Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Korea.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

News and Events

banner

October 2016

Newsroom

Ana Serrano Promotes Canadian Excellence in Technology and Innovation in Seoul

 Photo: Ana Serrano delivers presentation at the Korea Press Foundation
Photo: Ana Serrano delivers presentation at the Korea Press Foundation

Ana Serrano, Chief Digital Officer of the Canadian Film Centre (CFC), was in Seoul last month to participate in the annual Culture Communication Forum organized by the Corea Image Communications Institute (Sept. 4-6), along with a series of interactions coordinated by the Embassy of Canada (Sept. 7-9).  In her role as Chief Digital Officer, Ms. Serrano is credited with driving the digital transformation of the CFC into a unique blend of talent, product, company accelerator and creative production house, most recently launching Canada’s first digital entertainment accelerator IDEABOOST. She is also the founder of CFC Media Lab, the world-renowned institute for interactive storytelling, where Ms. Serrano is closely involved in Virtual Reality/Augmented Reality (VR/AR) production through CFC’s own specialized labs.

 

While in Seoul Ms. Serrano met with Korean VR/AR startups, accelerators, multimedia content production companies and government agencies including the Gyeonggi Centre for Creative Economy and Innovation, and Korea Creative Content Agency.  The meetings helped her better-understand the Korean VR/AR industry and identify collaboration and partnership opportunities between Canada and Korea. Ms. Serrano gave a lecture on “VR and the Future of News Content” to over 80 new media experts, journalists, and VR/AR content creators at a seminar held at the Seoul Foreign Correspondents’ Club at Korea Press Foundation.  Ms. Serrano also met with major local film festivals and museums to talk about future collaboration on special VR exhibitions in Korea.


The Honourable Brad Wall, Premier of Saskatchewan visited South Korea to promote business cooperation between Saskatchewan and South Korea

 Photo: The Honourable Brad Wall, Premier of Saskatchewan delivering the keynote address at a luncheon
Photo: The Honourable Brad Wall, Premier of Saskatchewan delivering the keynote address at a luncheon

The Honourable Brad Wall, Premier of Saskatchewan, successfully concluded a two-day trade mission to South Korea from September 19-20, 2016. This was the first visit by a Saskatchewan Premier to South Korea, and was an opportunity for the Premier to promote Saskatchewan agriculture products and its energy industry.  The mission coincided with a delegation of 16 exporters and seven industry associations led by the Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership (STEP). 

During the visit, Premier Wall met with Korea Hydro and Nuclear Power, Korea Flour Mills Industrial Association and E-Mart. Premier Wall also gave the keynote address at a luncheon hosted by STEP and the Korea Importers Association (KOIMA), in which he promoted increased business cooperation between Saskatchewan and South Korean industries.


Meet the Canadian Delegation at PAMS (Oct 4-8, 2016)

This year, some 20 Canadian performing arts experts including delegations from British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec will attend PAMS (Performing Arts Market in Seoul). PAMS is Korea's premier contemporary performing arts event, as well as a key platform for Asian and international performing arts professionals.  PAMS features outstanding works in the performing arts, booth exhibitions, and a variety of academic and networking programs. It also provides a setting for information exchanges among performing arts professionals in Korea and abroad. The Embassy welcomes the Canadian delegation and looks forward to their showcasing of excellence in the performing arts. We encourage readers to check out the program (especially PAMS Choice ), and to come down and meet Canada’s PAMS delegation in person!


Launch of Louis Garneau apparel

Photo: Louis Garneau Products
Photo: Louis Garneau Products

Louis Garneau Sports (www.garneau.com), a Canadian premium bicycle clothing company, was launched in Korea in June 2016 by Hojeon Retail Co., Ltd (www.hjretai.co.kr).  The company was founded in 1983 by Olympic cyclist, Louis Garneau, who competed in the Men’s Road Race at the 1984 L.A. Olympics.  Garneau accomplished over 150 victories in 13 years of bike racing including the Canadian Championship in individual pursuit.  Before competing in the Olympics, he and his wife started manufacturing their first cycling clothes, as they could not find suitable products in the market.  The kit he and the rest of the Canadian team wore in the LA Olympic Games were among his first creations.  After participating in the Olympics in 1984, he decided to turn to business and launched a range of original and comfortable clothing based on his extensive experience in cycling and the intimate knowledge of a cyclists’ specific needs. 

