Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery

25 Years! – A Celebration of our Chancery

July 7 – November 18, 2016

Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

June 9, 2016

Embassy of Canada


Exhibition Announcement

The Embassy of Canada in Japan is presenting a special exhibition in its Prince Takamado Gallery to mark the 25th anniversary of the present chancery (Embassy building).

The first chancery of the Canadian Legation in Tokyo was erected in 1929. Owing to the expansion and diversification of Canada-Japan relations following World War II, the Canadian government decided in 1984 to replace the old chancery with a new, larger facility. The design team that was formed included, among others, Japan's Shimizu Corporation, Canadian architect Raymond Moriyama, and designers and engineers from Canada's private sector as well as the Department of External Affairs (current Global Affairs Canada). While carefully considering security issues, harmony with the surrounding environment, and Japanese building standards, they used their ingenuity to produce a building with the greatest possible feeling of openness. The opening ceremony was held on May 27, 1991 with distinguished guests from Canada and Japan.

This exhibition will feature blueprints, building plans, photographs of both the old and new chanceries including the construction phase of the current chancery, scale models of the new building, and other relevant artifacts.

The Embassy of Canada's facilities have hosted a diverse array of events over the past 25 years, furnishing countless opportunities for the people of our two countries to meet and further strengthen the friendly relations between Canada and Japan. The chancery, one of Canada's finest, is a symbol of the importance placed on its relationship with Japan. This exhibition will offer an opportunity to go back to the beginning and reflect once more on the strong ties that link our two countries.

The Embassy of Canada welcomes you to extend your visit to the gallery with a self-guided tour of its art-inspired public spaces. Please ask for a visitor guide at the reception desk. During your tour, in addition to the Prince Takamado Gallery, you will see Canada Garden and the E.H. Norman Library.

Details

Date:July 7 – November 18, 2016

  • Weekdays 10:00-17:30
  • Closed on weekends,
    October 10 and November 11

Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6391
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

N.B.: Visitor access to the Embassy of Canada requires photo identification.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-10-28

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado

25 ans! – Une célébration de notre chancellerie

Du 7 juillet au 18 novembre 2016

Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada

le 9 juin  2016

Ambassade du Canada


Annonce d'exposition

L'Ambassade du Canada au Japon présente une exposition spéciale à sa Galerie Prince Takamado pour marquer le 25e anniversaire de la chancellerie actuelle (édifice de l'Ambassade).

La première chancellerie de la légation canadienne à Tokyo a été érigée en 1929. En raison de l'expansion et de la diversification des relations entre le Canada et le Japon après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le gouvernement canadien a décidé en 1984 de remplacer l'ancienne chancellerie par de nouvelles installations de plus grande envergure. L'équipe de conception qui fut alors formée incluait, entre autres, la firme japonaise Shimizu Corporation, l'architecte canadien Raymond Moriyama, des concepteurs et des ingénieurs du secteur privé canadien, ainsi que le ministère des Affaires extérieures (devenu Affaires mondiales Canada). Tout en considérant les questions de sécurité, l'harmonie avec l'environnement et la réglementation japonaise en matière de construction, l'équipe de conception a su faire preuve d'ingéniosité pour produire un bâtiment offrant la plus grande sensation d'ouverture possible. La cérémonie d'ouverture s'est déroulée le 27 mai 1991 en présence d'invités de marque du Canada et du Japon.

L'exposition mettra en relief des dessins, des plans de construction, des photos de l'ancienne et de la nouvelle chancellerie, y compris de la phase de construction de la chancellerie actuelle, des maquettes du nouveau bâtiment, et d'autres articles pertinents.

Les installations de l'Ambassade du Canada ont accueilli une vaste gamme d'événements au cours des 25 dernières années, offrant d'innombrables occasions aux peuples de nos deux pays de se rencontrer et de renforcer les liens d'amitié entre le Canada et le Japon. La chancellerie, une des plus belles du Canada, est un symbole de l'importance que le Canada accorde à ses relations avec le Japon. L'exposition nous fournira l'occasion de faire un retour en arrière, aux débuts de la chancellerie, et de méditer de nouveau sur les liens étroits qui unissent nos deux pays.

L'Ambassade du Canada vous invite à prolonger votre visite de la galerie en effectuant une visite autoguidée de ses espaces publics d'inspiration artistique. Veuillez demander un guide des visiteurs à la réception. Outre la Galerie Prince Takamado, vous pourrez voir le jardin du Canada et la Bibliothèque E.H. Norman au cours de votre visite.


Détails

Date : Du 7 juillet au 18 novembre 2016

De 10h00 à 17h30 du lundi au vendredi

  • Fermée durant la fin de semaine, 
    le 10 octobre et le 11 novembre

Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l'Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Tél. : 03-5412-6391
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact médias : Tél. : 03-5412-6444

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

N.B. : Les visiteurs doivent présenter une carte d'identité avec photo pour avoir accès à l'Ambassade du Canada.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-10-28