Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. News and Events
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events


"Polar Wings: Exploring Canada's Arctic through Art and Film"

As part of its "Canadian Stories" documentary film series, the Embassy of Canada is pleased to present an evening of Canadian Arctic exploration, commemorating Canada's chairmanship of the Arctic Council with the screening of a film set in the Canadian North, together with a talk by artistic photographer and explorer Mr. Naoki Ishikawa.

While carrying out a series of presentations and activities to raise awareness of environmental and humanitarian issues, Mr. Ishikawa visited the Arctic in the year 2000 as part of the Pole to Pole 2000 Project, where he travelled from the North Pole to the South Pole in nine months. Since then he has returned to different parts of the Arctic on numerous occasions. Seven of his photographs taken there will be displayed in the Embassy of Canada's Prince Takamado Gallery from June 2 to July 30 in an exhibition entitled Naoki Ishikawa: POLAR. The photos will be on display alongside the DANCING WALRUS: Inuit Sculptures from the Collection of Their Imperial Highnesses Prince and Princess Takamado.

"Polar Wings: Exploring Canada's Arctic through Art and Film" will feature a talk on the Canadian Arctic by Mr. Ishikawa as well as a screening of The Wings of Johnny May, a full-length documentary film about the legendary Johnny May, the first Inuit bush pilot in the Canadian North.

Twenty invitations to this event showcasing the Canadian Arctic are being made available to the public. Please apply as indicated below.


Date and time: Wednesday, June 18, 2014 18: 30 – 20:50 (Doors open at 18:00)

Place: Embassy of Canada Oscar Peterson Theatre

Admission: Free of charge

How to apply:

Please apply by e-mail by Tuesday, June 10, 2014, clearly indicating the following in your message:

  1. Name
  2. Organization/school
  3. Address
  4. Telephone number
  5. E-mail address

Successful applicants will be notified by June 13.


Naoki Ishikawa (J)

Born in Tokyo in 1977, Naoki Ishikawa is interested in anthropology and ethnology in addition to exploration of the unknown. He has published works dealing with the experiences of migration and travel. For The Void (published in 2006 by Knee High Media) he won both the Sagamihara Prize for Newcomer Professionals as well as the Jun Miki Award. For New Dimension and Polar (published in 2008 by Akaakasha Art Publishing and Little More, respectively), he received the Photographic Society of Japan's Newcomer's Award and the Kodansha Publication Culture Award. For his work in 2009, which included Mt. Fuji and Vernacular (published by Little More and AkaAkasha Art Publishing, respectively), he was awarded the Higashikawa New Talent Prize. Vernacular includes photographs of the Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) in the Canadian Northwest and of the Arctic towns of Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk. Ishikawa also won the Domon Ken Award for Corona, a photographic portrayal of 21st-century reality across the vastly spread out islands of Polynesia.


The Wings of Johnny May

Director: Marc Fafard
National Film Board of Canada, 2013
English with Japanese subtitles
83min 54sec

This feature documentary shines a spotlight on Johnny May, the first Inuit bush pilot in Nunavik – and a legend among his people. During the 34,000 hours of flight time he's logged, May has lived through extraordinary adventures and has had a unique view of the transformation of the Arctic from his perch in the sky. He has watched as the Inuit went from nomadic life to a sedentary existence, and as climate change has melted the permafrost. But one thing remains constant: May's deep love for his wife Louisa. Since his earliest days in the air, his plane has sported the same Inuktitut message for her: "Pengo Pally", which means "I miss you." The Wings of Johnny May is an airborne documentary that highlights a unique culture through the eyes of an exceptional man.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-05-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nouvelles et activités
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements


« Ailes polaires : Exploration de l'Arctique canadien à travers l'art et le cinéma »

Dans le cadre de « Récits canadiens », sa série de documentaires canadiens, l'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une soirée d'exploration de l'Arctique canadien, commémorant la présidence canadienne du Conseil de l'Arctique avec la projection d'un film tourné dans le Nord canadien, ainsi qu'une conférence offerte par l'explorateur et artiste photographe Naoki Ishikawa.

