Canada supports Kenya’s First Annual National Children’s Government Conference


Danny Kinaro, The National Children’s Government President takes the oath of office.


A Pupil presents a poem on child-friendly learning environment.


High Commissioner David Angell and Danny Kinaro, The National Children’s Government President.

Earlier this year, over 400 elected pupil representatives from primary schools across Kenya attended a colorful swearing -in ceremony of the National Children’s Government, the first of its kind in the country.

The event held in June was supported by the Kenyan Primary Schools Head Teachers Association (KEPSHA) and UNCIEF with funding from the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD). The ceremony that coincided with the Day of the African Child was also attended by senior Kenyan Government officials and several dignitaries including the Canadian High Commissioner to Kenya, David Angell.

Stepping up to the podium for the first time to take oath of office of the President of the National Children’s Government, 13 year-old Danny Kinaro promised to serve the office without fear and prejudice. He was followed by the speaker and deputy speaker of the Children’s National Assembly and his cabinet to loud applauses confirming the Government’s acceptance by the youthful leaders at the venue. 

“It is time that our voices [as the youth] are heard. It is time that we made a change”, said Danny Kinaro, The National Children’s Government President.

Only days earlier, elected pupil representatives from Kenya’s 47 Counties gathered in the capital Nairobi for the National Children’s Government Summit that included nominations, elections and the first-ever children’s government parliamentary session. Following heated debates in ‘parliament’ and a transparent, free and fair election through ballot; the National Children’s Government was duly elected into their respective positions.

UNICEF also led pupils through an innovative, child-centred design workshop at the Summit to map out actionable steps to making schools more inclusive, protective, healthy, and equitable.  Through the workshop, the children generated more than 4,000 ideas on how to improve quality education for all with 185 of the ideas selected for debate in the Children’s Government’s inaugural parliamentary session. Following debate the children voted for their top ten children’s government priorities which were articulated at the swearing in ceremony.

The National Children’s Government Summit is part of a larger partnership in which Canada is providing UNICEF with $6.9 million to put into practice innovative new ways of delivering quality education in a child-friendly learning environment. Introducing Children’s Governments in primary schools in Kenya is one of these innovative new practices.

“Quality education starts with a school that offers a nurturing and stimulating environment, where parents and communities are actively involved in their children’s education; where children have a voice in decision-making; where children learn to become thinkers, innovators, and producers of knowledge, rather than just reproducers of knowledge. Canada and Kenya share a commitment to securing the future of children and youth.”

High Commissioner, David Angell.

UNICEF in partnership with the Government of Kenya through the Ministry of Education conducted a survey in 2008 to establish the relevance of student participation in school governance. This survey has contributed to the establishment of Child Friendly School practices by empowering students to take part in the decision making process for a more cohesive school community and conducive learning environment.  The survey also indicated that student participation in school management tends to improve learning and instills positive values in children.

The concept of Children’s Governments began last year during the Annual KEPSHA Delegates’ Conference with the concept now spread to more than 20,000 schools in Kenya with school-based, child-centered elections taking place across the country.

 “We are proud to have co-planted the seed of how children can use their voices and their votes to advocate for their collective right to education, health, nutrition and protection. We are excited to nurture this seed and to watch the results for children continue to grow and grow”, said the UNICEF Kenya Representative, Kanyankore Marcel Rudasingwa.

This partnership between UNICEF, the Government of Kenya through the Ministry of Education, KEPSHA and Canada has further established the Children’s Government as a pillar of child-friendly education.

“As a champion of democracy and children's voices worldwide, Canada strongly supports the Government of Kenya's efforts to promote school environments that nurture these values”, said the Canadian High Commission's First Secretary Valérie Sara Price who was the DFATD development officer overseeing the project.

Le Canada soutient la première conférence annuelle du Gouvernement national des enfants du Kenya


Danny Kinaro, président du Gouvernement national des enfants, prête le serment d’office.


Un élève présente un poème sur le milieu d’apprentissage adapté aux enfants.


Le Haut Commissaire David Angell et Danny Kinaro, président du Gouvernement national des enfants.

Plus tôt cette année, plus de 400 représentants élus des élèves du primaire de tout le Kenya ont assisté à une cérémonie colorée d’assermentation du Gouvernement national des enfants, le premier du genre au pays.

L’événement, qui a eu lieu en juin, était soutenu par la Kenyan Primary Schools Head Teachers Association (KEPSHA) et l’UNICEF avec le financement du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) du Canada. De hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement kenyan et plusieurs dignitaires, dont le Haut Commissaire du Canada au Kenya, David Angell, ont assisté à la cérémonie, qui a coïncidé avec la Journée de l’enfant africain.

