Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. News and Events
  4. >
  5. Media Room


Study in Canada project for youth affected by the Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami

Hope for Youth/Espoir pour la jeunesse


Embassy of Canada & Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited

July 21, 2011

News Release

To celebrate the 80th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Canada and Japan in 2009, the Embassy of Canada inaugurated a number of educational programs, one of which awarded scholarships to help 80 Japanese students to study in Canada. The success of the program led to its extension in 2010, re-emerging as the "Canada-Japan Leadership Fund" with the objective of training young people to become future bridges between the two countries.

Following the tragic events of March 11, 2011, a special category was proposed by the Embassy of Canada under the auspices of the Canada-Japan Leadership Fund to assist youth affected by the earthquake and tsunami. Today, through the generous financial contribution from Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited, in-kind contributions from Languages Canada (an accredited association of language schools), and the cooperation of Air Canada, we are launching the Hope for Youth project.

By enabling young people from the quake-affected areas to study in Canada, Hope for Youth aims to nurture globally minded citizens who will lead in the rebuilding of their communities and give hope and courage to Japan as it continues to play a leading role in the world. Through this project, 150 young people (ages 15 through 30) affected by the disaster will receive round-trip air transportation, one-month of language training, accommodation in a home or dormitory, and traveller's insurance – all free of charge.*

Applications will be accepted beginning July 22 via the Embassy of Canada's official website, and travel to Canada will commence October 10, 2011. Language courses and accommodation will be offered by 21 member schools of Languages Canada, and traveller's insurance will be offered by Guard.me, an insurance company affiliated with Languages Canada. Special fares offered by Air Canada will be purchased thanks to a special contribution of 15 million yen from Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited, a key sponsor of the project. Mr. Kazumasa Terada, President of Samantha Thavasa, studied in Canada and attributes the start of his business to his experience in Canada. Mr. Terada is also a founding sponsor of the Canada-Japan Leadership Fund.

*Round-trip airfare, language courses, and accommodation are available for 150 participants. Conditions of placements vary. Please see program information for details.


Information

Embassy of Canada – Public Affairs Section
(03) 5412-6444

Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited – Press Group
(03) 5412-8198

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-08-02

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nouvelles et activités
  4. >
  5. Salle des médias


Projet d'études au Canada pour les jeunes affectés par le Grand séisme et le tsunami de l'Est du Japon

Espoir pour la jeunesse/Hope for Youth


Ambassade du Canada & Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited

21 juillet 2011

Communiqué de presse

Pour célébrer le 80e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Japon en 2009, l'ambassade du Canada a inauguré quelques programmes éducationnels, dont un décernait des bourses pour aider 80 étudiants japonais à étudier au Canada. Le succès du programme a conduit à sa prolongation en 2010, sous le titre de « Fonds de leadership Canada-Japon, » dont l'objectif est de former des jeunes qui sauront faire le pont entre les deux pays à l'avenir.

Suite aux événements tragiques du 11 mars 2011, une catégorie spéciale sous les auspices du Fonds de leadership Canada-Japon a été proposée par l'ambassade du Canada pour aider les jeunes touchés par le séisme et le tsunami. Aujourd'hui, grâce à la généreuse contribution financière de Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited, les contributions en nature de Langues Canada (une association d'écoles de langues agréées), et la coopération d'Air Canada, nous procédons au lancement du projet Espoir pour la jeunesse.

En permettant aux jeunes des zones sinistrées d'étudier au Canada, Espoir pour la jeunesse vise à developer des citoyens ouverts sur le monde qui mèneront la reconstruction de leurs communautés et donneront espoir et courage au Japon alors que le pays continuera de jouer un rôle de leader sur la scène mondiale. Dans le cadre du projet, 150 jeunes (âgés de 15 à 30 ans) touchés par la catastrophe recevront un billet d'avion aller-retour, un mois de formation linguistique, l'hébergement dans un foyer ou un dortoir, et une assurance-voyage – le tout gratuitement.*

Les candidatures seront acceptées à compter du 22 juillet, via le site Web de l'ambassade du Canada, et les voyages au Canada commenceront le 10 octobre 2011. Des cours de langue et l'hébergement seront offerts par 21 écoles membres de Langues Canada, et l'assurance voyage sera offerte par Guard.me, une compagnie d'assurance affiliée à Langues Canada. Les billets à tarif spécial d'Air Canada seront achetés grâce à la contribution spéciale de 15 millions de yens de Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited, un commanditaire clé du projet. M. Kazumasa Terada, président de Samantha Thavasa, a étudié au Canada et attribue le démarrage de son entreprise à son expérience au Canada. M. Terada est également un commanditaire fondateur du Fonds de leadership Canada-Japon.

* Des billets d'avion aller-retour, des cours de langue, et l'hébergement sont disponibles pour 150 participants. Les conditions de placement varient. Veuillez consulter les informations du programme pour plus de détails.


Information

Ambassade du Canada – Section des affaires publiques
(03) 5412-6444

Samantha Thavasa Japan Limited – Groupe de presse
(03) 5412-8198

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-07-29