Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

No Egg is Perfect: Eunice Luk

Exhibition Announcement

November 29, 2016 - January 20, 2017
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

November 1, 2016

The Embassy of Canada to Japan is pleased to present an exhibition featuring artwork by Eunice Luk in its Prince Takamado Gallery.

Eunice Luk is an artist from Toronto currently participating in the Koganecho Artist-in-Residence programme in Yokohama, Japan. Her artwork includes paintings, ceramic sculptures and installations. In July 2016, she received support from the Ontario Arts Council and the Toronto Arts Council to participate in the Artist-in-Residence programme at Shigaraki Ceramic Cultural Park in Shiga Prefecture, Japan.

“No Egg is Perfect” is an exhibition of Luk’s most recent works, including works created during her stay at the Shigaraki Ceramic Cultural Park. Deeply moved by life in Japan’s rural countryside and Shigaraki’s famed ceramic history and traditions, Luk handbuilt a new body of ceramic sculptures and ceramic slab paintings. The works were inspired by the cycle of decay and finding small pleasures and comfort in life through nature. Many of the works express a sense of meditative calm, optimism and reflection. The imperfect contours of each work moreover display a slow handcrafted sensibility common to Luk’s ceramics works.  

Luk was born in 1988 and graduated from Ontario College of Art and Design University in 2012. She makes simple, subjective recordings of positive and negative space using a wide range of media and processes, transcending materiality into personal language. Luk has recently exhibited at Vacant (Tokyo), Swiss Institute (New York), Printed Matter (New York), The Walter Phillips Gallery (Banff), Art Metropole (Toronto), Xpace (Toronto) and Narwhal Projects (Toronto). Luk has also published artist books and editions under the press titled “Slow Editions.” She regularly exhibits at art book fairs in New York, Los Angeles and Tokyo. 

Details

Date: November 29, 2016 - January 20, 2017

Weekdays 10:00-17:30

Closed on weekends and December 26 – January 3

Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact: Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6391
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

In cooperation with: Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Arts Council

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

N.B.: Visitor access to the Embassy of Canada requires photo identification.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Aucun œuf n’est parfait: Eunice Luk

Annonce d'exposition

Du 29 novembre 2016 au 20 janvier 2017
Galerie Prince Takamado de l’Ambassade du Canada

le 1er novembre, 2016

L’Ambassade du Canada au Japon est heureuse de présenter une exposition mettant en relief des œuvres d’Eunice Luk à sa Galerie Prince Takamado.

Eunice Luk (E) est une artiste torontoise qui participe présentement au programme d’artiste en résidence de Koganecho à Yokohama, au Japon. Ses œuvres incluent des tableaux, des sculptures en céramique et des installations. En juillet 2016, elle a reçu le soutien du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et du Conseil des arts de Toronto pour prendre part au programme d’artiste en résidence au Parc culturel de céramique de Shigaraki dans la préfecture de Shiga, au Japon.

« Aucun œuf n’est parfait » est une exposition des œuvres les plus récentes de Luk, incluant des œuvres créées durant son séjour au parc culturel de céramique de Shigaraki. Profondément émue par la vie dans la campagne japonaise et les traditions et la riche histoire de Shigaraki en matière de céramique, Luk a fabriqué à la main une nouvelle série de sculptures en céramique et peint des tableaux constitués de plaques de céramique. Les œuvres s’inspirent du cycle de la dégénérescence et de la découverte des petits plaisirs et conforts de la vie à travers la nature. Plusieurs des œuvres évoquent un sentiment de calme méditatif, d’optimisme et de réflexion. En outre, les contours imparfaits de chacune des œuvres présentent une sensibilité artisanale nonchalante propre aux œuvres de céramique de Luk.

Née en 1988, Luk a complété des études à l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario en 2012. Elle documente simplement et subjectivement l’espace positif et négatif, utilisant une vaste gamme de supports et de processus et transcendant la matérialité au profit du langage personnel. Luk a récemment exposé à Vacant (Tokyo), l’Institut suisse (New York), Printed Matter (New York), la Galerie Walter Phillips (Banff), Art Metropole (Toronto), Xpace (Toronto) et Narwhal Projects (Toronto). Luk a également publié des livres et éditions d’artistes sous l’égide de « Slow Editions ». Elle expose régulièrement dans des salons de livres d’art à New York, Los Angeles et Tokyo.

Détails

Date: Du 29 novembre 2016 au 20 janvier 2017

De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi

Fermée durant la fin de semaine et du 26 décembre au 3 janvier

Lieu: Galerie du Prince Takamado de l’Ambassade du Canada 

(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact : Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6391
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

En coopération avec: Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, Toronto Arts Council (E)

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

N.B. : Les visiteurs doivent présenter une carte d'identité avec photo pour avoir accès à l'Ambassade du Canada.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-03