Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Korea.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

News and Events

banner

August 2016

In this issue:

Newsroom

Events

Canadian Stories:


Newsroom

Arrival of new resources and books at the Canadian Resource Centre

The Embassy of Canada had a successful book donation event on July 26 with Dr. Simon Youngsuk Moon, Professor of Kangnam University.  Now retired, Professor Moon is a graduate of the University of Toronto and one of the pioneers of Canadian Studies in Korea, starting Korea’s first degree-granting program in Canadian Studies at Kangnam University in March 2001 and creating more than 30 courses for the four-year program.  At the event, Professor Moon donated 800 books and resources on Canada which he personally collected before his retirement. Ambassador Walsh expressed his deepest appreciation to Professor Moon for his contribution to the community, particularly for young Korean students. Along with Professor Moon, 28 students from Songrye Middle School also joined the event.


Canada Week 2016

Environment Talk: A Special Rendezvous for Environment and the Arts

The Embassy of Canada successfully hosted an environmental talk titled “A Special Rendezvous for Environment and the Arts” in partnership with the Seoul Metropolitan Government and UNEP Korea at Seoul City Hall on July 22. Ambassador Eric Walsh and Mr. Chang-beom Kim, Ambassador for International Relations of the Seoul Metropolitan Government, gave welcoming remarks to more than 200 people gathered to listen to three cultural experts from Canada and Korea. The three speakers, including Henry Tsang, sustainable architect and professor, Hoseob Yoon, green designer and professor, and Joan Marie Galat, author of the Dot to Dot in the Sky series, shared stories on how they tackle climate change in their respective fields by protecting the environment and fostering sustainability. The audience appreciated this unique opportunity to understand environmental issues through arts and culture.

Make Friends with Canadian authors

On July 23, the Embassy of Canada hosted a creative writing workshop for young students and their parents at the Embassy’s Schofield Hall. Three renowned children’s book authors from Canada - Dan Bar-el, shortlisted for 2015 Governor General’s Award for his book Audrey;  Kallie George, co-creator of the award-winning Simply Small board book series; and Lee Edward Fodi, co-founder of Creative Writing for Children Society in Vancouver – gave fascinating presentations to a packed house of more than 100 students and parents from Canadian curriculum schools and international schools in Korea.  An additional workshop with the three authors was held in partnership with the Korea Foundation later the same day in the Seminar Room of the KF Global Centre. About 80 students and parents from elementary and middle schools in the Seoul and Gyeonggi areas participated in this special workshop and enjoyed the opportunity to interact with the renowned Canadian authors and learned new ways to think and write creatively.  

Meet the Author: Special Storytelling Session with Joan Marie Galat

The Embassy of Canada and the Songpa English Library for Children organized a special storytelling session with Canadian award-winning author, Joan Marie Galat, on July 23 in the Songpa English Library for Children. Joan shared her love of the stars and the night sky through ancient myths and astronomy facts that reveal the marvels of space. More than 60 children and parents from the community enjoyed the chance to meet with the author and find out about her journey into publishing.

AIRPURA, Air Purifier from Canada is launched in Korea

JSP International launched AIRPURA (www.airpura.co.kr), an air purifier system developed by the Quebec-based company in October, 2015.  AIRPURA was founded in 2004 to meet the increased market demand for air purifiers which can be a solution for respiratory allergic diseases, one of the top 5 major chronic diseases in Canada.   It is equipped with 4 high efficient filtration systems: 1) the Pre-Filter traps larger dust and particles such as lint from clogging the other filters; 2) the Activated Carbon Bed absorbs airborne chemicals, noxious gases and odors; 3) the H14 HEPA Filter traps 99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns – as small as some bacteria; and 4) TitanClean™, photocatalytic oxidation technology system which safely breaks down harmful chemicals and odors.  AIRPURA has been well received by consumers in North America since its foundation. Recently, Airpura obtained the KAA mark certified by the Korea Atopy Association.  The KAA mark is given to products which are safe from atopic disease. Airpura is sold at 31 shops across the nation including Lotte department store, Hyundai department store, the Galleria and AK Plaza.


Events

Science, Technology and Innovation Networking Reception held at the Canadian Embassy

The Association of Korean-Canadian Scientist and Engineers (AKCSE) held a networking reception at the Embassy of Canada on July 15th to mark the association’s 30th anniversary. More than 30 scientists from Canadian universities and key representatives from Korea’s science communities including former Ministers of Science and Technology joined in the celebration.  In his welcoming remarks, Ambassador Eric Walsh noted the growing ties between Canada and Korea in the field of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) and expressed high hopes for increased collaboration after the implementation of the Canada-Korea STI Cooperation Agreement, expected to be signed and ratified later this year.  As part of the celebration, the AKCSE gave an award of appreciation to three individuals to recognize their valuable contributions to the Association: Dr. Byung-Joo Min, former member of the National Assembly; Dr. Nam Sung Ahn, former President of Korea Institute Energy Technology Evaluation and Planning; and Mr. Sung-wook Hwang, Chair of Goryo Medical Foundation. 

