Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

“Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration” exhibition unveiled at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo

Visitors view Inuit Prints
Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration Exhibition

   
Inuit Print, Stonecut rubbing
Man Carried to the Moon, 1959
Kellypalik Mungitok (1940- ), printed by Kananginak Pootoogook (1935-2010)
Cape Dorset, Canada
Stonecut rubbing
CMC, CD 1959-024 SR

 

In 1959, the small community of Cape Dorset in the Canadian Arctic was introduced to the ancient traditions of Japanese printmaking by James Houston, a Canadian artist who studied in Japan with Un’ichi Hiratsuka, one of the world’s leading masters of the art.  

Upon his return to the Arctic, Houston shared his knowledge and his collection of Japanese prints with the fledgling printmakers of Cape Dorset. The art of Inuit printmaking flourished, becoming a major source of income for the Inuit.

The Embassy of Canada in Tokyo proudly hosted an opening ceremony, a preview and a reception of the exhibition “Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration”.

The exhibition, produced by the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, celebrates the birth of Inuit printmaking more than fifty years ago, and its little-known connection to Japan.

Over 120 guests attended the event, including Dr. Victor Rabinovitch, President and CEO of the Canadian Museum of Civilization, Mr. Qiatsuq Niviaqsi and Mr. Cee Pootoogook, Inuit printmakers from Cape Dorset, and Mrs. Alice Houston.

Well-known for her intimate knowledge of Inuit culture and art, HIH Princess Takamado was given a guided tour of the exhibition by Ambassador Jonathan T. Fried, Dr. Rabinovitch, and Dr. Norman Vorano, Curator of Contemporary Inuit Art at the Canadian Museum of Civilization.

The exhibition comprises original works of art, including some of the rarest and earliest Cape Dorset prints and the actual Japanese prints that were brought to Cape Dorset in 1959, inspiring the Inuit artists.

This exhibition tells a much different story than the one commonly associated with Inuit art, which is a romantic story about faraway people living in an enclaved, remote world. The complex connectivity that unites Japanese and Inuit printmakers is a story about globalization, cultural translation, travel and modernity — characteristics that define our present age.

Visitors view Inuit Prints
Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration Exhibition
   
Inuit Artists with curatorial staff
Inuit Artists with curatorial staff 
   

By juxtaposing Canadian and Japanese works, the exhibition tells a remarkable story of creativity, invention, cultural sharing and adaptation.

Among the many highlights are rare Inuit stonecut rubbings, powerful black-and-white stonecut prints created by Inuit artists who were inspired by Hiratsuka, and stencil prints created by Inuit artists inspired by the Japanese kappazuri technique.

The exhibition also features a display of a stonecut print block and early printmaking tools that Cape Dorset artists created and used in the late 1950s, modeling them after the Japanese tools Houston introduced to the community.

Due to significant media coverage, the Embassy has been experiencing a very high number of visitors to the exhibition, most of whom are being exposed to Inuit prints and art for the first time. Many have been deeply moved by the artistic expressions of the Inuit people and the exhibition itself. A Japanese paper exporter and a curator have expressed interest in bringing the exhibition back to Japan in the future.

The exhibition ends March 15.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

L’exposition « Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise » dévoilée à l’ambassade du Canada à Tokyo

Visiteurs voir le Gravures inuites
Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise

   
Impressions par frottage sur pierre
Homme transporté sur la lune, 1959
Kellypalik Mungitok (1940- ), gravé par Kananginak Pootoogook (1935-2010)
Cape Dorset, Canada
Impressions par frottage sur pierre
MCC, CD 1959-004 SC

   

En 1959, la petite collectivité de Cape Dorset dans l’Arctique canadien a été initiée aux traditions anciennes de la gravure japonaise par James Houston, artiste canadien qui a étudié au Japon avec Un’ichi Hiratsuka, un des grands maîtres de l’art.

Dès son retour en Arctique, M. Houston a partagé ce qu’il avait appris et sa collection de gravures japonaises avec les graveurs à leurs débuts de Cape Dorset. L’art de la gravure inuite a connu un essor et est devenu une importante source de revenus pour les Inuits.

L’Ambassade du Canada à Tokyo a fièrement animé une cérémonie d’ouverture, une avant-première et une réception pendant l’exposition « Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise ».

L’exposition, qui a été produite par le Musée canadien des civilisations à Gatineau, souligne la naissance de la gravure inuite il y a plus de 50 ans et son lien peu connu avec le Japon.

Plus de 120 invités ont participé à l’événement, y compris M. Victor Rabinovitch, président et PDG du Musée canadien des civilisations, M. Qiatsuq Niviaqsi et M. Cee Pootoogook, graveurs inuits de Cape Dorset et Mme Alice Houston.

Réputée pour sa connaissance approfondie de la culture et de l’art inuits, Son Altesse Impériale la Princesse Takamado a eu droit à une visite guidée de l’exposition de la part de l’ambassadeur Jonathan T. Fried, M. Rabinovitch et M. Norman Vorano, conservateur d’art inuit contemporain au Musée canadien des civilisations.

L’exposition compte des œuvres d’art originales, y compris quelques-unes des gravures les plus rares et les plus anciennes de Cape Dorset et les gravures d’origine apportées à Cape Dorset en 1959 et qui ont inspiré les artistes inuits.

Cette exposition offre un récit bien différent de celui qu’on associe habituellement à l’art inuit, soit une histoire romantique au sujet de gens d’une région fort reculée habitant un monde clos et retiré.

Le lien complexe qui unit les Japonais et les graveurs inuits est un récit de mondialisation, de traduction culturelle, de voyages et de modernité — caractéristiques qui définissent notre époque.

En juxtaposant les œuvres canadiennes et japonaises, l’exposition offre un récit remarquable de l’esprit créateur, de l’invention, du partage culturel et de l’adaptation.

Visiteurs voir le Gravures inuites
Exposition « Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise »
   
Artistes inuits avec l'équipe de l'unité de conservation
Artistes inuits avec l'équipe de l'unité de conservation 
   

Parmi les nombreux articles d’intérêt citons de rares impressions par frottage sur pierre inuites, de saisissantes impressions obtenues par frottage sur pierre, en noir et blanc, créées par des artistes inuits qui ont été inspirés par Hiratsuka et des impressions au pochoir par des artistes inuits inspirés de la technique japonaise du kappazuri.

L’exposition compte également un bloc de gravure sur pierre et des outils de gravure des tout débuts que les artistes de Cape Dorset ont créé et utilisé à la fin des années 1950, en s’inspirant des outils japonais que M. Houston avait apportés dans la collectivité.

En raison d’une importante couverture médiatique, l’ambassade a accueilli un nombre très important de visiteurs à l’exposition, dont la plupart sont exposés pour la première fois aux gravures et à l’art inuits. De nombreux visiteurs ont été émus par les expressions artistiques des Inuits et par l’exposition même. Un exportateur de papier japonais et un curateur se sont dits intéressés à rapatrier l’exposition au Japon à une date ultérieure.

L’exposition prend fin le 15 mars.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-07