Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Jordan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Iraq Relations

Since April 2013, Canada is represented in Iraq by a new diplomatic mission in Baghdad, an office of Canada’s Embassy to the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan and the Republic of Iraq in Amman. Its mission is to contribute to Canada’s economic prosperity through the expansion of the Canadian-Iraqi trade and investment relationship; to promote good governance, democracy, pluralism and respect for human rights in Iraq; and to support Canada’s contributions to effective global governance and international security. Consular services to Canadians, as well as immigration services to visitors to Canada and international students, are delivered from Canada’s Embassy in Jordan.

Iraq is represented in Canada by the Embassy of Iraq in Ottawa.

Bilateral relations: Canada believes that the establishment of a secure, stable and democratic Iraq is in the interest of global peace and prosperity. In 2003, Canada chose not to join the US-led military coalition to Iraq. However, it was among the first countries to provide humanitarian and reconstruction assistance to Iraq following the fall of Saddam Hussein, disbursing $300 million toward Iraqi reconstruction and humanitarian assistance between 2003 and 2010. Today, Iraq continues to benefit from Canada-funded regional initiatives and has received targeted funding for humanitarian needs that includes assistance to respond to the Syrian refugee crisis. Canada is also providing ongoing assistance to Iraq in implementing public administration reform, modernisation in the context of Federal-Governorate relations and fiscal decentralisation.

Iraq’s transition to democracy has not been easy. Concerned by the upsurge in violence and the increased number of terrorist attacks, Canada is committed to working with Iraq to develop the country’s pluralistic federalism and to uphold its religious diversity.

Commercial ties: Canadians have shown a high interest in Iraq’s economic development. In 2012, Iraq became Canada’s largest two-way trading partner in the Middle East, with bilateral trade amounting to 4.4 billion, a 166% increase from 2011. Canadian oil companies’ interests in Iraq are estimated at more than $750 million. Canadian private sector activities in Iraq benefit both the people of Iraq and Canadian citizens. Iraq’s natural resources and reconstruction efforts will continue to create significant business opportunities for Canadian companies. A Canada Trade Office, located in Erbil in 2014, will support the expansion of commercial ties between Canada and Iraq.

Resettlement of Iraqi refugees: Working with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Canada plays an active part in resettling Iraqi refugees living in Syria, Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey. Canada has committed to resettling up to 20,000 Iraqi refugees out of the Middle East by 2015 and had resettled over 17,000 between from 2009 to September 2013. The Iraqi commitment represents the single largest resettlement commitment by Canada in over 25 years. While the closure of our Embassy in Damascus has impacted our ability to deliver on this commitment, we continue to work with the UNHCR and partners to come to the assistance of Iraqi refugees.  

March 2014


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-03-11

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Jordanie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Iraq

Depuis avril 2013, le Canada est représenté en Iraq par une nouvelle mission diplomatique à Bagdad, un bureau de l’ambassade du Canada au Royaume hachémite de Jordanie et en République d’Iraq, à Amman. Sa mission consiste à contribuer à la prospérité économique du Canada par l’élargissement de la relation que notre pays entretient avec l’Iraq en matière de commerce et d’investissement, à promouvoir la bonne gouvernance, la démocratie, le pluralisme et le respect des droits de la personne en Iraq, ainsi qu’à appuyer la contribution du Canada à la gouvernance mondiale efficace et à la sécurité internationale. L’ambassade du Canada en Jordanie assure la prestation des services consulaires aux Canadiens et des services d’immigration aux visiteurs au Canada et aux étudiants internationaux.

L’Iraq est représenté au Canada par l’ambassade de l’Iraq à Ottawa.

Relations bilatérales : Le Canada estime que l’instauration de la sécurité, de la stabilité et de la démocratie en Iraq est dans l’intérêt de la paix et de la prospérité mondiales. En 2003, le Canada a décidé de ne pas se joindre à la coalition militaire dirigée par les États-Unis en Iraq. Toutefois, il a été parmi les premiers pays à offrir une aide humanitaire en Iraq et un appui à la reconstruction du pays suite à la chute de Saddam Hussein. Cette aide et cet appui du Canada se sont chiffrés à 300 millions de dollars entre 2003 et 2010. Aujourd’hui, l’Iraq continue de profiter des initiatives régionales financées par le Canada et il a reçu un financement ciblé consacré aux besoins humanitaires comprenant de l’aide en raison de la crise des réfugiés syriens. Le Canada offre également une aide continue à l’Iraq pour la mise en œuvre des réformes de l’administration publique, la modernisation dans le contexte des relations fédérales-gouvernorats et la décentralisation financière.

La transition de l’Iraq vers la démocratie n’a pas été facile. Préoccupé par la flambée de la violence et l’augmentation du nombre d’attentats terroristes, le Canada est déterminé à collaborer avec l’Iraq au développement du fédéralisme pluraliste du pays et à la défense de la diversité religieuse.

Liens commerciaux : Les Canadiens ont exprimé un intérêt marqué à l’égard du développement économique de l’Iraq. En 2012, l’Iraq est devenu le premier partenaire commercial bilatéral du Canada au Moyen-Orient, les échanges bilatéraux s’étant élevés à 4,4 milliards de dollars, soit une augmentation de 166 p. 100 par rapport à 2011. On estime que les intérêts des sociétés pétrolières canadiennes en Iraq se chiffrent à plus de 750 millions de dollars. Les activités du secteur privé canadien en Iraq profitent tant au peuple iraquien qu’aux citoyens canadiens. Les ressources naturelles de l’Iraq et les efforts de reconstruction dans ce pays continueront de créer d’importantes occasions d’affaires pour les entreprises canadiennes. Un bureau commercial du Canada, établi à Erbil en 2014, appuiera l’élargissement des liens commerciaux entre le Canada et l’Iraq.

Réinstallation des réfugiés iraquiens : Collaborant avec le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (UNHCR), le Canada participe activement à la réinstallation des réfugiés iraquiens qui vivent en Syrie, en Jordanie, au Liban et en Turquie. Le Canada s’est engagé à réinstaller jusqu’à 20 000 réfugiés iraquiens à l’extérieur du Moyen-Orient d’ici 2015, et il en avait réinstallé plus de 17 000 entre 2009 et septembre 2013. L’engagement du Canada envers les réfugiés iraquiens représente le plus grand engagement que le Canada a pris depuis plus de 25 ans. Bien que la fermeture de notre ambassade à Damas ait eu une incidence sur notre capacité de mettre en œuvre cet engagement, nous poursuivons notre collaboration avec l’UNHCR et nos partenaires pour venir en aide aux réfugiés iraquiens.

Mars 2014


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-03-11