Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. E.H. Norman Library


E.H. Norman Speaker Series

"LGBTI Anti-Bullying Initiatives – Views from Canada and Japan"

In recent years, the issue of violence and discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex (LGBTI) youth has attracted increasing attention in both Canada and Japan, where LGBTI youth – and those perceived as LGBTI – are at an increased risk of being bullied.

This issue was explicitly identified in the May 2016 G7 Kurashiki Education Ministers' Declaration, which recognized the critical need to address exclusion and marginalization, disparities and inequalities to which children and young people are more likely to be exposed. The Declaration made specific reference to children who are suffering discrimination because of their sexual orientation and gender identity.

The introduction of initiatives to protect LGBTI youth from bullying and discrimination has taken on public prominence in both Japan and Canada. This includes provincial initiatives such as the Ontario government's passage in 2012 of the Accepting Schools Act, which aims to combat gender-based violence, homophobia and transphobia in the province's public schools and ongoing discussions on anti-bullying measures in the context of Japan's upcoming school curriculum revision.

To examine these trends more closely, the Embassy of Canada's E.H. Norman Speaker Series will bring together two distinguished experts:

Helen Kennedy
Ms. Kennedy is the Executive Director of Egale Canada, Canada's only national charity promoting LGBTI human rights through research, education and community engagement.

Kanae Doi
Ms. Doi is the Japan Director of Human Rights Watch, an organization that works to encourage the Japanese Government to prioritize human rights in its foreign and domestic policies and practices. In May 2016 Human Rights Watch published a report calling for the strengthening of anti-bullying policies to protect LGBTI youth in Japan.

The two speakers will provide an overview of anti-bullying policies in their respective countries and look at opportunities for Canada and Japan to learn from each other's experiences in protecting LGBTI rights.

We hope you will join us for what promises to be an enriching and thought-provoking event.‬


Guest Speakers:

  • Helen Kennedy, Executive Director, Egale Canada
  • Kanae Doi, Japan Director, Human Rights Watch


Time: Monday, November 21, 2016, 18:30–20:00 (Doors open at 18:00)

Place: Embassy of Canada Oscar Peterson Theatre (B2 level)

Language: English/Japanese (simultaneous interpretation available)

Admission: Free – advance registration required

Organizer: Embassy of Canada

Collaborator: Human Rights Watch

Registration:
Please register by e-mail, clearly indicating the information requested below in your message. Registration will be closed when full.

  1. Name
  2. Organization/school
  3. E-mail address
  4. Names of guests accompanying

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Fax: 03-5412-6249
E-mail: tokyo.cc@international.gc.ca

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Bibliothèque E.H. Norman


Série de conférences E.H. Norman

« Initiatives contre l'intimidation à l'égard des LGBTI – Points de vue du Canada et du Japon »

Au cours des dernières années, la question de la violence et de la discrimination à l'encontre des lesbiennes, des gais, des bisexuels, des transgenres et des intersexués (LGBTI) a attiré une attention croissante au Canada et au Japon, où les jeunes LGBTI – et ceux perçus comme LGBTI – courent un risque accru d'être victimes d'intimidation.

Cette question a été explicitement identifiée dans la Déclaration des ministres de l'Éducation du G7 à Kurashiki en mai 2016, qui reconnaît la nécessité absolue de lutter contre l'exclusion et la marginalisation, les disparités et les inégalités auxquelles les enfants et les jeunes sont plus susceptibles d'être confrontés. La Déclaration fait expressément référence aux enfants victimes de discrimination en raison de leur orientation sexuelle et de leur identité de genre.

L'introduction d'initiatives visant à protéger les jeunes LGBTI contre l'intimidation et la discrimination a attiré l'attention du public au Japon et au Canada. Cela inclut des initiatives provinciales telles que l'adoption de la Loi pour des écoles tolérantes par le gouvernement de l'Ontario en 2012, qui vise à combattre la violence sexuelle, l'homophobie et la transphobie dans les écoles publiques de la province, ainsi que les discussions en cours sur les mesures pour contrer l'intimidation dans le contexte de la révision prochaine du programme d'études des écoles du Japon.

Pour examiner ces tendances de plus près, la Série de conférences E.H. Norman de l'Ambassade du Canada réunira deux éminentes expertes :

Helen Kennedy
Mme Kennedy est la directrice exécutive d'Égale Canada, le seul organisme national de bienfaisance au Canada à faire la promotion des droits des LGBTI par le biais de la recherche, de l'éducation et de l'engagement communautaire.

Kanae Doi
Mme Doi est directrice pour le Japon de Human Rights Watch, un organisme qui s'emploie à encourager le gouvernement japonais à faire des droits de la personne une priorité dans ses politiques et pratiques au Japon et à l'étranger. En mai 2016, Human Rights Watch a publié un rapport appelant au renforcement des politiques pour lutter contre l'intimidation afin de protéger les jeunes LGBTI au Japon.

Les deux conférencières offriront un aperçu des politiques pour contrer l'intimidation dans leurs pays respectifs et examineront les possibilités pour le Canada et le Japon d'apprendre de leurs expériences respectives en matière de protection des droits des LGBTI.

Nous espérons que vous vous joindrez à nous pour ce qui promet d'être un événement enrichissant et stimulant.


Conférencières invitées :

  • Helen Kennedy, directrice exécutive, Égale Canada
  • Kanae Doi, directrice pour le Japon, Human Rights Watch


Heure : Lundi 21 novembre 2016, de 18h30 à 20h00 (les portes ouvrent à 18h00)

Lieu : Théâtre Oscar Peterson de l'Ambassade du Canada (niveau B2)

Langue : Anglais / Japonais (interprétation simultanée)

Entrée : Gratuite – inscription préalable obligatoire

Organisateur : Ambassade du Canada

Collaborateur : Human Rights Watch

Inscription :
Veuillez-vous inscrire par courriel, en indiquant clairement les informations requises ci-dessous dans votre message. L'inscription sera close lorsque toutes les places auront été comblées.

  1. Nom
  2. Organisation / école
  3. Adresse de courriel
  4. Noms des invités qui vous accompagnent

Contact :
Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada
Télécopieur : 03-5412-6249
Courriel : tokyo.cc@international.gc.ca

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-07