The Garneau company is the oldest and longest-running custom cycling clothing firm in North America.  It remains a family-owned company with products that span a wide spectrum of levels and cycling interests.  Distributed in more than 50 countries and with production facilities in Canada, the United States, and Mexico, Garneau is a designer and an actual manufacturer with numerous patents and industry-leading production designs and techniques.  The Garneau products are available at the following shops:

- Ulvine shop - Cheonho, Pankyo, Songdo, Tareung
- Shinsegye department store - Centum City, Chungcheong, Hanam
- Hyundai Premium Outlet – Kimpo, Songdo, Dongdaemun
- Lotte department store – Pankyo, Bundang


Newly Published Canadian Book, “The Murder Stone”

Newly Published  Canadian Book, “The Murder Stone”

“The Murder Stone”, written by Louise Penny, has been translated into Korean and published by Finis Africae (http://finisafricae.co.kr) in July. “The Murder Stone” is the 4th book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache mysteries series.  Armand Gamache and his wife are celebrating their 35th wedding anniversary at the Manoir Bellechasse, an isolated, luxurious inn, not far from their home in the village of Three Pines.  The Finney family – rich, cultured, and respectable – has also arrived for a memorial to pay tribute to their late father.   The morning after the ceremony, a body is found and the Finney family has another member to mourn.  A guest at the hotel, Chief Inspector Armand Gamache finds himself with a building full of suspects – even the Manoir’s staff have something to hide, and it’s clear that the victim had many enemies.  It is up to Chief Inspector Gamache to unearth secrets long buried and hatreds hidden behind polite smiles.

Louise Penny is the multi-award-winning author of mystery novels, set in Quebec, centred on the work of Chief Inspector Armand Gamanche of the Sûreté du Québec.  Penny’s first career was as a radio broadcaster for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).  After turning to writing, she won numerous awards for her work, including the Agatha Award for best mystery novel of the year, five times, and the Anthony Award for best novel of the year five times. “The Murder Stone” was nominated for an Arthur Ellis Award which is presented annually by the Crime Writers of Canada for the best Canadian crime and mystery writing.  She has authored 13 novels, which have been published in 23 languages. 


Events

2016 KACS Conference: Cybersecurity, Culture and Identity in a Global Era

The 2016 Korean Association for Canadian Studies (KACS) Conference will take place at Chungnam National University in Daejeon on October 7, 2016. Organized by KACS and supported by the Embassy, Chungnam National University and the International Council for Canadian Studies, this multi-disciplinary conference will bring together Korean and Canadian scholars to share perspectives on Canada’s political landscape, cybersecurity, and  other issues of the day – all towards closer academic and people-to-people ties between the two countries. This year’s conference will feature two keynote speakers: Barry Devolin, Former Assistant Deputy Speaker and Member of Parliament in Canada, and Ronald Deibert, Director of the Citizen Lab at the Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto.  The conference will also hold concurrent sessions comparing Canadian and Korean politics, economics and management, society, culture and education.


Embassy of Canada as NATO Contact Point Embassy Hosted Conference on WMD Proliferation

 Photo: Louis Garneau Products
Photo: Mr. Rudischhauser from NATO giving his presentation

On September 9, as current NATO Contact Point Embassy (CPE) for Korea, the Embassy of Canada hosted a conference on “ROK-NATO Cooperation and Perspectives on Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) Proliferation Challenges in Asia and Beyond”. This CPE event brought together NATO-member missions in Seoul, Korean government officials, and local experts for an in-depth discussion on one of the most pressing security issues in the region.  Ambassador Walsh moderated the event, and the keynote address was given by President Shin Dong-ik of the Institute for Foreign Affairs and National Security (IFANS).  The conference also featured presentations by Director Lee Ju Yong of MOFA’s International Security Affairs Division, Director Wolfgang Rudischhauser from NATO’s WMD Non-proliferation Centre, and Dr. Daniel Pinkston, Lecturer and WMD expert with Troy University. The discussions focused on evolving security cooperation between Korea and NATO, as well as WMD proliferation challenges in Asia – including those presented by North Korea’s nuclear program.


Bulletin Board

Holidays

The Embassy in Seoul will be closed on October 10 for Thanksgiving Day and the Consulate in Busan will be closed on October 3 for National Foundation Day of Korea.

