Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery


Interactions: A Canada-Japan Print Exhibition

August 6 – September 12, 2014
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

August 4, 2014

Hiroko Furuya, Tadayou-In, 2006
Hiroko Furuya,
Tadayou-In, 2006

Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada, in conjunction with "International Mokuhanga Conference 2014," is pleased to present an exhibition of woodblock prints (mokuhanga) by three Canadian artists and one artist from Japan.

This exhibition explores the traditional form of Japanese multi-colour woodblock print-making which developed in Japan during the Edo Period. Thanks to modern technology and availability of mokuhanga materials, the number of artists creating mokuhanga outside Japan has grown. Visitors to the Gallery will admire the variety of artistic expression as explored by these four contemporary artists with diverse backgrounds and approaches. The Canada-Japan thematic is also timely as the Embassy commemorates 85th years of diplomatic relations between our two countries.

To further promote exchanges between artists and the internationalization of mokuhanga, "International Mokuhanga Conference 2014" will host meetings for institutions with Artist in Residence programs. With that same goal in mind, the Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery will offer information about Artist in Residence programs in Canada during the exhibition.

Danielle O'Connor Akiyama, ...a glimpse, 2013
Danielle O'Connor Akiyama,
...a glimpse, 2013


About the artists:

Elizabeth Forrest graduated from Ontario College of Art and taught there before coming to Kyoto to study mokuhanga in 1988. She later established her own studio in Toronto where, among other things, she teaches mokuhanga. She will be presenting a paper at International Mokuhanga Conference 2014.

Danielle O'Connor Akiyama, also based in Toronto, is a painter incorporating techniques from Japanese sumie. Her works are based mainly on floral motifs. Brenda Petays teaches visual arts at Camosun College in British Columbia. Working in the fields of drawing, photography and performance, she explores identity and memory in subjective, social and political environments.

Akiyama and Petays were both Artists in Residence at Lake Kawaguchi Mokuhanga Innovation Laboratory, where they learned mokuhanga techniques. Hiroko Furuya is a mainstream mokuhanga artist in Japan whose works on the theme of fragments of memory have been presented nationally and internationally and have won many awards. She is involved in training the next generation as a Professor at Tama Art University.


Details

Date: August 6 – September 12, 2014

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00 (till 17:30 on August 13 and 20)
  • Closed on weekends


Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-08-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado


Interactions : Une exposition de gravures Canada-Japon

Du 6 août au 12 septembre 2014
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 4 août 2014

Hiroko Furuya, Tadayou-In, 2006
Hiroko Furuya,
Tadayou-In, 2006

Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une exposition de gravures sur bois (mokuhanga) de trois artistes canadiennes et d'une artiste du Japon en collaboration avec la « Conférence internationale sur le Mokuhanga 2014 (J/E) ».

Cette exposition explore la forme traditionnelle de gravure sur bois multicolore qui s'est développée au Japon durant l'ère Edo. Grâce à la technologie moderne et la disponibilité des matériaux, le nombre d'artistes qui créent des œuvres de mokuhanga à l'extérieur du Japon s'est accru. Les visiteurs de la galerie pourront admirer la diversité de l'expression artistique de ces quatre artistes contemporaines d'approches et d'horizons variés. La thématique Canada-Japon tombe également à point puisque l'Ambassade commémore le 85e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre nos deux pays.

Espérant promouvoir plus d'échanges entre artistes et l'internationalisation du mokuhanga, la « Conférence internationale sur le Mokuhanga 2014 » organisera des rencontres à l'intention d'établissements dotés de programmes d'artiste en résidence. Motivée par le même objectif, la Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada offrira des informations sur les programmes d'artiste en résidence au Canada au cours de l'exposition.

Danielle O'Connor Akiyama, ...a glimpse, 2013
Danielle O'Connor Akiyama,
...a glimpse, 2013


À propos des artistes :

Elizabeth Forrest est diplômée de l'Ontario College of Art où elle a enseigné avant de se rendre à Kyoto pour y étudier le mokuhanga en 1988. Elle a ensuite fondé son propre studio à Toronto, où, entre autres, elle enseigne le mokuhanga. Elle présentera un exposé à la Conférence internationale sur le Mokuhanga 2014.

Également basée à Toronto, Danielle O'Connor Akiyama est une peintre intégrant des techniques de sumie japonais dont les œuvres sont principalement fondées sur des motifs floraux. Brenda Petays enseigne les arts visuels au Collège Camosun en Colombie-Britannique. Travaillant dans le domaine du dessin, de la photographie et de la performance, elle explore l'identité et la mémoire dans des environnements subjectifs, sociaux et politiques.

Akiyama et Petays furent toutes deux artistes en résidence au Lake Kawaguchi Mokuhanga Innovation Laboratory, où elles apprirent les techniques de mokuhanga. S'inscrivant dans le courant principal de mokuhanga au Japon, Hiroko Furuya est une artiste dont les oeuvres sur le thème des fragments de mémoire ont été présentées aussi bien sur la scène nationale qu'internationale, remportant de nombreux prix. Elle contribue à former la prochaine génération d'artistes à titre de professeure à l'Université des arts de Tama.


Détails

Date : Du 6 août au 12 septembre 2014

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi (à 17h30 les 13 et 20 août)
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine


Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-08-06