Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

kenya.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Youth Parliament opens dialogue with Somali-Kenyan community

From left to right: Kenyan Minister for Northern Kenya development, Hon. Mohammed Elmi, Member of Parliament and Assistant Minister for livestock development, Hon. Dualle Aden Barre and Colin Lake, Canadian High Commission, follow proceedings at the youth parliament.
From left to right: Kenyan Minister for Northern Kenya development, Hon. Mohammed Elmi, Member of Parliament and Assistant Minister for livestock development, Hon. Dualle Aden Barre and Colin Lake, Canadian High Commission, follow proceedings at the youth parliament.
   

    One of the youth at the parliament gives her opinion on an issue at the forum
One of the youth at the parliament gives her opinion on an issue at the forum
   

    A cross section of the youth that attended the youth parliament
A cross section of the youth that attended the youth parliament
   

   

A youth parliament session was recently held to open discussion among Kenya’s Muslim youth in North Eastern Kenya on the issue of their identity as Muslim Somali–Kenyans and their role in including Northern Kenya in the development of the country.

The forum was held in Garissa, a town in North-Eastern Kenya that borders Somalia, which is predominantly inhabited by the Somali-Kenyan-Muslim community.

Open Dialogue – Open Minds

In Kenya, the Somali community forms the majority of the Muslim population in the country. With the growing frustration and sense of marginalization among the Kenyan-Somali youth, it is feared that some may be becoming increasingly sympathetic with some rebel groups.

This forum provided an open space in which Muslim youth, especially those from the Somali community, could have an opportunity to meet with high ranking officials and leaders to discuss the challenges they face. The leaders pledged their support to the youth encouraging them to play an active role in nation building and to share their knowledge and express their opinion on issues and current events of likely interest to them.
 

Tackling the Issues

A panel of experts including government officials, members of parliament, Muslim human rights activists, Muslim scholars and youth leaders provided their insights while engaging over 100 youths.

The lively discussions, moderated by a Kenya Muslim Youth Alliance youth leader, tackled topics touching on:

  • Integrating Northern Kenyan issues into the overarching Kenyan development plans;
  • Human rights and security in northern Kenya;
  • democratic reforms
  • and looking at careers, business ideas and job opportunities beyond pastoralism among other topics
     

At the conclusion of the event, the youth developed recommendations on how to continue dialogue with the Government of Kenya and play a role in both the political and development agenda of their region and their country. In addition, youth pledged to continue meeting to discuss, debate and find solutions to issues that affect them.

The Canadian High Commission to Kenya was pleased to provide over CAD $3000 in funding and organizational support to the Kenya Muslim Youth Alliance to organize the session.

The forum provided an opportunity for Canada to highlight its pluralistic and multicultural nature in involving all its citizens in the development and prosperity of Canada and a model for a strong society especially in the integration of minority groups within the society.

The forum also provided an opportunity for the Canadian High Commissioner to nurture and deepen relationships with key members of Kenya’s Muslim community and the Government of Kenya.

 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2010-05-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

kenya.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Parlement jeunesse amorce un dialogue avec la communauté somalo-kényane

De gauche à droite : Le ministre kényan pour le développement du Nord du Kenya, l’honorable Mohammed Elmi, le député et sous-ministre pour le Développement de l’élevage, l’honorable Dualle Aden Barre, et Colin Lake Deuxième Secrétaire du haut-commissariat du Canada suivent les délibérations du Parlement jeunesse.
De gauche à droite : Le ministre kényan pour le développement du Nord du Kenya, l’honorable Mohammed Elmi, le député et sous-ministre pour le Développement de l’élevage, l’honorable Dualle Aden Barre, et Colin Lake Deuxième Secrétaire du haut-commissariat du Canada suivent les délibérations du Parlement jeunesse.
   

    L’une des jeunes donne son opinion au sujet d’une question soulevée lors du forum.
L’une des jeunes donne son opinion au sujet d’une question soulevée lors du forum.
   

    Un aperçu des jeunes participants au Parlement jeunesse.
Un aperçu des jeunes participants au Parlement jeunesse.
   

   

Le Parlement jeunesse a récemment tenu une séance pour ouvrir un dialogue avec les jeunes musulmans du Nord-Est du Kenya sur la question de leur identité en tant que Somalo-Kényans musulmans et leur rôle pour inclure le Nord du Kenya dans le développement de leur pays.

Le forum a été tenu à Garissa, une ville située dans le Nord-Est du pays, près de la frontière avec la Somalie, qui est composée en majorité de Somalo-Kényans musulmans.
 

Dialogue ouvert, esprits ouverts

Au Kenya, la communauté somalienne représente la majorité de la population musulmane du pays. Or, on craint que la frustration grandissante et le sentiment de marginalisation que ressentent les jeunes Somalo-Kényans les poussent de plus en plus à sympathiser avec certains groupes rebelles.

Le forum a été une occasion pour les jeunes musulmans, particulièrement ceux de la communauté somalienne, de rencontrer des hauts fonctionnaires et des dirigeants pour discuter des défis auxquels ils sont confrontés. Les dirigeants ont promis de les soutenir et les ont encouragés à contribuer activement au développement de leur pays ainsi qu’à transmettre leurs connaissances et à exprimer leurs points de vue sur diverses questions et enjeux d’actualité qui pourraient les intéresser.
 

S’attaquer aux problèmes

Un groupe d’experts composé de représentants du gouvernement, de députés, de défenseurs des droits de la personne musulmans, d’universitaires musulmans et de jeunes dirigeants a tenu un dialogue avec plus de 100 jeunes, durant lequel les membres du groupe ont exprimé leurs points de vue.

Les discussions dynamiques, animées par le dirigeant du groupe jeunesse Kenya Muslim Youth Alliance, ont porté notamment sur les sujets suivants :

  • l’intégration des questions touchant le Nord du Kenya dans les plans de développement globaux du pays
  • les droits de la personne et la sécurité dans le Nord du Kenya
  • les réformes démocratiques
  • les carrières, les idées sur le plan des affaires et les perspectives d’emploi au-delà du pastoralisme

À la fin de l’événement, les jeunes ont formulé des recommandations sur la façon de poursuivre le dialogue avec le gouvernement du Kenya et de contribuer aux programmes politique et de développement de leur région et de leur pays. En outre, les jeunes ont promis de continuer à se réunir pour discuter et débattre des options qui s’offrent à eux et pour trouver des solutions aux problèmes qui les concernent.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada au Kenya a été heureux de verser une somme de 3 000 $ pour aider la Kenya Muslim Youth Alliance à organiser la séance.

Le forum a permis au Canada de mettre en lumière sa nature pluraliste et multiculturelle, en faisant participer tous ses citoyens dans le développement et la prospérité du Canada. Il lui a aussi donné l’occasion de servir de société modèle, particulièrement au chapitre de l’intégration des groupes minoritaires au sein de la société.

De même, le forum a permis au haut-commissaire du Canada d’approfondir les relations qu’il entretient avec des membres clés de la communauté musulmane du Kenya et du gouvernement du Kenya.

Autre ressource (en anglais) : Kenya Muslim Youth Alliance.

 

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2010-05-07