be accompanied by

  • the English or French translation, and
  • an affidavit from the person who completed the translation.

Note: An affidavit is a document on which the translator has sworn, in the presence of a person authorized to administer oaths in the country in which the translator is living (Canadian Embassy/Consulate or Notary Public in Japan), that the contents of their translation are a true translation and representation of the contents of the original document. Translators who are certified members in good standing of one of the provincial or territorial organizations of translators and interpreters of Canada do not need to supply an affidavit.

  • At the Embassy of Canada, the translator's affidavit can be notarized at the same time as the submission of the application at the Embassy of Canada (09:30-12:00, Monday to Friday except Embassy holidays without an appointment. The translator needs to appear in person and the notary service fee will apply.
  • For service at the Consulates of Canada in Japan, please contact them directly to make an appointment in advance. The translator needs to appear in person and the notary service fee will apply.

The translator's affidavit can also be notarized at a local notary public. A list of notary public offices can be found here (in Japanese only).

Important information: Translations by family members are not acceptable.

Family member is defined as being a: parent, guardian, sibling, spouse, grandparent, child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew and first cousin.

Your application will be returned to you if you do not include the translation of your documents and an affidavit from the translator.

Please click for a list of translators.


Mailing Address

Consular Section
Embassy of Canada
7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku
Tokyo 107-8503, Japan

 


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-06-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager au Japon

Citoyenneté

Attention : Politique relative aux noms

À compter du 31 mai 2013, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) a institué de nouvelles procédures relatives à l'établissement des enregistrements de noms cohérents dans leurs systèmes pour tous les secteurs d'activité (citoyenneté, passeport, résident permanent, etc.). Les procédures mettent l'accent sur l'importance d'utiliser la preuve documentaire la plus fiable en ce qui a trait au nom d'une personne, plutôt que d'utiliser le nom fourni par le demandeur.

La politique du nom ne permet pas de déclarations statutaires concernant les noms. Le certificat de naissance délivré à l'étranger est le document principal utilisé pour créer le dossier du demandeur. Si le demandeur n'est pas en mesure de fournir son certificat de naissance étranger, le nom figurant sur son passeport ou sur son titre de voyage sera utilisé pour créer le dossier.

Il est possible qu'un client présente un document sur lequel figure un nom (ou des noms) conforme aux conventions d'appellation de Japon, mais ne correspondant pas nécessairement au nom que le client utilise. Dans ces cas, le client pourra demander un changement de nom légal après son arrivée au Canada, conformément aux politiques/procédures en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire où il s'établira.

 

Retour de cartes de citoyenneté par la poste

À partir du 1er avril 2015, nous exigeons une enveloppe LetterPack PLUS pré-adressée pour le retour de vos documents originaux si vous faites votre demande par la poste.

LetterPack PLUS est une enveloppe affranchie utilisée pour retourner vos documents par poste prioritaire, et qui peut aussi être repérée. LetterPack Plus est disponible dans tous les bureaux de poste japonais ainsi que dans la plupart des dépanneurs japonais pour 510 yen.

Nous communiquerons avec vous lorsque votre certificat de citoyenneté sera prêt pour vous demander de nous envoyer une enveloppe LetterPack PLUS supplémentaire pour le retour votre certificat, ou de venir le chercher en personne selon vos préférences.

Veuillez utiliser ce lien (en anglais et japonais seulement) pour repérer votre paquet LetterPack PLUS.


Demande de citoyenneté


Citoyenneté canadienne — Enfants nés à l'extérieur du Canada

Le certificat de citoyenneté canadienne constitue la preuve de la citoyenneté canadienne d'un Canadien né à l'étranger. Un enfant né à l'étranger dont au moins un des parents est canadien peut répondre aux exigences pour être citoyen canadien. Cependant, cet enfant ne possédera pas de certificat de naissance délivré par une autorité gouvernementale canadienne; pour fournir la preuve de sa citoyenneté canadienne, il devra donc obtenir un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne. L'obtention de ce certificat doit faire l'objet d'une demande. Bien que les demandes soient traitées au Canada, vous pouvez présenter votre demande dans un bureau diplomatique canadien à l'étranger. Au Japon, vous pouvez le faire à l'ambassade du Canada à Tokyo.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter Demande de certificat de citoyenneté canadienne pour un enfant né à l'extérieur du Canada — Modalités.