News from Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Korea   

Are you an alumnus or a current student at a Canadian University or College? Or are you interested in finding out what it’s like to study at a Canadian University or College from graduates? 

Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Korea (CanCham Korea) will be hosting Canadian University Alumni (CUA) Night on Friday, August 26th. CUA Night is an annual networking event which brings together business professionals, senior executives, educators and young professionals who graduated from Canadian universities or colleges.

This year the event will take place at the Embassy of Canada in Korea, and there will be great food, entertainment, and raffles, along with a chance to meet mentors from different industry fields. This will be an excellent opportunity to expand your network and also form lasting friendships. We encourage you to join us and stay tuned for more details at www.facebook.com/cancham.korea.


Canadian Stories:

Explore Canadian Pubs Near You!

Canucks Restaurant

Canucks is a restaurant started by a Korean couple who moved to Canada 11 years ago with the hope of using their experience to help Koreans who are interested in Canada, and help Canadians in Korea feel a little closer to home. Why don’t we listen to this couple’s story?

 Hi, we are Sue and John from Canucks.

Thank you so much for your support for Canucks Restaurant. We are Korean Canadian. One spring day 11 years ago, we moved to Vancouver, Canada with our little sons, Ryan and Dexter, as well as our parents. In retrospect, there were so many mistakes and trials and errors, as well as numerous moments of joy and sorrow over the past 11 years. Although it’s never been easy to adapt and live as immigrants in a strange land, we were able to raise our kids without big difficulties and live as Canadians because Canada is a place where your ethnic, cultural and language differences can be accepted. Interestingly, we were born and raised in Itaewon, so we know the traits and history of Itaewon better than anybody. By chance, we came back to visit Korea last year and saw how much the appearance of Itaewon had changed. We saw lots of foreign restaurants in the streets, but noticed that there was no restaurant that represents Canada. That’s how Canucks started. We both hope that this restaurant will be a place for everybody to share and enjoy Canadian food, culture, and information at the very center of Itaewon. 

We invite you to Canada, and Canucks!!

Sue & John

 

Phillies

Phillies is a North American style pub owned by Jim Cuthbertson. Jim was born and raised in Edmonton, Alberta Canada and moved to Korea in 2004. He has run the Phillis Pub since 2011 in Haebangchon in Seoul, well-known as Seoul’s expat and foreigner neighbourhood.

Phillies has two floors; the ground floor has the main bar and kitchen for regular dining and drinking and downstairs is where all the fun happens. They have dart boards and a pool table for everyone to enjoy. With a North American style pub menu, all the food is made fresh on site. The pub also offers a varied choice of special offers to the customers. For instance, they are running ‘Wing Night’ on Thursdays and providing a ‘Phillies Sunday Special’ menu on Sundays.

As the pub’s symbol is a pheasant, they created a special drink called ‘Pleasant Pheasant’ which you can enjoy only at Phillies. Please check out more details from Phillies’ official Facebook Page! https://www.facebook.com/Phillies-pub-170828282969113/

 

Bulletin Board

Holidays

The Embassy in Seoul and the Consulate in Busan will be closed on August 15 for Liberation Day.

Passport application drop-off

Our consular/passport service hours are 9:00~11:30 am Monday to Friday. However, you can drop off your completed application at the Embassy after our service hours.

Notice to Canadians 
(Registration of Canadians Abroad)

Canadian citizens residing in Korea are invited to register with the Embassy. Registration may be made online at http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-08-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Corée.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Nouvelles et activités

banner

Août 2016

Dans ce numéro :

Salle de nouvelles

Événements

Histoires canadiennes


Salle de nouvelles

Arrivée de nouvelles ressources et de nouveaux livres au Centre de ressources canadiennes

Le 26 juillet, l’ambassade du Canada a tenu un événement de don de livres qui a connu beaucoup de succès. Le professeur Simon Youngsuk Moon, Ph.D. professeur à l’Université Kangnam était présent à l’événement. Maintenant à la retraite, le professeur Moon est diplômé de l’Université de Toronto et il est l’un des pionniers des études canadiennes en Corée. En mars 2001, il a démarré à l’Université Kangnam le premier programme d’études canadiennes menant à l’obtention d’un diplôme de la Corée et il a créé plus de 30 cours pour le programme de quatre ans. Lors de l’événement, le professeur Moon a donné une collection de 800 livres et ressources sur le Canada qu’il a personnellement amassée avant sa retraite. L’ambassadeur Walsh a exprimé sa profonde gratitude au professeur Moon pour sa contribution à la communauté, en particulier pour les jeunes élèves coréens. En plus du professeur Moon, 28 élèves de la Songrye Middle School ont également assisté à l’événement.


