Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery


Narrative Quest: Contemporary Canadian Aboriginal Art

December 3, 2014 – February 27, 2015
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

November 5, 2014

Dale Auger, Caller of Blue Medicine Lodge, 2000
Dale Auger
Caller of Blue Medicine Lodge, 2000

Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada is pleased to collaborate with the Alberta Foundation for the Arts on Narrative Quest, a contemporary Canadian aboriginal art exhibition featuring First Nations artists from Alberta.

Narrative Quest features a selection of artworks by 12 aboriginal artists from the collection of the Alberta Foundation for the Arts and showcases a variety of traditional and contemporary styles, from photo-based artwork to acrylic paintings.

The prevalent theme in these artworks is storytelling including stories that have been shared by the elders, stories of a search for understanding and meaning, stories of identity and belonging, and stories retold to preserve a threatened culture. Much of the artwork relates stories immersed in the past, reflective of the present and hopeful for the future.

This unique exhibit, specifically curated with Japanese visitors in mind, will feature works from the following artists: Dale Auger, Bruno Canadien, Joane Cardinal-Schubert, David Garneau, Tanya Harnett, Terrance Houle, Alex Janvier, Brenda Jones-Smith, George Littlechild, Terry McCue, Frederick McDonald, and Jane Ash Poitras. Narrative Quest is the final Prince Takamado Gallery exhibit during the year-long 85th anniversary of Canada-Japan diplomatic relations.


About the Alberta Foundation of the Arts

The Alberta Foundation for the Arts (AFA) manages this collection on behalf of the people of the Province of Alberta. This treasure consists of over 8,500 artworks, showcasing the creative talents of more than 1,700 artists. Artworks are acquired for the collection through juried submission, curatorial purchase and donation.

As the only provincial art collection in Alberta, the AFA collection reflects the development of the vibrant visual arts community in the province and has become an important cultural legacy for all Albertans.


Details

Date: December 3, 2014 – February 27, 2015

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00 (10:00-17:30 on December 24 and 31)
  • Closed on weekends, December 25 – 26, January 1 – 2 and February 11


Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-11-14

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado


En quête de récits : Art autochtone canadien contemporain

Du 3 décembre 2014 au 27 février 2015
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 5 novembre 2014

Dale Auger, Caller of Blue Medicine Lodge, 2000
Dale Auger
Caller of Blue Medicine Lodge, 2000

Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de collaborer avec la Fondation pour les arts de l'Alberta pour présenter En quête de récits, une exposition d'art autochtone canadien contemporain mettant en relief des artistes des Premières nations de l'Alberta.

En quête de récits présente une sélection d'œuvres de 12 artistes autochtones issues de la collection de la Fondation pour les arts de l'Alberta (E) et met en relief une variété de styles traditionnels et contemporains, allant d'œuvres réalisées à partir de photos à des tableaux à l'acrylique.

Qu'il s'agisse de récits transmis par les anciens, de récits de quête de compréhension et de sens, de récits d'identité et d'appartenance ou de récits racontés pour préserver une culture menacée, le récit est au cœur de ces œuvres. Une part importante des œuvres racontent des histoires imprégnées du passé, tout en reflétant le présent et offrant de l'espoir quant au futur.

Cette exposition unique, spécifiquement conçue pour le public japonais, mettra en relief des œuvres des artistes suivants : Dale Auger, Bruno Canadien, Joane Cardinal-Schubert, David Garneau, Tanya Harnett, Terrance Houle, Alex Janvier, Brenda Jones-Smith, George Littlechild, Terry McCue, Frederick McDonald et Jane Ash Poitras. En quête de récits est la dernière exposition présentée à la Galerie Prince Takamado dans le cadre du 85e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Japon.


À propos de la Fondation pour les arts de l'Alberta

La Fondation pour les arts de l'Alberta gère cette collection au nom du peuple albertain. Ce trésor culturel est constitué de plus de 8,500 œuvres d'art mettant en relief les talents créatifs de plus de 1,700 artistes. Les œuvres de la collection sont acquises par le biais de soumissions à des jurys, d'achats effectués par des conservateurs et de dons.

En tant que seule collection d'art provinciale en Alberta, la collection de la fondation reflète le développement de la communauté dynamique des arts visuels de la province et est devenue un élément important du patrimoine culturel de tous les Albertains.


Détails

Date : Du 3 décembre 2014 au 27 février 2015

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi (de 10h00 à 17h30 les 24 et 31 décembre)
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, ainsi que les 25 et 26 décembre, les 1er et 2 janvier et le 11 février


Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-11-14