L'ambassade n'acceptera pas les demandes incomplètes ou remplies incorrectement. Celles ci seront retournées au demandeur et ne seront traitées que lorsque tous les documents auront été envoyés et/ou la demande sera soumise correctement.


Citoyenneté canadienne — Certificats de remplacement

Si votre certificat de citoyenneté canadienne a été perdu ou volé, vous devez en demander le remplacement le plus tôt possible. Bien que les demandes soient traitées au Canada, vous pouvez présenter votre demande à un bureau diplomatique canadien à l'étranger. Au Japon, vous pouvez le faire à l'ambassade du Canada à Tokyo.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter Demande de remplacement d'un certificat de citoyenneté — Modalités.


Double nationalité

Le Canada accepte la nationalité double ou multiple. Cependant, conformément à la loi en vigueur au Japon, un citoyen japonais ayant une nationalité étrangère doit faire un choix entre les deux nationalités avant l'âge de 22 ans (ou dans les deux années qui suivent l'acquisition de la seconde nationalité si cette acquisition a eu lieu après l'âge de 20 ans). Veuillez voir le site web du ministère de la Justice du Japon pour plus de détails (en anglais).


Instructions

Demande de certificat de citoyenneté canadienne pour un enfant né à l'extérieur du Canada — Modalités

Certains enfants nés à l'extérieur du Canada d'un parent canadien sont des citoyens canadiens de naissance. Pour déterminer si votre enfant né à l'extérieur du Canada est un citoyen canadien de naissance, veuillez consulter Nouvelles règles en matière de citoyenneté. La preuve de la citoyenneté de l'enfant, attestée par un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne (CCC) peut être demandée à n'importe quel moment après la naissance de l'enfant. Les documents suivants doivent être présentés :

  1. Un formulaire de demande dûment rempli.
  2. Deux photographies de l'enfant, conformément aux spécifications.
  3. L'acte de naissance officiel de l'enfant qui établit la relation entre celui-ci et le parent canadien. Au Japon, il s'agit habituellement du certificat d'acceptation de l'enregistrement de la naissance (shussei todoke no juri shomesho) délivré par le bureau de quartier ou par la municipalité, ainsi qu'une traduction dactylographiée précise. Ce document doit porter le nom des parents. Les dossiers de naissance de l'hôpital ne sont pas acceptables.
    Une traduction en français ou anglais est requise (veuillez voir les informations ci-dessous).
  4. L'original du document établissant la citoyenneté canadienne du parent. Il s'agit habituellement d'un certificat de naissance ou d'une certificat de citoyenneté canadienne.
  5. Deux pièces d'identité supplémentaires pour l'enfant (les document originaux sont requis) avec les traductions dactylographiées précises, telles que le carnet de maternité (boshi techo) la carte d'assurance maladie, la carte de résident (jumin hyo), la carte de visiteur de l'hôpital, le certificat de naissance de l'hôpital, passeport étranger, le registre des actes de l'état civil (koseki), etc.
    Une traduction en français ou anglais est requise (veuillez voir les informations ci-dessous).
  6. Le droit.
  7. Une enveloppe LetterPack Plus pré-adressée pour le retour de vos documents originaux par la poste.
  8. Des documents supplémentaires pourraient être requis.

Si vous désirez le retour de vos documents originaux par la poste mais vous ne fournissez pas une enveloppe LetterPack Plus, nous vous retournerons vos documents par le service contre remboursement. Veuillez noter que l'Ambassade n'est pas responsable pour les délais de livraison.


Documents traduits

Tout document qui n'est ni en français, ni en anglais doit être accompagné à la fois :

  • de sa traduction française ou anglaise;
  • d'une déclaration sous serment de la personne qui l'a traduit.

Note : Une déclaration sous serment est un document dans lequel le traducteur prête serment du caractère véridique de la traduction et de la représentation du contenu du document original. Cette déclaration se fait en présence d'un commissaire autorisé à faire prêter serment dans le pays où réside le traducteur (à l'Ambassade/Consulat du Canada ou notaire japonais). Les traducteurs qui sont membres agréés en règle d'une des organisations provinciales ou territoriales de traducteurs du Canada ne sont pas tenus de fournir une déclaration sous serment.

  • La déclaration du traducteur peut être notariée en même temps que vous présentez la demande à l'Ambassade du Canada (9h30 à 12h00, du lundi au vendredi sauf les jours fériés sans rendez-vous. Le traducteur doit se présenter en personne et les frais relatifs aux services notariaux s'appliquent.
  • Pour du service à l'un des Consulats du Canada, veuillez communiquer directement avec le bureau le plus proche afin de prendre rendez-vous. Le traducteur doit se présenter en personne et les frais relatifs aux services notariaux s'appliquent.