Federal By-Election – Issue of the Writ

The writ for the federal by-election in the electoral district of Medicine Hat–Cardston–Warner (Alberta) was issued on September 18, 2016.

Election day will be on Monday, October 24, 2016. Registration for voting can be done online and deadline is October 18, 2016, 6:00 p.m. Eastern Time. For more information, please refer to the Elections Canada website.

Passport application drop-off

A representative for consular services is available from 9:00-11:30 am excluding statutory holidays. You can submit your completed passport application by mail or in person. Completed passport applications can be dropped off at any time during the Embassy’s hours of operation.

Notice to Canadians   (Registration of Canadians Abroad)

Canadian citizens residing in Korea are invited to register with the Embassy. Registration may be made online at http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Corée.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Nouvelles et activités

banner

Octobre 2016

Salle de nouvelles

Ana Serrano vante l’excellence canadienne en matière de technologie et d’innovation à Séoul

 Photo : Ana Serrano prononce une allocution à la Korea Press Foundation
Photo : Ana Serrano prononce une allocution à la Korea Press Foundation

Ana Serrano, directrice des services numériques du Canadian Film Centre (CFC), était à Séoul le mois dernier pour participer au Culture Communication Forum annuel organisé par le Corea Image Communications Institute (du 4 au 6 septembre), ainsi qu’à une série d’interactions coordonnées par l’ambassade du Canada (du 7 au 9 septembre). En sa qualité de directrice des services numériques, Mme Serrano a propulsé la transformation numérique du CFC en une combinaison unique de talent, de produits, d’accélérateur d’entreprise et de maison de production créative. Tout récemment, elle a lancé le premier accélérateur de divertissement numérique du Canada, IDEABOOST. Elle a aussi fondé le CFC Media Lab, institut de renommée internationale en narration interactive, où elle participe étroitement à la production en réalité virtuelle/réalité augmentée (RV/RA) dans les laboratoires spécialisés du CFC.

 

Pendant son séjour à Séoul, Mme Serrano a rencontré des représentants de jeunes entreprises de RV/RA, d’accélérateurs, d’entreprises de production de contenu multimédia et d’organismes gouvernementaux de la Corée, dont le Gyeonggi Centre for Creative Economy and Innovation et la Korea Creative Content Agency. Ces rencontres l’ont aidée à mieux comprendre l’industrie coréenne de la RV/RA et à cibler des possibilités de collaboration et de partenariat entre le Canada et la Corée. Mme Serrano a présenté un exposé sur la « RV et l’avenir du contenu d’information » à plus de 80 spécialistes des nouveaux médias, journalistes et créateurs de contenu RV/RA lors d’un séminaire tenu au Foreign Correspondents’ Club de Séoul à la Korea Press Foundation. Mme Serrano a aussi rencontré des représentants d’importants festivals de cinéma locaux et de musées pour discuter des perspectives de collaboration à la tenue des salons spéciaux de RV en Corée.


Visite du premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, pour encourager la coopération commerciale entre sa province et la Corée du Sud

 Photo : Le premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, prononce un discours-programme lors d’un dîner-conférence
Photo : Le premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, prononce un discours-programme lors d’un dîner-conférence

Le premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, a mené avec succès une mission commerciale de deux jours en Corée du Sud les 19 et 20 septembre 2016. Il s’agissait de la première visite d’un premier ministre de la Saskatchewan en Corée du Sud. M. Wall en a profité pour faire la promotion des produits agricoles et de l’industrie énergétique de la Saskatchewan. Cette mission coïncidait avec la visite d’une délégation de 16 exportateurs et sept associations de l’industrie organisée par le Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership (STEP).

Durant sa visite, le premier ministre Wall a rencontré des représentants de la société Korea Hydro and Nuclear Power, de la Korea Flour Mills Industrial Association et de la société E-Mart. M. Wall a aussi prononcé le discours-programme lors du dîner-conférence offert par le STEP et la Korea Importers Association (KOIMA), au cours duquel il a encouragé une coopération commerciale accrue entre les industries de la Saskatchewan et de la Corée du Sud.


