Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery


Eidolon Point: David Trautrimas

March 18 – May 5, 2015
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

February 20, 2015

Cause of The Secret II
Cause of The Secret II

Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada is pleased to present "Eidolon Point," an exhibition of recent sculptural and photo-based works by Canadian artist, David Trautrimas.

The exhibition includes two bodies of work which explore the afterlives of abandoned or destroyed architecture and manmade structures.

One Empire Wide

The series of sculptural works resurrects icons of the Canadian past by reinterpreting discarded Canadiana as architectural models of ice fishing huts. Cultural and social fragments from defunct government commissions, abandoned corporate branding, outdated military technology and disposable fast food containers have been reborn in delicate constructions using precious materials including Japanese paper as seasonal structures which are themselves icons of the wintery north.

Dispersals

Generated from photographs of urban ruins in Detroit and inspired by visits to the Ishinomaki disaster area, the second body of work expresses how the post-Tsunami Japanese landscape and the North American industrial ghost town share in a state of aftermath. These photo-based interpretations of languishing monuments are created through spontaneous digital processing; each step further removes the image from its source material as it approaches abstraction, symbolically contemplating the spirit of architecture as it depreciates into an imagined afterlife.

By combining digital prototyping processes with traditional fabrication methods, Toronto-based David Trautrimas continues to explore new territory in his practice. Focusing on themes relating to architecture, Trautrimas uses everyday objects and cultural artifacts to explore urban living and industrialization, do-it-yourself buildings and the afterlife of architecture. His work has appeared in both group and solo exhibitions around the world, including the Museum of Canadian Contemporary Art (Toronto), the Korean Arts Centre (Seoul), photo-eye Gallery (Santa-Fe) and Klompching Gallery (Brooklyn).


Details

Date: March 18 – May 5, 2015

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00
  • Closed on weekends, April 3, 6 and May 4


Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-02-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado


Point Eidolon : David Trautrimas

Du 18 mars au 5 mai 2015
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 20 février 2015

Cause of The Secret II
Cause of The Secret II

Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une exposition d'œuvres sculpturales et d'œuvres réalisées à partir de photos produites récemment par l'artiste canadien David Trautrimas.

Intitulée Point Eidolon, l'exposition consiste en deux séries d'œuvres qui explorent les vies posthumes de structures architecturales abandonnées ou détruites et de structures artificielles.

One Empire Wide

La série d'œuvres sculpturales ressuscite des icônes du passé canadien et leur insuffle une nouvelle vie en réinterprétant des vestiges du patrimoine canadien sous forme de maquettes de cabanes à pêche sur glace. Des fragments culturels et sociaux de défuntes commissions gouvernementales, de marques d'entreprise abandonnées, de technologies militaires désuètes et de contenants jetables d'établissements de restauration rapide renaissent en tant que constructions délicates utilisant des matériaux précieux pour bâtir des structures saisonnières qui constituent elles-mêmes des icônes des hivers nordiques. Certaines œuvres de cette série utilisent du papier japonais.

Dispersals

Réalisée à partir de photos des ruines urbaines de Detroit et inspirée de visites de la zone sinistrée d'Ishinomaki, la deuxième série illustre la façon dont le paysage post-tsunami japonais et Detroit, fantôme de l'Amérique du Nord industrielle, se retrouvent tous les deux dans un état post-événementiel. Ces interprétations, réalisées à partir de photos de monuments en décrépitude, sont créées par traitement numérique spontané; chaque étape éloigne davantage l'image de sa source et s'approche de l'abstraction, contemplant symboliquement l'esprit de la structure architecturale à mesure qu'elle progresse vers un au-delà imaginaire au fil de sa dégradation.

En combinant les processus de prototypage numérique aux méthodes traditionnelles de fabrication, l'artiste torontois David Trautrimas continue d'explorer de nouveaux territoires. Mettant l'accent sur des thèmes relatifs à l'architecture, Trautrimas utilise des objets de tous les jours et des artéfacts culturels pour explorer la vie urbaine et l'industrialisation, des bâtiments construits de manière autonome et la vie posthume des structures architecturales. Ses œuvres ont été présentées dans le cadre d'expositions solos et collectives à travers le monde, y compris au Musée d'art contemporain canadien (Toronto), au Centre des Arts de Corée (Séoul), photo-eye Gallery (Santa-Fe), et à la galerie KlompChing (Brooklyn).


Détails

Date : Du 18 mars au 5 mai 2015

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, ainsi que les 3 et 6 avril et 4 mai


Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-02-20