Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

kenya.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada launches Maternal Health Care and Nutritional Needs project in Kenya


 
Women from Mwatate, Kenya who will benefit from a project addressing the health and nutritional needs of women and children.
 
High Commissioner Collins speaks into a microphone, wearing colourful garments.
H.E. David B. Collins, Canadian High Commissioner to Kenya gives remarks during the launch of the Canadian funded health and nutritional needs of women and children in Kenya project. Looking on are women from Mwatate, Kenya who will benefit from the project.
   
Group photo
H.E. David B. Collins, Canadian High Commissioner to Kenya with women and children from Mwatate, Kenya who will benefit from a Canadian funded health and nutritional needs of women and children in Kenya project. Looking on (Far left) is Dr. Lisa Avery, assistant professor at University of Manitoba’s Centre for Global Public Health.
   

In early May, the Canadian High Commissioner to Kenya, H.E. David B. Collins attended the launch of a new Canadian government-funded project that will address the health and nutritional needs of women and children in Kenya’s Taita Taveta County. The launch of the project was held in Mwatate, a rural town in Taita Taveta County in Kenya’s Coast province. 

The project has received funding from the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) and will be implemented by the University of Manitoba’s Centre for Global Public Health as part of Canada’s commitment under the Muskoka Initiative on Maternal, Newborn and Child Health.

“Canada is leading a global effort —the Muskoka Initiative —to mobilize global action to reduce maternal and infant mortality and improve the health of mothers and children in the world's poorest countries.”
High Commissioner David B. Collins

As part of the project, the University of Manitoba’s Centre for Global Public Health has partnered with the Canadian Food Grains Bank to bring together student researchers, international health experts and Non-Governmental Organizations to reduce the number of preventable maternal and child deaths in Kenya.

The project will benefit Kenya’s Taita Taveta County due to the area’s high levels of poverty and food insecurity. The population in this county is primarily rural with some of the lowest levels of literacy in all of Kenya and very high rates of child mortality. The area will benefit from 3,000 pregnant women and their families receiving education in perinatal and infant nutrition. Sixty community workers will be trained as “link” workers to identify at-risk families and ensure that each has access to a network of services for nutritional and health care support.

“This project captures Canada’s strategy for addressing maternal and child health issues. Canada’s efforts are focused on strengthening health services at the community level, improving nutrition for both mothers and children, and preventing and treating the most prevalent illnesses and diseases that cause maternal and child mortality,” said the High Commissioner.

The University of Manitoba’s Centre for Global Public Health will also work with local partners including the University of Nairobi’s School of Public Health, the Christian Reform World Relief Committee and the Pwani Christian Community Services.

“Ultimately, the project is the community’s project. It is the women and children of the area that will be helped and thus the entire community that will benefit,” added the High Commissioner.

On June 25, 2010, under the leadership of Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper, the leaders of the G-8 nations endorsed the Muskoka Initiative on Maternal, Newborn and Child Health. They were joined in this initiative by other nations and organizations, which together committed US$7.3 billion in new funding over five years. Under the Initiative, Canada has committed $1.1 billion in new funding for maternal, newborn, and child health, of which almost $800 million has been announced.

Canada has now launched 51 Muskoka Initiative projects in 26 countries that are helping to reduce preventable deaths. The Muskoka Initiative Partnership Program under CIDA’s Partnerships with Canadians Branch will provide up to $82 million for 28 projects such as the one recently launched in Kenya that take a comprehensive and integrated approach to address maternal, newborn, and child health, and support Canada’s commitment of reducing mortality rates in developing countries until 2015.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

kenya.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada lance un projet au Kenya pour répondre aux besoins des mères en matière de santé et de nutrition


 
Des femmes de Mwatate, au Kenya, qui profiteront du projet qui répondre aux besoins en matière de santé et de nutrition des mères et des enfants.
 
Le haut commissaire Collins qui porte des vêtements colorés parle dans un microphone.
H.E. David B. Collins, haut commissaire du Canada au Kenya, prononce une allocution à l’occasion du lancement d’un projet financé par le Canada pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé et de nutrition des mères et des enfants au Kenya. Sont présentes des femmes de Mwatate, au Kenya, qui profiteront du projet.
   