Venez rencontrer la délégation canadienne au PAMS (du 4 au 8 octobre 2016)

Cette année, une vingtaine de professionnels canadiens des arts de la scène, dont des délégations de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Ontario et du Québec, participeront au PAMS (Performing Arts Market in Seoul). Premier événement consacré aux arts de la scène contemporains en Corée, le PAMS est une plateforme importante pour les professionnels asiatiques et internationaux des arts de la scène. Le PAMS présente des œuvres d’exception du domaine des arts de la scène, une salle d’exposition et un éventail de programmes de formation et de réseautage. Il fournit aussi un cadre pour l'échange d’information entre les professionnels des arts de la scène de Corée et d'ailleurs. L’ambassade souhaite la bienvenue à la délégation canadienne et est impatiente d’acclamer leur excellence dans le domaine des arts de la scène. Nous invitons les lecteurs à jeter un coup d’œil au programme (en particulier le choix du PAMS) et à venir rencontrer en personne les membres de la délégation du Canada au PAMS!


Lancement de la marque de vêtements Louis Garneau

Photo : Produits Louis Garneau
Photo : Produits Louis Garneau

Louis Garneau Sports (www.garneau.com), une entreprise canadienne de vêtements de cyclisme haut de gamme, a fait son entrée en Corée en juin 2016 grâce à l’entreprise Hojeon Retail Co., Ltd (www.hjretai.co.kr). Louis Garneau Sports a été fondée en 1983 par le cycliste olympique Louis Garneau, qui a participé à l’épreuve masculine de cyclisme sur route aux Jeux olympiques de Los Angeles en 1984. M. Garneau a remporté plus de 150 victoires en 13 ans de vélo, notamment le Championnat canadien en poursuite individuelle. Avant même de participer aux Jeux olympiques, il a commencé à fabriquer ses premiers vêtements de cyclisme avec sa femme parce qu’il ne trouvait pas de produits répondant à ses besoins sur le marché. L’ensemble que lui-même et le reste de l’équipe canadienne ont porté aux Jeux de Los Angeles faisait partie de ses premières créations. Après sa participation aux Olympiques de 1984, M. Garneau a décidé de se concentrer sur les affaires et a lancé une ligne de vêtements originaux et confortables, s’appuyant sur sa vaste expérience du cyclisme et sa connaissance approfondie des besoins particuliers d’un cycliste.

Garneau est la plus ancienne entreprise de fabrication de vêtements de cyclisme personnalisés en Amérique du Nord. Cette entreprise familiale offre des produits qui couvrent un large éventail de niveaux et d’intérêts cyclistes. Avec des produits distribués dans plus de 50 pays et des installations de production au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Mexique, Garneau est un designer et un fabricant comptant de nombreux brevets ainsi que des designs et techniques de production à la fine pointe. Les produits Garneau sont en vente dans les magasins suivants :

- Boutique Ulvine - Cheonho, Pankyo, Songdo, Tareung
- Magasin à rayons Shinsegye - Centum City, Chungcheong, Hanam
- Hyundai Premium Outlet – Kimpo, Songdo, Dongdaemun
- Magasin à rayons Lotte – Pankyo, Bundang


Publication du roman canadien The Murder Stone en Corée du Sud

Publication du roman canadien The Murder Stone en Corée du Sud

Le roman The Murder Stone de Louise Penny a été traduit en coréen et a été publié par Finis Africae (http://finisafricae.co.kr) en juillet dernier. The Murder Stone est le quatrième tome de la série des enquêtes de l’inspecteur-chef Armand Gamache. Dans ce roman, Armand Gamache et son épouse célèbrent leur 35e anniversaire de mariage au Manoir Bellechasse, un hôtel luxueux et isolé, situé non loin de chez eux dans le village de Three Pines. La famille Finney, riche, cultivée et respectable, vient aussi y séjourner pour inaugurer une statue à la mémoire du patriarche décédé. Le lendemain de la cérémonie, dans la matinée, un corps est découvert et la famille Finney se trouve à nouveau endeuillée. Simple client de l’hôtel, l’inspecteur-chef Armand Gamache se trouve confronté à un manoir grouillant de suspects; même les employés du manoir ont quelque chose à cacher, et il apparaît évident que la victime avait de nombreux ennemis. L’inspecteur-chef Gamache devra déterrer des secrets de longue date et des haines dissimulées derrière des masques mondains.

