Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Embassy of Canada appoints Shawn Mendes, new Canadian music star, as Study in Canada Good will Ambassador for 2017

150th Anniversary of Canada’s Confederation
Press release
March 10, 2017


Appointment of Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassador (February 27, 2017)
Left: Shawn Mendes; Right: Patricia Ockwell, Public Affairs Program Manager

   

This year, 2017, marks the 150th anniversary of Canada’s Confederation. In commemoration, the Embassy of Canada to Japan has appointed singer-songwriter Shawn Mendes as Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassador for 2017.

Shawn Mendes, from Toronto, Ontario, is 18 years old. Like Justin Bieber, also from Ontario, Shawn skyrocketed to popularity after posting music videos on the internet. His first two albums both landed in Number One position on the U.S. music charts. Last year, Time magazine named Shawn one of the “thirty most influential teens” for the third year in a row, while Forbes listed him among its “Thirty under Thirty” for 2016. With Shawn’s activities bringing him worldwide acclaim, he was appointed “Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassador” to deliver a message to Japanese youth who, by studying in Canada, likewise aspire to be players on the world stage.

Shawn was recently in Japan for the first time and gave a highly successful secret concert in Tokyo. On February 27, he received a certificate from the Embassy of Canada appointing him “Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassador for 2017” and he video-recorded a message (about one minute long) of encouragement to Japanese youth. In the video, he says, “Canada is awesome because no matter what you are into, you will have support, and there are friends and people who are going to be there to work with you. The reason I am doing what I am doing is because the music program at my school was so supportive, and every school is the same.” The video will be presented for the first time at the Embassy of Canada’s EduCanada Fair on March 17 and 18 in Tokyo. It is to be shown later at other education events and seminars sponsored by the Embassy.


For Reference

Past Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassadors

  • 2010 (80th Anniversary of Canada-Japan Relations) Nikki Yanofsky, jazz singer
  • 2012 Jeffrey Buttle, World Figure Skating Champion (of 2008) 

About Study in Canada

  • Study in Canada takes many different forms—study at junior high and high schools, colleges, universities, language schools or other places. It is said that over 10,000 Japanese people per year obtain study permits to study in Canada for over 6 months. That does not include the vast majority of people who study for less than 6 months. Statistics from Languages Canada indicate that about 20,000 Japanese are in Canada studying the country’s official languages, English and French.
  • http://www.languagescanada.ca/web/default/files/LC_2016_SurveyReport_ENG_ExecutiveSummary.pdf 

EduCanada Fairs

  • The Embassy of Canada sponsors EduCanada Fairs every spring and fall, at which visitors can speak directly about study in Canada with representatives from between 60 and 85 educational institutions. The fairs in Tokyo attract between 1500 and 2000 visitors who come to find the right school for their purpose, whether it be elementary, junior high, high school, summer program, language school, college, university, university, or something else.

EduCanada Fair Spring 2017

http://www.canada-ryugaku-fair.com/

  • Elementary, junior high, high school / language school / college / university / IEC-Working Holiday
  • Friday, March 17 5:00 – 7:00 p.m.      Saturday, March 18 11:00 a.m.– 5:00 p.m.
  • Embassy of Canada (5 minutes’ walk from “Aoyama 1 Chome” Station on the Ginza, Hanzomon, or Toei Oedo subway lines)
     
    PLEASE NOTE: You must present photo I.D. to enter the Embassy of Canada. 

Shawn Mendes official Japanese website
http://www.universal-music.co.jp/shawn-mendes/

Media Contact

Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section, Media Team
☎ 03-5412-6444 (media line)
tokyo-media@international.gc.ca

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-03-17

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

L’Ambassade du Canada nomme Shawn Mendes, nouvelle star de la musique canadienne, à titre d’ambassadeur de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada pour 2017

150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne
Communiqué de presse
10 mars 2017


Nomination à titre d’ambassadeur de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada (27 février 2017)
À gauche: Shawn Mendes; à droite: Patricia Ockwell, gestionnaire du programme des Affaires publiques NOTE: Voir les coordonnées ci-dessous pour obtenir des fichiers d'image.

   

L’année 2017 marque le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne. En commémoration de cette étape, l’Ambassade du Canada au Japon a nommé l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Shawn Mendes à titre d’ambassadeur de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada pour 2017.