C'est dans le cadre d'une série de présentations et d'activités de sensibilisation aux questions environnementales et humanitaires que M.Ishikawa s'est rendu en Arctique en 2000, traversant le globe du Pôle Nord au Pôle Sud en neuf mois à titre de participant au Pole to Pole 2000 Project. Il est retourné en Arctique à plusieurs reprises depuis, visitant différentes parties de la région. Sept des photos qu'il a prises là-bas seront présentées à la galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada du 2 juin au 30 juillet dans le cadre d'une exposition intitulée Naoki Ishikawa : POLAR. L'exposition de photos coïncidera avec la présentation de MORSE DANSANT – Sculptures inuites de la collection de Leurs Altesses Impériales le Prince et la Princesse Takamado.

« Ailes polaires : Exploration de l'Arctique canadien à travers l'art et le cinéma » mettra en relief une conférence sur l'Arctique canadien offerte par M. Ishikawa, ainsi que la projection de Les ailes de Johnny May, un long-métrage documentaire sur le légendaire Johnny May, premier pilote de brousse inuit dans le Nord canadien.

Vingt invitations à cette activité ayant pour thème l'Arctique canadien sont offertes au public. Les personnes intéressées sont priées de présenter une demande en suivant les directives ci-dessous.


Date et heure : Mercredi 18 juin 2014 de 18h30 à 20h50 (les portes ouvrent à 18h00)

Lieu : Théâtre Oscar Peterson de l'Ambassade du Canada

Admission : Gratuite

Comment présenter une demande :

Veuillez présenter votre demande par courriel au plus tard le mardi 10 juin 2014 en indiquant clairement les informations suivantes :

  1. Nom
  2. Organisation / école
  3. Adresse
  4. Numéro de téléphone
  5. Adresse de courriel

Les personnes sélectionnées seront avisées au plus tard le 13 juin.


Naoki Ishikawa (J)

Né à Tokyo en 1977, Naoki Ishikawa s'intéresse à l'anthropologie et l'ethnologie, de même qu'à l'exploration de l'inconnu. Il a publié des ouvrages portant sur des expériences de migration et de voyage. Il a remporté le Prix Sagamihara pour les jeunes professionnels et le Prix Jun Miki pour The Void (publié en 2006 par Knee High Media), tandis qu'il a reçu le Prix du meilleur nouveau venu de la Société photographique japonaise et le Prix de la culture de Kodansha Publication pour New Dimension et Polar (publiés en 2008 par AkaAkasha Art Publishing et Little More respectivement). En 2009, son œuvre, qui incluait Mt. Fuji et Vernacular (publiés par Little More et AkaAkasha Art Publishing respectivement), lui a valu le Prix Higashikawa du meilleur jeune talent. Vernacular comprend des photos de Haida Gwaii (îles de la Reine-Charlotte) dans le Nord-Ouest canadien, ainsi que d'Inuvik et de Tuktoyaktuk, deux villages de l'Arctique. Il a également reçu le Prix Ken Domon pour Corona, qui capture la réalité actuelle de la Polynésie et toute son étendue.


Les ailes de Johnny May

Réalisateur : Marc Fafard
Office national du film du Canada, 2013
Anglais avec sous-titres japonais
83min 54sec

Ce long métrage documentaire braque les projecteurs sur Johnny May, le premier pilote de brousse inuit au Nunavik et une légende pour son peuple. Au cours des 34,000 heures de vol qu'il a effectuées, May a vécu des aventures extraordinaires et observé la transformation de l'Arctique d'un point de vue unique, de son avion, là-haut dans le ciel. Il a vu les Inuits passer d'une mode de vie nomade à une existence sédentaire et les changements climatiques mener à la fonte du pergélisol. Une constante demeure cependant : l'amour profond de May pour sa femme Louisa. Depuis ses tout débuts comme pilote, son avion affiche le même message pour elle en inuktitut : « Pengo Pally », qui signifie « tu me manques ». Les ailes de Johnny May est un documentaire à vol d'oiseau mettant en relief une culture unique vue à travers les yeux d'un homme exceptionnel.

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-05-28