Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery


Naoki Ishikawa: POLAR

June 2 – July 30, 2014
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

May 8, 2014

Naoki Ishikawa: POLAR

Exhibition Announcement

To commemorate the 85th anniversary of Canada-Japan diplomatic relations as well as Canada's current status as Chair of the Arctic Council, the Embassy of Canada is pleased to present a selection of Arctic images by renowned photographer Naoki Ishikawa (J).

Since his late teens, Naoki Ishikawa has been travelling to the earth's far corners and has scaled the highest peaks on all seven continents. Photographs, to him, gradually became something far beyond travel records; they rose to the level of contemporary artworks.

While carrying on a series of presentations and activities to raise awareness of environmental and humanitarian issues, Ishikawa visited the Arctic in the year 2000 as part of the Pole to Pole 2000 Project, where he travelled from the North Pole to the South Pole in nine months. Since then he has returned to different parts of the Arctic on numerous occasions. The seven photographs (eight, starting June 18) on display have been selected from those previously exhibited and they portray, among other things, mountains of ice, dogsleds, and scenes from the daily life of the people of the North. Those who see them will be able to share Ishikawa's admiration and awe of the Arctic.

Born in Tokyo in 1977, Naoki Ishikawa is interested in anthropology and ethnology in addition to exploration of the unknown. He has published works dealing with the experiences of migration and travel. For The Void (published in 2006 by Knee High Media) he won both the Sagamihara Prize for Newcomer Professionals as well as the Jun Miki Award. For New Dimension and Polar (published in 2008 by AkaAkasha Art Publishing and Little More, respectively), he received the Photographic Society of Japan's Newcomer's Award and the Kodansha Publication Culture Award. For his work in 2009, which included Mt. Fuji and Vernacular (published by Little More and AkaAkasha Art Publishing, respectively), he was awarded the Higashikawa New Talent Prize. Vernacular includes photographs of the Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) in the Canadian Northwest and of the Arctic towns of Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk. Ishikawa also won the Domon Ken Award for Corona, a photographic portrayal of 21st-century reality across the vastly spread out islands of Polynesia.

This photo display will complement and run concurrently with the exhibition Dancing Walrus – Inuit Sculptures from the Collection of Their Imperial Highnesses Prince and Princess Takamado.

Ishikawa will speak as part of "Polar Wings: Exploring Canada's Arctic through Art and Film."


Details

Date: June 2 – July 30, 2014

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00
  • Closed on weekends and July 2


Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-06-09

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado


Naoki Ishikawa : POLAR

Du 2 juin au 30 juillet 2014
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 8 mai 2014

Naoki Ishikawa : POLAR

Annonce d'exposition

Pour commémorer le 85e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques Canada-Japon, ainsi que le statut actuel du Canada à titre de président du Conseil de l'Arctique, l'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une sélection d'images de l'Arctique du célèbre photographe Naoki Ishikawa (J).

Naoki Ishikawa parcourt le monde depuis la fin de son adolescence, voyageant aux quatres coins de la planète et escaladant les plus hauts sommets des sept continents. Pour lui, les photos sont progressivement devenues bien plus que de simples archives de voyage ; elles se sont élevées au rang d'œuvres d'art contemporaines.

C'est dans le cadre d'une série de présentations et d'activités de sensibilisation aux questions environnementales et humanitaires qu'Ishikawa s'est rendu en Arctique en 2000, traversant le globe du Pôle Nord au Pôle Sud en neuf mois à titre de participant au Pole to Pole 2000 Project. Il est retourné en Arctique à plusieurs reprises depuis, visitant différentes parties de la région. Sélectionnées parmi des œuvres précédemment exposées, les sept photos (huit, à partir du 18 juin) de l'exposition montrent, entre autres, des montagnes de glace, des traîneaux à chiens, et des scènes de la vie quotidienne des habitants du Nord. Ceux qui les verront seront en mesure de comprendre l'admiration et l'émerveillement qu'Ishikawa éprouve pour l'Arctique.

Né à Tokyo en 1977, Naoki Ishikawa s'intéresse à l'anthropologie et l'ethnologie, de même qu'à l'exploration de l'inconnu. Il a publié des ouvrages portant sur des expériences de migration et de voyage. Il a remporté le Prix Sagamihara pour les jeunes professionnels et le Prix Jun Miki pour The Void (publié en 2006 par Knee High Media), tandis qu'il a reçu le Prix du meilleur nouveau venu de la Société photographique japonaise et le Prix de la culture de Kodansha Publication pour New Dimension et Polar (publiés en 2008 par AkaAkasha Art Publishing et Little More respectivement). En 2009, son œuvre, qui incluait Mt. Fuji et Vernacular (publiés par Little More et AkaAkasha Art Publishing respectivement), lui a valu le Prix Higashikawa du meilleur jeune talent. Vernacular comprend des photos de Haida Gwaii (îles de la Reine-Charlotte) dans le Nord-Ouest canadien, ainsi que d'Inuvik et de Tuktoyaktuk, deux villages de l'Arctique. Il a également reçu le Prix Ken Domon pour Corona, qui capture la réalité actuelle de la Polynésie et toute son étendue.

La tenue de cette exposition de photos coïncidera avec celle du MORSE DANSANT – Sculptures inuites de la collection de Leurs Altesses Impériales le Prince et la Princesse Takamado, dont elle sera le complément.

Ishikawa prononcera un discours lors de « Ailes polaires : Exploration de l'Arctique canadien à travers l'art et le cinéma ».


Détails

Date : Du 2 juin au 30 juillet 2014

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, ainsi que le 2 juillet


Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-06-09