Canada en fête 2016

Concert-causerie sur l’environnement : un rendez-vous spécial de l’environnement et des arts

Le 22 juillet, l’ambassade du Canada a tenu à l’hôtel de ville de Séoul une conférence sur l’environnement intitulée « A Special Rendezvous for Environment and the Arts » (Un rendez-vous spécial de l’environnement et des arts). L’événement, qui a connu beaucoup de succès, était organisé en partenariat avec le gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul et le PNUE Corée. L’ambassadeur Walsh et M. Chang-beom Kim, ambassadeur pour les relations internationales du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul, ont prononcé une allocution de bienvenue devant un public de 200 personnes réunies pour entendre trois experts culturels du Canada et de la Corée. Les trois conférenciers, soit M. Henry Tsang, professeur et architecte en développement durable, M. Ho-Seob Yoon, professeur et éco-concepteur ainsi que Mme Joan Mari Galat, auteure de la série Dot to Dot in the Sky ont partagé des anecdotes sur la manière dont ils abordent le problème du changement climatique dans leurs domaines respectifs en protégeant l’environnement et en favorisant le développement durable. Le public a apprécié cette occasion unique de comprendre les questions environnementales à travers les arts et la culture.

Événement Make Friends with Canadian Authors

Le 23 juillet, l’ambassade du Canada a été l’hôte d’un atelier de création littéraire s’adressant aux jeunes élèves et à leurs parents. Trois auteurs renommés de livres pour enfants du Canada étaient présents à l’événement qui a eu lieu au Schofield Hall de l’ambassade. Ainsi, Dan Bar-el, finaliste en 2015 du Prix du Gouverneur général pour son livre Audrey; Kallie George, cocréatrice de la série de livres primée Simply Small ainsi que Lee Edward Fodi, cofondateur de l’organisme Creative Writing for Children Society de Vancouver ont donné des présentations fascinantes devant une salle comble de plus de 100 élèves fréquentant des écoles offrant des programmes d’études canadiennes et des écoles internationales de la Corée ainsi que de leurs parents. Plus tard dans la journée, les trois auteurs ont pris part à un autre atelier organisé en partenariat avec la Korea Foundation et qui a eu lieu dans la salle de séminaire du Global Centre de la Korea Foundation. Environ 80 élèves des écoles primaires et intermédiaires de Séoul et de Gyeonggi accompagnés de leurs parents ont pris part à cet atelier spécial et ont profité de l’occasion pour discuter avec les auteurs canadiens renommés et apprendre de nouvelles méthodes de réfléchir et d’écrire de manière créative.

Rencontre avec l’auteure : séance spéciale de conte avec Joan Marie Galat

L’ambassade du Canada et la Songpa English Library for Children ont organisé conjointement une séance spéciale de conte avec l’auteure canadienne primée Joan Marie Galat. La séance a eu lieu le 23 juillet à la Songpa English Library for Children. Mme Galat a communiqué son amour des étoiles et du ciel nocturne à travers des mythes anciens et des faits astronomiques qui révèlent les merveilles de l’espace. Plus de 60 enfants et parents de la collectivité ont profité de l’occasion pour rencontrer l’auteure et découvrir son parcours dans l’univers de l’édition.

Lancement en Corée d’AIRPURA, un purificateur d’air produit au Canada

En octobre 2015, JSP International a lancé AIRPURA (www.airpura.co.kr), un système de purification de l’air mis au point par une entreprise établie au Québec. AIRPURA a été fondée en 2004 afin de répondre à une demande croissante sur le marché pour des purificateurs d’air qui peuvent être une solution aux maladies allergiques respiratoires, qui sont l’une des cinq principales causes de maladies chroniques graves au Canada. L’appareil est doté de quatre systèmes de filtration à haute efficacité : 1) le préfiltre capte les particules et la poussière plus grosses comme la poussière et les fibres, empêchant ainsi de bloquer les autres filtres; 2) le lit de charbon actif absorbe les produits chimiques en suspension dans l’air, les gaz nocifs et les odeurs; 3) le filtre H14 HEPA emprisonne 99,97 % des particules aussi petites que 0,3 microns, ce qui correspond à la taille de certaines bactéries; 4) et TitanClean™, un système utilisant la technologie de l'oxydation photocatalytique qui décompose les produits chimiques nocifs et les odeurs en toute sécurité. Depuis sa fondation, AIRPURA a été bien accueillie par les consommateurs en Amérique du Nord. Récemment, Airpura a obtenu la certification KAA décernée par la Korea Atopy Association. La marque KAA est accordée aux produits qui protègent contre les maladies atopiques. Airpura est vendue dans 31 magasins au pays, notamment au grand magasin Lotte, au grand magasin Hyundai, à la Galleria et à AK Plaza.