Photo de groupe
H.E. David B. Collins, haut commissaire du Canada au Kenya, en compagnie de femmes et d’enfants de Mwatate, au Kenya, qui bénéficieront d’un projet financé par le Canada pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé et de nutrition des mères et des enfants au Kenya. On peut voir, à l’extrême gauche, Lisa Avery, professeure adjointe au Centre for Global Public Health de l’Université du Manitoba.
   

Au début de mai, le haut‑commissaire du Canada au Kenya, H.E. David B. Collins, a assisté au lancement d’un nouveau projet financé par le gouvernement du Canada. Ce projet vise à répondre aux besoins en matière de santé et de nutrition des femmes et des enfants dans le comté de Taita Taveta, au Kenya. Le lancement a eu lieu à Mwatate, petite municipalité rurale de ce comté situé dans la province côtière du pays. 

Le projet qui a reçu des fonds de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) sera mis en œuvre par le Centre for Global Public Health de l’Université du Manitoba dans le cadre de l’engagement pris par le Canada à l’égard de l’Initiative de Muskoka sur la santé des mères, des nouveau‑nés et des enfants.

« Le Canada dirige des efforts internationaux – l’Initiative de Muskoka – pour mobiliser le monde entier afin de réduire la mortalité maternelle et infantile et d’améliorer la santé des mères et des enfants dans les pays les plus pauvres. »
Haut‑commissaire David B. Collins

Pour le projet, le Centre for Global Public Health de l’Université du Manitoba s’est associé à la Banque de céréales vivrières du Canada afin de réunir chercheurs étudiants, experts internationaux et organisations non gouvernementales du secteur de la santé, dans le but de réduire le nombre de décès évitables chez les mères et les enfants du Kenya.

Le projet profitera au comté de Taita Taveta, au Kenya, en raison des hauts niveaux de pauvreté et d’insécurité alimentaire qui y prévalent. La population de ce comté est principalement rurale et affiche un taux d’alphabétisation parmi les plus faibles du Kenya et un taux très élevé de mortalité chez les enfants. Dans cette région, 3 000 femmes enceintes et leur famille recevront de l’information sur les soins périnataux et la nutrition des nourrissons. Soixante travailleurs communautaires seront formés pour identifier les familles à risque et veiller à ce que chacune ait accès à un réseau de services de soutien en matière de nutrition et de santé.

« Ce projet porte sur la stratégie canadienne de lutte contre les problèmes de santé maternelle et infantile. Les efforts du Canada visent à renforcer les services de santé dans les collectivités, à améliorer la nutrition chez les mères et les enfants, ainsi qu’à prévenir et à traiter les principales maladies et infections qui sont la cause de décès chez les mères et les enfants », a déclaré le haut‑commissaire.

Le Centre for Global Public Health de l’Université du Manitoba collaborera également avec des partenaires locaux, dont la School of Public Health de l’Université de Nairobi, le Christian Reform World Relief Committee et les Pwani Christian Community Services.

« En fin de compte, le projet appartiendra à la collectivité. Ce sont les femmes et les enfants de la région qui recevront de l’aide, mais, par ricochet, c’est l’ensemble de la population qui en profitera », a ajouté le haut‑commissaire.

Le 25 juin 2010, sous la direction de M. Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada, les dirigeants des pays du G8 ont entériné l’Initiative de Muskoka sur la santé des mères, des nouveau‑nés et des enfants. D’autres pays et organisations se sont joints à cette initiative, et ont promis en tout 7,3 milliards de dollars américains en nouveaux fonds sur cinq ans. Quant au Canada, il s’est engagé à injecter 1,1 milliard de dollars en nouveaux fonds pour la santé des mères, des nouveau‑nés et des enfants, dont près de 800 millions de dollars ont déjà été annoncés.

Le Canada a lancé jusqu’à maintenant, dans le cadre de l’Initiative de Muskoka, 51 projets dans 26 pays pour contribuer à réduire les décès évitables. Le Programme de partenariat de l’Initiative de Muskoka, qui relève de la Direction générale des partenariats avec les Canadiens, à l’ACDI, fournira une contribution maximale de 82 millions de dollars pour 28 projets, comme celui lancé récemment au Kenya qui met en œuvre une approche intégrée et globale en matière de santé des mères, des nouveau‑nés et des enfants, et qui soutient l’engagement pris par le Canada pour réduire le taux de mortalité dans les pays en développement jusqu’en 2015.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-21