Louise Penny est l’auteure primée de romans policiers dont l’action se situe au Québec, mettant en vedette l’inspecteur-chef Armand Gamache de la Sûreté du Québec. Avant d’entreprendre une carrière littéraire, Mme Penny a été journaliste à la radio de la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). Ses romans ont mérité de nombreux prix, dont cinq prix Agatha pour le polar de l’année, et cinq prix Anthony pour le roman de l’année. The Murder Stone était en nomination pour le prix Arthur Ellis, décerné chaque année par l’association Crime Writers of Canada pour la meilleure œuvre de crime et de mystère. Elle a aussi signé 13 romans qui ont été publiés dans 23 langues.


Événements

Conférence 2016 de la KACS : cybersécurité, culture et identité dans un contexte mondialisé

La Conférence 2016 de la Korean Association for Canadian Studies (KACS) se tiendra à la Chungnam National University de Daejeon le 7 octobre 2016. Organisée par la KACS et bénéficiant du soutien de l’ambassade, de la Chungnam National University et du Conseil international d’études canadiennes, cette conférence multidisciplinaire réunira des chercheurs boursiers coréens et canadiens qui livreront leurs points de vue sur le paysage politique canadien, la cybersécurité et d’autres questions d’actualité, dans le but de renforcer les liens universitaires et personnels entre les deux pays. La conférence de cette année met en vedette deux conférenciers principaux : Barry Devolin, ancien vice-président adjoint et député au Canada, et Ronald Deibert, directeur du Citizen Lab de la Munk School of Global Affairs de l’Université de Toronto. Des séances simultanées visant à comparer la politique, l’économie et la gestion, la société, la culture et l’éducation au Canada et en Corée sont aussi au programme.


Conférence de l’OTAN sur la prolifération des armes de destruction massive à l’ambassade du Canada

 Photo : M. Rudischhauser de l’OTAN en train de prononcer un discours
Photo : M. Rudischhauser de l’OTAN en train de prononcer un discours

Le 9 septembre, l’Ambassade du Canada, qui est l’ambassade point de contact actuelle de l’OTAN en Corée, a accueilli une conférence sur la « coopération entre la République de Corée et l’OTAN et les perspectives concernant les défis liés à la prolifération des armes de destruction massive (ADM) en Asie et dans le monde ». Cette conférence a permis à des membres des missions de l’OTAN à Séoul, des représentants du gouvernement coréen et des experts locaux d’avoir une discussion approfondie sur l’une des questions de sécurité les plus pressantes dans la région. L’ambassadeur Walsh était le modérateur de la conférence, et le discours-programme a été prononcé par M. Shin Dong-ik, président du Institute for Foreign Affairs and National Security (IFANS). Le programme comprenait aussi des exposés de M. Lee Ju Yong, directeur de la division des affaires de sécurité internationale du ministère des Affaires étrangères de la Corée, de M. Wolfgang Rudischhauser, directeur du Centre pour la non-prolifération des ADM de l’OTAN, et de M. Daniel Pinkston, conférencier et spécialiste des ADM de l’Université Troy. Les discussions ont porté sur l’évolution de la coopération en matière de sécurité entre la Corée et l’OTAN, ainsi que sur les défis liés à la prolifération des ADM en Asie, y compris celles qui sont présentées par le programme nucléaire de la Corée du Nord.


Babillard

Congés

L’ambassade du Canada à Séoul sera fermée le 10 octobre pour l’Action de grâce et le consulat de Busan sera fermé le 3 octobre pour la Journée nationale de la fondation de la Corée.

Élection partielle fédérale – Délivrance du bref

Le bref pour l’élection partielle fédérale dans la circonscription de Medicine Hat–Cardston–Warner (Alberta) a été délivré le 18 septembre 2016.

Les élections auront lieu le lundi 24 octobre 2016. L’inscription pour voter peut se faire en ligne et la date limite est le 18 octobre 2016, à 18 h (heure de l’Est). Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site Web d’Élections Canada.

Dépôt de demandes de passeport

Un représentant des services consulaires est sur place de 9 h à 11 h 30, à l’exclusion des jours fériés. Vous pouvez présenter votre demande de passeport par la poste ou en personne. Les demandes de passeport remplies peuvent être déposées en tout temps pendant les heures d’ouverture de l’ambassade.

Avis aux Canadiens (Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger)

Canadian citizens residing in Korea are invited to register with the Embassy. Registration may be made online at http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-25