S’adressant depuis le podium où il a prêté serment comme président du Gouvernement national des enfants, Danny Kinaro, 13 ans, a promis de remplir ses devoirs sans peur ni préjugé. Il a été suivi par le président et le vice-président de l’Assemblée nationale des enfants et son cabinet, sous de bruyants applaudissements qui ont confirmé l’acceptation du gouvernement par les jeunes leaders présents. 

« Il est temps que notre voix, celle des jeunes, soit entendue. Il est temps que nous apportions un changement » a déclaré Danny Kinaro, président du Gouvernement national des enfants.

Quelques jours plus tôt, les représentants élus des élèves des 47 comtés du Kenya s’étaient réunis dans la capitale Nairobi pour le sommet du Gouvernement national des enfants, qui a comporté des mises en candidature, des élections et la toute première session du Gouvernement national des enfants. Après de vifs débats au sein du « parlement » et un scrutin transparent, libre et équitable, les membres du Gouvernement national des enfants ont dûment été élus à leurs postes respectifs.

L’UNICEF a également présenté un atelier novateur de conception centré sur l’enfant lors du Sommet, et visant à élaborer des mesures réalistes pour rendre les écoles plus inclusives, protectrices, saines et équitables. Grâce à l’atelier, les enfants ont généré plus de 4 000 idées sur la façon d’améliorer la qualité de l’éducation pour tous, et 185 d’entre elles ont été retenues pour le débat pendant la session parlementaire inaugurale du Gouvernement des enfants. Après le débat, les enfants ont voté pour choisir les dix priorités du Gouvernement des enfants, qui ont été présentées lors de la cérémonie d’assermentation.

Le Sommet du Gouvernement national des enfants fait partie d’un partenariat plus large dans le cadre duquel le Canada fournit à l’UNICEF 6,9 millions de dollars pour mettre en œuvre des façons nouvelles et novatrices d’offrir une éducation de qualité dans un milieu d’apprentissage adapté aux enfants. L’introduction du Gouvernement national des enfants dans les écoles primaires au Kenya est l’une de ces nouvelles pratiques novatrices.

« Une éducation de qualité commence par une école qui offre un milieu stimulant, où les parents et les communautés participent activement à l’éducation de leurs enfants, où les enfants ont une voix dans la prise de décision, où les enfants apprennent à réfléchir, à être innovateurs et producteurs de connaissances, plutôt que d’être de simples reproducteurs de la connaissance. Le Canada et le Kenya partagent le même engagement d’assurer l’avenir des enfants et des jeunes »

Le Haut Commissaire, David Angell.

En partenariat avec le gouvernement du Kenya par l’intermédiaire du ministère de l’Éducation, l’UNICEF a mené une enquête en 2008 pour évaluer la pertinence de la participation estudiantine à la gouvernance scolaire. Cette enquête a contribué à la mise en place des pratiques dites « Écoles amies des enfants » en permettant aux élèves de prendre part au processus décisionnel visant à établir une communauté scolaire plus cohérente et un climat propice à l’apprentissage. L’enquête a également indiqué que la participation des élèves à la gestion des écoles tend à améliorer l’apprentissage et inculque des valeurs positives chez les enfants.

Le concept de gouvernements des enfants a vu le jour l’an dernier lors de la Conférence annuelle des délégués de la KEPSHA, et le concept est maintenant étendu à plus de 20 000 écoles au Kenya, avec des élections axées sur les enfants en milieu scolaire qui ont lieu dans tout le pays.

« Nous sommes fiers d’avoir participé à ce projet et semé chez les enfants le germe qui leur apprendra comment utiliser leurs voix et leurs votes pour défendre leur droit collectif à l’éducation, à la santé, à la nutrition et à la protection. Nous sommes ravis de voir se développer ce germe, et de voir les résultats pour les enfants continuer à croître », a déclaré le représentant de l’UNICEF au Kenya, Kanyankore Marcel Rudasingwa.

Ce partenariat entre l’UNICEF, le gouvernement du Kenya par l’intermédiaire du ministère de l’Éducation, la KEPSHA et le Canada a fait du Gouvernement des enfants un pilier de l’éducation axée sur les enfants.

« En tant que champion de la démocratie et de la voix des enfants dans le monde entier, le Canada appuie fortement les efforts du gouvernement du Kenya visant à promouvoir des milieux scolaires qui favorisent ces valeurs », a déclaré Valérie Sara Price, la première secrétaire du Haut Commissariat canadien et l’agente de développement du MAECD qui a supervisé le projet.