Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. E.H. Norman Library


Canadian Book Reading for Children

"Virginia Wolf"

April 23 is Canada Book Day. This is celebrated on the same day as World Book and Copyright Day, a yearly event organized by UNESCO to pay world-wide tribute to books and authors while encouraging everyone, and in particular young people, to discover the pleasure of reading.

We will feature Virginia Wolf, winner of the 2012 Governor General's Award for Literature (Children's Literature–Illustration category). Virginia Wolf is an uplifting story for readers of all ages. Vanessa's sister, Virginia, seems to be in a "wolfish" mood – she's acting quite strange, waking up one day growling and howling.

Virginia Wolf has now been published in Japanese translation. You will thoroughly enjoy the heart-warming story by Kyo Maclear, the lovely illustrations by Isabelle Arsenault and the skilful Japanese translation by Akiko Kojima, winner of the Itabashi International Picture Book Translation Contest (English Division).


Book information:

Title: "Virginia Wolf"
Author: Kyo Maclear
Illustrator: Isabelle Arsenault
Publisher: Kids Can Press, 2012


Date & hours: Wednesday, April 22, 2015 (16:30 – 17:30)

Place: Embassy of Canada E.H. Norman Library (B2 level)

Age limit: 4 to 10 years

Language: English/Japanese

Capacity: 25 children, plus their parents/guardians

Participation: Free of charge

  • Individual reservations should be made by fax to 03-5412-6287 or by e-mail, indicating the names of participants and ages of children in your message.
  • Reservations will be closed when we reach maximum enrolment.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-03-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Bibliothèque E.H. Norman


Lecture de contes canadiens pour enfants

« Virginia Wolf »

Le 23 avril est la Journée du livre au Canada. Elle est célébrée le même jour que la Journée mondiale du livre et du droit d'auteur, un événement annuel organisé par l'UNESCO pour rendre un hommage mondial aux livres et aux auteurs en encourageant tout le monde, et particulièrement les jeunes, à découvrir le plaisir de la lecture.

Nous mettrons en relief Virginia Wolf, lauréat du Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général 2012 (catégorie littérature jeunesse-illustrations). Librement inspiré de la relation qu'entretenait l'écrivaine Virginia Woolf avec sa sœur, la peintre Vanessa Bell, Virginia Wolf est une fable émouvante destinée aux lecteurs de tous âges. Virginia, la sœur de Vanessa, semble d'humeur « féroce » – elle agit de façon plutôt étrange, se réveillant un jour en grognant et hurlant.

Virginia Wolf a maintenant été publié en traduction japonaise. Vous apprécierez le touchant récit de Kyo Maclear, les magnifiques illustrations d'Isabelle Arsenault et l'excellente traduction japonaise d'Akiko Kojima, lauréate du Concours international de traduction de livres d'images Itabashi (division anglaise).


Information du livre :

Titre : « Virginia Wolf »
Auteur : Kyo Maclear
Illustrateur : Isabelle Arsenault
Éditeur : Kids Can Press, 2012


Jour et heures : Mercredi, le 22 avril 2015 (16h30 – 17h30)

Lieu : Bibliothèque E.H. Norman de l'Ambassade du Canada (niveau B2)

Limite d'âge : 4 à 10 ans

Langue : Anglais / japonais

Capacité d'accueil : 25 enfants, plus leurs parents / gardiens

Participation : Gratuite

  • L'inscription individuelle sera requise par fax au 03-5412-6287 ou par courriel en indiquant les noms des participants(es) et les âges des enfants.
  • L'inscription sera terminée quand le nombre d'enrôlement atteint un maximum.
  • Les enfants doivent être accompagnés d'un adulte.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-03-25