Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery


Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration
January 21 – March 15, 2011
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

November 16, 2010

Polar Bear and Cub in Ice, Niviasi, 1959, (c) Dorset Fine Arts, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Photo: (c) CMCC, M-L. Deruaz
Polar Bear and Cub in Ice,
Niviasi, 1959,
© Dorset Fine Arts,
Canadian Museum of Civilization
Photo: © CMCC, M-L. Deruaz

Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada presents an exhibition focusing on Japanese influences during the early years (late 1950s and early 1960s) of the Cape Dorset studio, the oldest and most successful printmaking enterprise in Canada's Far North.

Some fifty years ago, the small community of Cape Dorset in the Canadian Arctic was introduced to the ancient traditions of Japanese printmaking. James Houston, then a government employee, introduced printmaking to Cape Dorset in 1957 as a potential source of income for the Inuit. To learn more about printmaking himself, Houston travelled the next year to Japan to study for three months with Un'ichi Hiratsuka, one of the world's leading masters of the art. Houston went back to the Arctic in 1959 to share his knowledge and his collection of Japanese prints with the fledgling printmakers of Cape Dorset.

Ever since, Inuit printmakers have used the medium to express their creativity and to document their history and culture. In the process, they have won international acclaim and achieved unprecedented commercial success.

The remarkable story of that artistic encounter and its extraordinary result are the focus of "Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration." It comprises 49 original works of art, including some of the rarest and earliest Cape Dorset prints and the actual Japanese prints by Un'ichi Hiratsuka, Shiko Munakata, and other Japanese artists, that were brought to Cape Dorset in 1959, inspiring Inuit artists such as Kananginak Pootoogook and Lukta Qiatsuk. By juxtaposing the works, the exhibition reveals the many ways in which the Cape Dorset artists creatively "localized" Japanese influences. Among the many highlights are rare Inuit stonecut rubbings, powerful black-and-white stonecut prints created by Inuit artists who were inspired by Hiratsuka, and stencil prints created by Inuit artists inspired by the Japanese kappazuri technique.

The exhibition also features a display of a stonecut print block and early printmaking tools that Cape Dorset artists created and used in the late 1950s, modeling them after the Japanese tools Houston introduced into the community.

"Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration" is a travelling exhibition produced by the Canadian Museum of Civilization.


Details

Date: January 21 – March 15, 2011

  • Weekdays 9:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 9:00-20:00
  • Closed on weekends and February 11


Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact: Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section (Tel: 03-5412-6257)

Media contact: Ryuko Iikubo (Tel: 03-5412-6347)

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado


Estampes inuites...inspiration japonaise
Du 21 janvier au 15 mars 2011
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 16 novembre 2010

Polar Bear and Cub in Ice, Niviasi, 1959, (c) Dorset Fine Arts, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Photo: (c) CMCC, M-L. Deruaz
Polar Bear and Cub in Ice,
Niviasi, 1959,
© Dorset Fine Arts,
Canadian Museum of Civilization
Photo: © CMCC, M-L. Deruaz

Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada présente une exposition consacrée aux influences japonaises qui ont marqué les débuts (fin des années 50 et début des années 60) de l'atelier de Cape Dorset, la plus ancienne et fructueuse entreprise de création d'estampes du Grand Nord canadien.

Il y a une cinquantaine d'années, la petite communauté de Cape Dorset dans l'Arctique canadien eut un premier contact avec les anciennes traditions de l'estampe japonaise. James Houston, qui était alors à l'emploi du gouvernement, introduisit l'art de l'estampe à Cape Dorset en 1957, y voyant une source potentielle de revenus pour les Inuits. Pour approfondir ses propres connaissances, Houston s'est rendu au Japon l'année suivante faire un stage de trois mois auprès de Un'ichi Hiratsuka, un des plus grands maîtres de l'estampe au monde. Houston est allé de nouveau en Arctique en 1959 pour partager ses connaissances et sa collection d'estampes japonaises avec les graveurs débutants de Cape Dorset.

Depuis, les artistes inuits ont adopté l'estampe pour exprimer leur créativité et témoigner de leur histoire et de leur culture. Ce faisant, ils ont acquis une renommée internationale et obtenu un succès commercial sans précédent.

La remarquable histoire de cette rencontre et son extraordinaire résultat sont le thème de « Estampes inuites...inspiration japonaise. » L'exposition présente 49 œuvres originales, y compris certaines des plus rares et des plus anciennes estampes de Cape Dorset et les estampes de Un'ichi Hiratsuka, Shiko Munakata, et d'autres artistes japonais, apportées à Cape Dorset en 1959, inspirant des artistes inuits comme Kananginak Pootoogook et Lukta Qiatsuk. En juxtaposant les œuvres, l'exposition révèle les nombreuses manières dont la créativité des artistes de Cape Dorset a donné une « identité locale » aux influences japonaises. Parmi les nombreuses œuvres présentées on trouve des gravures sur pierre inuites rares, de puissantes gravures sur pierre en noir et blanc créées par des artistes inuits inspirés par Hiratsuka, et des estampes au pochoir d'artistes inuits inspirés par les techniques japonaises du kappazuri.

L'exposition présente également un bloc de pierre gravé et des outils utilisés par des artistes de Cape Dorset à la fin des années 50. Les outils sont façonnés sur le modèle des outils japonais introduits dans la communauté par James Houston.

« Estampes inuites...inspiration japonaise » est une exposition itinérante réalisée par le Musée canadien des civilisations.


Détails

Date : Du 21 janvier au 15 mars 2011

  • De 9h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 9h00 à 20h00 le mercredi
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, ainsi que le 11 février


Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact : Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada (Tél.: 03-5412-6257)

Contact médias : Ryuko Iikubo (Tél.: 03-5412-6347)

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-04