Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery

Across Borders: Naoki Ishikawa

March 3 – June 30, 2016
Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

February 2, 2016

Across Borders: Naoki Ishikawa


Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada is pleased to present a photographic exhibition by Naoki Ishikawa, featuring his photos of Alberta and Hokkaido.

Hokkaido and Alberta became sister prefecture and province in 1980 and this touring exhibition was organised to celebrate the 35th anniversary of the relationship. Having opened at the Royal Alberta Museum last October, it then moved to the Hokkaido Museum in November. We now have the privilege of showing the exhibit at the Prince Takamado Gallery as the final portion of the tour.

Alberta and Hokkaido have many similarities including climate, topography, and the presence of indigenous peoples. Naoki Ishikawa offers a contemporary perspective on the shared and distinct aspects of the two places by employing an insightful, artistic approach to photography, which he acquired through travel to the earth's far corners including the Arctic and the highest peaks of seven continents. Viewers will discover for themselves the commonalities between Alberta and Hokkaido, and more broadly between Canada and Japan.

Born in Tokyo in 1977, Naoki Ishikawa is interested in anthropology and ethnology in addition to exploration of the unknown. He has published works on the experiences of migration and travel. For The Void (published by Knee High Media) he won both the Sagamihara Prize for Newcomer Professionals and the Jun Miki Award, in 2006. For New Dimension and Polar (published by Akaakasha and Little More, respectively), he received the Photographic Society of Japan's Newcomer's Award and the Kodansha Publication Culture Award, in 2008. For his work in 2009, which included Mt. Fuji and Vernacular (published by Little More and AkaAkasha, respectively), he received the Higashikawa Award for "Best New Photographer." Vernacular includes photographs of the Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) in the Canadian Northwest and of the Arctic towns of Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk. Ishikawa also won the Domon Ken Award for Corona, a photographic portrayal of reality across the widely scattered islands of Polynesia.

Details

Date: March 3 – June 30, 2016

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Wednesdays 10:00-20:00
  • Closed on weekends, and March 25 and March 28

Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6257
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

In cooperation with: Government of Alberta, Hokkaido Museum

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

N.B.: Visitor access to the Embassy of Canada requires photo identification.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-02

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado

À travers les frontières : Naoki Ishikawa

Du 3 mars au 30 juin 2016
Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 2 février 2016

À travers les frontières : Naoki Ishikawa


Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une exposition photographique de Naoki Ishikawa mettant en relief ses photos de l'Alberta et de Hokkaido.

Le jumelage de Hokkaido et de l'Alberta a été établi en 1980. Organisée pour célébrer le 35e anniversaire de la relation, cette exposition itinérante a été inaugurée au Musée royal de l'Alberta en octobre dernier et ensuite été présentée au Musée de Hokkaido en novembre. Cette présentation à la Galerie Prince Takamado marque la fin de sa tournée.

L'Alberta et Hokkaido présentent de nombreuses similitudes, y compris en ce qui concerne le climat, la topographie et la présence de peuples autochtones. Naoki Ishikawa offre une perspective contemporaine sur les aspects communs et distincts des deux endroits en utilisant une approche perspicace et artistique à la photographie acquise à travers ses voyages aux quatre coins de la planète, y compris en Arctique et aux plus hauts sommets des sept continents. Les visiteurs pourront découvrir eux-mêmes les points communs entre l'Alberta et Hokkaido, et, plus généralement, entre le Canada et le Japon.

Né à Tokyo en 1977, Naoki Ishikawa s'intéresse à l'anthropologie et l'ethnologie, en plus de l'exploration de l'inconnu. Il a publié des ouvrages sur des expériences de migration et de voyage. Pour The Void (publié par Knee High Media), il a remporté le Prix Sagamihara, décerné aux jeunes professionnels, ainsi que le Prix Jun Miki en 2006. Pour New Dimension et Polar (publiés par Akaakasha et Little More, respectivement), il a reçu le prix attribué aux nouveaux venus par la Société photographique japonaise et le Prix de la culture de Kodansha Publication en 2008. Pour ses œuvres en 2009, qui incluaient Mt. Fuji et Vernacular (publiés par Little More et Akaakasha, respectivement), il a reçu le Prix Higashikawa du « meilleur nouveau photographe ». Vernacular comprend des photos de Haida Gwaii (îles de la Reine-Charlotte) dans le Nord-Ouest canadien et d'Inuvik et Tuktoyaktuk, deux villages de l'Arctique. Ishikawa a également remporté le Prix Ken Domon pour Corona, un portrait photographique de la réalité des îles dispersées de la Polynésie.

Détails

Date : Du 3 mars au 30 juin 2016

  • De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi
  • De 10h00 à 20h00 le mercredi
  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, ainsi que les 25 et 28 mars

Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6257
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

En collaboration avec : Le gouvernement de l'Alberta, le Musée de Hokkaido

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

N.B. : Les visiteurs doivent présenter une carte d'identité avec photo pour avoir accès à l'Ambassade du Canada.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-02-02