Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery


Threshold: Ryoji Ikeda & Walter Jule Print Exhibit

November 7, 2013 – January 8, 2014
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

October 3, 2013

Ryoji Ikeda, Reflection of Foggy Ocean, 2013
Ryoji Ikeda,
Reflection of Foggy Ocean, 2013

Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada will present an exhibition in its Prince Takamado Gallery of artworks created by Ryoji Ikeda and Walter Jule from 1988 to 2013. The exhibition offers a unique cross-cultural view of the long careers of the two artists demonstrating how their work has progressed with their personal and mutual development. This will be their first joint exhibition.

Ryoji Ikeda is a professor of Printmaking at Musashino Art University. His dark, mysterious etchings address themes of time and memory. By utilizing boundaries in various shades and patterns, he attempts to reproduce infinite space. For Ikeda, the theme of 'non-existence and time' is quite observable in the Japanese tradition, and one's 'non-existence' is inseparable from darkness and death. He considers one's life is only described by his past history and the time flowing around it.

Both Ikeda and Jule are seen as pioneers in the field of printmaking and strong advocates for the integration of photography and photomechanical processes with traditional techniques. They also share many mutual conceptual concerns that can be seen in their artwork including the notions of time, light, being and non-being (life and death). They have known each other since 1985 and have collaborated on several major exhibition projects. They have also visited each other's schools for lectures and workshops.

Walter Jule, Turning the Wheel, 2011
Walter Jule,
Turning the Wheel, 2011

Ikeda's works are among collections at The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo and art galleries around the world. He was awarded the Purple Ribbon Medal (Shijuhoushou) by the Government of Japan in 2009 in recognition of his achievement as an international artist. He has visited the University of Alberta several times, as a visiting professor, a guest professor, and as an adjunct professor.

Walter Jule is a Professor Emeritus at the University of Alberta and has been inducted into the City of Edmonton Arts and Culture Hall of Fame. His work draws inspiration from Asian philosophy and deals with notions of transience, unseen forces and the universal law of cause and effect. His works are in the collection of the National Gallery of Canada and public collections around the world.


Details

Date: November 7, 2013 – January 8, 2014

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00
  • Closed on weekends, November 11, December 25, December 31 to January 3


Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

In cooperation with:
University of Alberta, Government of Alberta, Alberta Foundation for the Arts

Supported by: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-10-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado


Sur le seuil : Exposition de gravures de
Ryoji Ikeda et Walter Jule

Du 7 novembre 2013 au 8 janvier 2014
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 3 octobre 2013

Ryoji Ikeda, Reflection of Foggy Ocean, 2013
Ryoji Ikeda,
Reflection of Foggy Ocean, 2013

Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada présentera une exposition d'œuvres créées par Ryoji Ikeda et Walter Jule de 1988 à 2013 à sa Galerie Prince Takamado. L'exposition propose une perspective interculturelle unique de la longue carrière des deux artistes, illustrant comment leurs œuvres ont progressé au rythme de leur développement personnel et mutuel. Il s'agira de leur première exposition conjointe.

Ryoji Ikeda est professeur de gravure à l'Université des arts de Musashino. Sombres et mystérieuses, ses gravures explorent les thèmes du temps et de la mémoire. En utilisant des limites de nuances et motifs différents, il tente de reproduire l'espace infini. Pour Ikeda, le thème de la « non-existence et du temps » est parfaitement observable dans la tradition japonaise, et la non-existence d'une personne est indissociable de l'obscurité et de la mort. Selon lui, la vie d'une personne n'est décrite que par son passé et le temps qui s'écoule autour.

Ardents partisans de l'intégration de la photographie et des procédés photomécaniques aux techniques traditionnelles, Ikeda et Jule sont considérés comme des pionniers dans le domaine de la gravure. On peut observer dans leurs œuvres plusieurs préoccupations conceptuelles communes, y compris les notions de temps, de lumière, d'être et de non-être (vie et mort). Ils se connaissent depuis 1985 et ont collaboré à plusieurs projets d'exposition majeurs. Ils ont également effectué des visites réciproques de leur école respective pour participer à des conférences et des ateliers.

Walter Jule, Turning the Wheel, 2011
Walter Jule,
Turning the Wheel, 2011

Les œuvres d'Ikeda figurent parmi les collections du Musée National d'Art Moderne de Tokyo et de galeries d'art à travers le monde. Il a reçu la médaille au ruban pourpre (Shijuhoushou) du gouvernement japonais en 2009 en reconnaissance de ses réalisations sur la scène artistique internationale. Il a visité l'Université de l'Alberta à maintes reprises en tant que professeur invité et professeur auxiliaire.

Professeur émérite à l'Université de l'Alberta, Walter Jule a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des arts et de la culture de la ville d'Edmonton. Ses œuvres s'inspirent de la philosophie asiatique et abordent des thèmes tels que la fugacité de la vie, les forces invisibles et la loi universelle de cause à effet. Elles font partie de la collection du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et de collections publiques à travers le monde.


Détails

Date : Du 7 novembre 2013 au 8 janvier 2014

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, ainsi que le 11 novembre, le 25 décembre et du 31 décembre au 3 janvier


Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

En collaboration avec :
Université de l'Alberta, Gouvernement de l'Alberta, Alberta Foundation for the Arts

Soutenue par : Ministère des affaires étrangères du Japon

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-10-25