La déclaration du traducteur peut être aussi notariée par un notaire local. Une liste de notaires se trouve ici (disponible en japonais seulement).

Renseignements importants : Les traductions faites par un membre de la famille ne sont pas acceptées.

Pour la présente politique, on entend par « membre de la famille » un parent, un tuteur, un frère ou une sœur, un conjoint, un grand-parent, un enfant, une tante, un oncle, une nièce, un neveu et un petit-cousin.

Votre demande vous sera retournée si vous n'incluez pas la traduction de vos documents et une déclaration sous serment du traducteur.

Veuillez cliquer pour une liste de traducteurs.

Les certificats de citoyenneté canadienne sont délivrés au Canada; on peut donc s'attendre à ce qu'il faille parfois un an pour les obtenir.

Quiconque dont la citoyenneté canadienne est établie par les documents ci-dessus demeure citoyen canadien tant et aussi longtemps qu'il ne renonce pas à sa citoyenneté. La renonciation doit faire l'objet d'une demande officielle, laquelle doit être acceptée officiellement.


Demande de remplacement d'un certificat de citoyenneté — Modalités

Toute personne qui fait une demande de remplacement d'un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne doit :

  1. remplir le formulaire de demande;
  2. remettre tout original des certificats de citoyenneté/de naturalisation et toute copie de transmission rose en sa possession;
  3. présenter deux pièces d'identité. Des photocopies de ces documents sont acceptables. Si les documents originaux sont soumis à l'ambassade ou au consulat, nous ferons les copies nécessaires et vous renverrons les originaux;
  4. soumettre tout autre document relatif à sa situation tels que des documents légaux concernant un changement de nom, un certificat de mariage, etc.;
  5. soumettre deux photographies conformément aux spécifications et aux instructions figurant sur le formulaire de demande.
  6. payer les frais exigés;
  7. soumettre une enveloppe LetterPack Plus pré-adressée pour le retour de vos documents originaux par la poste.

Si vous désirez le retour de vos documents originaux par la poste mais vous ne fournissez pas une enveloppe LetterPack Plus, nous vous retournerons vos documents par le service contre remboursement. Veuillez noter que l'Ambassade n'est pas responsable pour les délais de livraison.


Documents traduits

Tout document qui n'est ni en français, ni en anglais doit être accompagné à la fois :

  • de sa traduction française ou anglaise;
  • d'une déclaration sous serment de la personne qui l'a traduit.

Note : Une déclaration sous serment est un document dans lequel le traducteur prête serment du caractère véridique de la traduction et de la représentation du contenu du document original. Cette déclaration se fait en présence d'un commissaire autorisé à faire prêter serment dans le pays où réside le traducteur (à l'Ambassade/Consulat du Canada ou notaire japonais). Les traducteurs qui sont membres agréés en règle d'une des organisations provinciales ou territoriales de traducteurs du Canada ne sont pas tenus de fournir une déclaration sous serment.

  • La déclaration du traducteur peut être notariée en même temps que vous présentez la demande à l'Ambassade du Canada (9h30 à 12h00, du lundi au vendredi sauf les jours fériés sans rendez-vous. Le traducteur doit se présenter en personne et les frais relatifs aux services notariaux s'appliquent.
  • Pour du service à l'un des Consulats du Canada, veuillez communiquer directement avec le bureau le plus proche afin de prendre rendez-vous. Le traducteur doit se présenter en personne et les frais relatifs aux services notariaux s'appliquent.

La déclaration du traducteur peut être aussi notariée par un notaire local. Une liste de notaires se trouve ici (disponible en japonais seulement).

Renseignements importants : Les traductions faites par un membre de la famille ne sont pas acceptées.

Pour la présente politique, on entend par « membre de la famille » un parent, un tuteur, un frère ou une sœur, un conjoint, un grand-parent, un enfant, une tante, un oncle, une nièce, un neveu et un petit-cousin.

Votre demande vous sera retournée si vous n'incluez pas la traduction de vos documents et une déclaration sous serment du traducteur.

Veuillez cliquer pour une liste de traducteurs.


Adresse postale

Section Consulaire
Ambassade du Canada
7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku
Tokyo 107-8503, Japon

 


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-01-28