Shawn Mendes, de Toronto, Ontario, est âgé de 18 ans. À l’instar de Justin Bieber, qui est également originaire de l’Ontario, sa popularité a explosé après la publication de ses vidéoclips sur Internet. Ses deux premiers albums se sont tous deux hissés au premier rang des palmarès américains. L’année dernière, le magazine Time a nommé Shawn parmi ses «trente adolescents les plus influents» pour la troisième année consécutive, alors que Forbes l’a inclus dans ses «Thirty under Thirty» pour 2016. En raison de la notoriété mondiale que lui valent ses activités, Shawn a été nommé « ambassadeur de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada » afin qu’il transmette un message aux jeunes Japonais qui, en étudiant au Canada, aspirent eux aussi à se faire valoir sur la scène mondiale.

Shawn a récemment visité le Japon pour la première fois et donné un concert secret à Tokyo qui s’est avéré un franc succès. Le 27 février, il a reçu un certificat de l’Ambassade du Canada qui l’a nommé «ambassadeur de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada pour 2017» et a enregistré un message vidéo (d'environ une minute) d’encouragement à l’intention de la jeunesse japonaise. Dans la vidéo, il explique que: «Le Canada est un endroit où tout autour de vous vous encourage à atteindre votre but. Si j’ai pu devenir musicien c’est en partie grâce à l’encouragement que j’ai reçu de mon école.» La vidéo sera dévoilée pour la première fois à l’Ambassade du Canada au Salon ÉduCanada les 17 et 18 mars à Tokyo. Elle sera présentée plus tard lors d’autres événements et séminaires organisés par l’ambassade.


À titre de référence

Anciens ambassadeurs de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada

  • 2010 (80e anniversaire des relations Canada-Japon) Nikki Yanofsky, chanteuse de jazz
  • 2012 Jeffrey Buttle, champion du monde de patinage artistique (2008)

À propos des études au Canada

  • Les études au Canada peuvent revêtir différentes formes—il peut s’agir d’études dans des écoles secondaires de premier et second cycles, des collèges, des universités, des écoles de langue ou d’autres endroits. On rapporte que plus de 10,000 Japonais par année obtiennent des permis d'études pour étudier au Canada pendant plus de 6 mois. Cela ne comprend pas la grande majorité des gens qui étudient pendant moins de 6 mois. Les statistiques de Langues Canada indiquent qu’environ 20,000 Japonais sont au Canada pour y étudier les langues officielles du pays, l’anglais et le français.
  • http://www.languagescanada.ca/web/default/files/LC_2016_SurveyReport_ENG_ExecutiveSummary.pdf

Salons ÉduCanada

  • Chaque année au printemps et à l’automne, l'Ambassade du Canada parraine les salons ÉduCanada, au cours desquels les visiteurs peuvent discuter des études au Canada directement avec des représentants de 60 à 85 établissements d'enseignement. Les salons de Tokyo attirent entre 1,500 et 2,000 visiteurs qui s’y rendent dans l’espoir de trouver la bonne école pour leurs besoins, qu’il s’agisse d’une école primaire, d’une école secondaire de premier et second cycles, d’un programme d'été, d’une école de langue, d’un collège, d’une université, ou autre chose. 

Salon ÉduCanada Printemps 2017
http://www.canada-ryugaku-fair.com/ 

  • École primaire, école secondaire de premier cycle, école secondaire de second cycle, école de langue,  université, EIC/vacances-travail.
  • Vendredi 17 mars, de 17h00 à 19h00
  • Samedi 18 mars, de 11h00 à 17h00
  • Ambassade du Canada (5 minutes à pied de la station «Aoyama 1 Chome» sur les lignes de métro Ginza, Hanzomon ou Toei Oedo)
     
  • VEUILLEZ NOTER QUE: Vous devez présenter une carte d’identité avec photo pour avoir accès à l’Ambassade du Canada.

Site Web japonais officiel de Shawn Mendes
http://www.universal-music.co.jp/shawn-mendes/  

Contact des médias

Ambassade du Canada, Section des affaires publiques, Équipe des médias
☎ 03-5412-6444 (ligne des médias)
tokyo-media@international.gc.ca

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-03-17