Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

kenya.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Development Cooperation

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

For over three decades, Canada has funded development assistance projects in developing countries through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).  The CFLI is a program that supports small-scale, short-term projects proposed and implemented by local NGOs that are legally registered with their respective governments. This program enables Canada to respond to local needs by working at the community level.

Equally important, the CFLI serves to strengthen Canada’s relationships with civil society and local communities and to build networks of contacts in countries around the world.

The High Commission of Canada in Kenya is responsible for the CFLI in Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, South Sudan and Somalia.  The CFLI program is directly managed by the High Commission.

2013-2014 call for proposals:

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development is launching a call for proposals in anticipation of the availability of funding. The call for proposals is provided for individual projects that are of a maximum duration of three months (with activities completed by January 31, 2014). Requests for core funding will not be considered. The average contribution is expected to be in the range of CAD $15,000-$20,000 for each individual project. Larger projects may be considered with appropriate justification for use of funds.

Once a thorough assessment of your application is done, you will be notified of the decision. There is no    need to contact the High Commission for updates on the status of your application.

  • Please note the deadline for proposal submission is September 13, 2013.

Fund priorities

Proposals submitted for funding must relate to one of Canada’s five development priorities:

  • Stimulating sustainable economic growth;
  • Increasing food security;
  • Creating opportunities for children and youth;
  • Advancing democracy, and;
  • Ensuring security and stability.

Of these priorities, the High Commission of Canada in Kenya puts a special emphasis on advancing democracy and ensuring security and stability, which includes the following: democratic governance; conflict prevention and resolution; broad support for human rights; interfaith collaboration and understanding, and; promotion of and respect for the rights for women and girls.

Eligible Recipients

Local civil society organizations (including non-governmental organizations) and other institutions working at the local level are encouraged to apply.  Other entities, such as international, intergovernmental, multilateral and regional organizations can be eligible for a contribution, provided that they are working with local partners and on local projects that are consistent with Canada’s five development priorities. Similarly, municipal, regional or national government institutions may receive CFLI funding, provided that their projects are essentially local in nature.

Contacts:

All interested parties should request a project application form which will be provided by the High Commission and submitted it to: metahara.mamo@international.gc.ca

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-08-23

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

kenya.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Coopération au développement

Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales

Depuis plus de trente ans, le Canada finance des projets d'aide au développement dans les pays en développement par l'intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales (FCIL). Le FCIL est un programme qui appuie des microprojets à court terme, proposés et mis en œuvre par des ONG locales légalement inscrites auprès des gouvernements concernés. Il permet au Canada de répondre à des besoins locaux en travaillant au niveau communautaire.

Fait tout aussi important, le FCIL permet de renforcer les relations du Canada avec la société civile et les collectivités locales et de créer des réseaux de contacts partout dans le monde.

Le haut‑commissariat du Canada à Nairobi est responsable du FCIL au Kenya, au Burundi, au Rwanda, en Ouganda, au Soudan du Sud et en Somalie. Le FCIL est géré directement par le haut-commissariat. En 2012‑2013, le haut-commissariat a financé un total de dix-sept projets au titre du FCIL dans six pays d’accréditation : la valeur de ces projets s’est établie à 671 000 $.

Appel de propositions de projets pour 2013‑2014

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement lance un appel de propositions en prévision de la mise en disponibilité des fonds pour l’année financière 2013-2014. L'appel de propositions est prévu pour des projets d'une durée maximale de trois mois (les activités doivent être achevées au 31 Janvier 2014). Les demandes de financement de base ne seront pas considérées. Le financement moyen ciblé est entre CAD $15,000 et $20,000 par projet. Les projets de plus de CAD $20,000 seront considérés sur une base exceptionnelle si la justification est jugée appropriée.

Le comité d’évaluation fera une évaluation approfondie de votre proposition de projet. Vous serez conséquemment informé de la décision. Il n'est pas nécessaire de contacter le Haut-Commissariat pour une mise à jour sur le statut de votre proposition de projet.

  • Veuillez noter que la date limite pour la soumission des propositions est le 13 Septembre 2013.

Priorités du Fonds                                      

Les projets présentés aux fins de financement doivent s’inscrire dans l’une des cinq priorités de développement du Canada :

  • Favoriser une croissance économique durable;
  • Accroître la sécurité alimentaire;
  • Assurer l’avenir des enfants et des jeunes;
  • Faire progresser la démocratie;
  • Renforcer la sécurité et la stabilité.

Parmi ces priorités, le haut-commissariat met un accent particulier sur la promotion de la démocratie et sur le renforcement de la sécurité et stabilité, ce qui comprend les éléments suivants : la gouvernance démocratique ; la prévention et la résolution des conflits ; le soutien au respect des droits humains ; la promotion de la cohabitation interconfessionnelles, et ; la promotion et le respect des droits des femmes et des filles.

Organisation éligible à un financement

Les organisations locales de la société civile travaillant au niveau local sont encouragées à postuler. D'autres entités, telles que les organisations internationales, intergouvernementales, multilatérales et régionales peuvent être admissibles à une contribution, à condition qu'ils travaillent avec des partenaires locaux sur des projets locaux compatibles avec les cinq priorités de développement du Canada. De même, les institutions gouvernementales municipales, régionales ou nationales peuvent recevoir des fonds FCIL, à condition que leurs projets soient essentiellement de nature locale.

Contact

Les organisations intéressées doivent demander un formulaire d’application qui sera fourni par le haut-commissariat à l’adresse électronique suivante : metahara.mamo@international.gc.ca

Une fois complété, le formulaire devra être soumis à la même adresse.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-08-23