Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery

Turn and Return

November 27, 2015 – January 28, 2016
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

October 28, 2015

Turn and Return


Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada is pleased to present an exhibition featuring three artists, two from Canada and one from Japan exploring paper as a material and a metaphor in its Prince Takamado Gallery. Paper as a support for writing and painting and as an integral element in architecture in Japan is a material rich in history, linking nature and culture.

Be it with her pencils or sewing machine, Sarah Bertrand-Hamel draws. Based in Montreal, her research has led her to make her own paper. Fascinated by impermanence and singularity, the artist creates images that she repeats and reinterprets, fragments and recomposes. In following the transitions and the shifts between the images, she makes time visible.

Work created by Karen Trask based in Montreal has developed as a series of poetic investigations of human experience using language. She explores word meanings and narrative formats and the link between the written word and paper through spinning and weaving. The repetitive gestures inherent in these techniques make time palpable in her work.

Tokyo-based, Tsuguo Yanai's recent work invites the viewer to consider the idea of borders between races and religions, self and others, humans and nature, body and mind. It informs our understanding of the permeability and interconnections between the inside and the outside.

Turn and Return highlights the surprising versatile and enduring potential of paper to make and to reflect the world. Bertrand-Hamel proposes a series of water colours, a drawing on handmade paper and a sewn photograph referring to the water colours. Trask presents video inspired by paper and a series of weavings of printed paper and paper threads spun from dictionary pages. Yanai offers a series of cast-paper sculptural works exploring the memory of the source of paper and a return in time towards that source – the tree. What was inside is now outside and vice versa. The tree as metaphor is omni-present throughout the exhibition. All three artists make work that is created fragment-by-fragment, section-by-section, and moment-by-moment. Turn and Return proposes artmaking as cycles of integrating, disintegrating and re-integrating - an on-going process that is at once: life and death.

Details

Date: November 27, 2015 – January 28, 2016

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00 (10:00-17:30 on December 23)
  • Closed on weekends, December 25 – January 1 and January 11

Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

N.B.: Visitor access to the Embassy of Canada requires photo identification.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-12-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado

Faire et refaire

Du 27 novembre 2015 au 28 janvier 2016
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 28 octobre 2015

Faire et refaire


Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une exposition réunissant trois artistes qui explorent le papier comme matière et comme métaphore à sa Galerie Prince Takamado.

Basée à Montréal, Sarah Bertrand-Hamel dessine et fabrique des papiers, que souvent elle assemble en les cousant. Fascinée par l'impermanence et la singularité, elle crée des images qu'elle répète, réinterprète, fragmente et recompose. Elle s'intéresse à la transition, au passage, au glissement entre ces images. Elle trace le changement, rendant visible le temps.

Karen Trask, également basée à Montréal, a développé une série d'investigations poétiques sur l'expérience humaine en utilisant le langage. Par le biais du filage et du tissage, elle explore la signification des mots et des formes narratives, de même que le lien entre l'écrit et le papier.

Les dernières œuvres du Tokyoïte Tsuguo Yanai invitent les visiteurs à examiner l'idée de frontières entre soi et les autres, entre les humains et la nature, puis entre le corps et l'esprit. Cette idée contribue à notre compréhension de la perméabilité et des interconnexions entre l'intérieur et l'extérieur.

Faire et refaire met en relief le potentiel étonnamment polyvalent et constamment renouvelé du papier. Bertrand-Hamel présente une série d'aquarelles, un dessin sur papier fait main et une photographie cousue qui met en scène le travail à l'aquarelle. Trask présente des vidéos inspirées du papier ainsi que des tissages de papier imprimé et de fil de papier fabriqué à partir de pages de dictionnaires. Dans les grandes sculptures de troncs d'arbre en papier moulé de Yanai et dans ses énormes murales d'empreintes d'écorce, le temps décrit de grands arcs, oscillant du dehors au dedans et inversement. Rappelant l'origine matérielle du papier, l'arbre comme métaphore est omniprésent dans l'exposition. Les trois artistes créent des œuvres fragment par fragment, section par section. Faire et refaire évoque l'idée que la création artistique est faite de cycles d'intégration, de désintégration et de réintégration – un processus continu qui est la fois celui de la vie et de la mort.

Détails

Date : Du 27 novembre 2015 au 28 janvier 2016

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi (de 10h00 à 17h30 le 23 décembre)
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine,  ainsi que le 25 décembre – 1er janvier et 11 janvier

Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

N.B. : Les visiteurs doivent présenter une carte d'identité avec photo pour avoir accès à l'Ambassade du Canada.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-12-04