Événements

Réception de réseautage sur la science, la technologie et l’innovation à l’ambassade canadienne

Le 15 juillet dernier, la Association of Korean-Canadian Scientists and Engineers (AKCSE) a tenu une réception de réseautage à l’ambassade canadienne pour célébrer son 30e anniversaire. Plus de 30 scientifiques d’universités canadiennes ainsi que d’éminents représentants des milieux scientifiques de la Corée, dont d’anciens ministres des Sciences et de la Technologie, ont pris part à la célébration. Dans son discours d’ouverture, l’ambassadeur Eric Walsh a souligné les liens croissants qui se tissent entre le Canada et la Corée dans le domaine de la science, de la technologie et de l’innovation (STI) et a exprimé un grand espoir de voir la collaboration s’intensifier après la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de coopération Canada-Corée dans le domaine de la STI, qui doit être signé et ratifié cette année. Durant la cérémonie, la AKCSE a décerné un prix d’appréciation à trois personnes pour souligner leurs contributions précieuses envers l’Association : Mme Byung-Joo Min, ex-membre de l’Assemblée nationale, M. Nam Sung Ahn, ex-président du Korea Institute Energy Technology Evaluation and Planning, et M. Sung-wook Hwang, président de la Goryo Medical Foundation. 

Nouvelles de la Chambre de commerce du Canada en Corée 

Êtes-vous un ancien étudiant ou un étudiant actuel d’une université ou d’un collège canadien? Ou aimeriez-vous découvrir ce que c’est qu’étudier dans une université ou un collège canadien du point de vue des diplômés?

La Chambre de commerce du Canada en Corée tiendra une soirée des anciens étudiants d’universités canadiennes le vendredi 26 août. Cette soirée est un événement de réseautage annuel qui réunit des professionnels du monde des affaires, des cadres supérieurs, des professeurs et des jeunes professionnels diplômés d’universités ou de collèges canadiens. 

Cette année, la soirée se tiendra à l’ambassade du Canada en Corée. Au programme : bonne cuisine, divertissement, tirages au sort, et la chance de rencontrer des mentors de différents secteurs d’activité. Ce sera une occasion en or d’élargir votre réseau et de nouer des amitiés durables. Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous et à consulter la page Facebook de la Chambre pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements : www.facebook.com/cancham.korea.


Histoires canadiennes :

Explorez les pubs canadiens près de chez vous!

Le restaurant Canucks

Le restaurant Canucks a été fondé par un couple coréen qui s’est établi au Canada il y a onze ans, désireux de mettre à profit nos expériences pour aider les Coréens qui s’intéressent au Canada, et pour aider les Canadiens vivant en Corée à se sentir un peu plus près de chez eux. Voici l’histoire de ce couple. 

« Bonjour! Nous sommes Sue et John du restaurant Canucks. 

Merci beaucoup du soutien que vous témoignez à notre restaurant. Nous sommes à la fois coréens et canadiens. Un jour de printemps, il y a onze ans, nous nous sommes établis à Vancouver avec nos jeunes garçons, Ryan et Dexter, ainsi qu’avec nos parents. Avec du recul, nous nous rendons compte des nombreuses bévues et des essais et erreurs, mais aussi des nombreux moments de joie et de tristesse vécus au cours des onze dernières années. S’il n’est jamais facile de s’adapter et de mener sa vie d’immigrant dans un pays étranger, nous avons réussi à élever nos enfants sans grande difficulté et à vivre en tant que Canadiens parce que le Canada est un endroit où les différences ethniques, culturelles et linguistiques sont acceptées. Fait intéressant, nous sommes nés et avons grandi dans Itaewon, alors nous connaissons les caractéristiques et l’histoire de ce quartier mieux que quiconque. Par un concours de circonstances, nous sommes revenus en Corée l’année dernière et nous avons constaté à quel point le visage d’Itaewon a changé. Nous avons vu de nombreux restaurants étrangers, mais aucun qui représentait le Canada. C’est de ce constat qu’est né le restaurant Canucks. Nous espérons que ce restaurant sera la destination de tous ceux qui désirent partager et savourer des plats canadiens, s’imprégner de la culture canadienne et en apprendre davantage sur ce pays, en plein cœur d’Itaewon. 

Nous vous invitons à venir au Canada... et au Canucks! »

Sue et John

 

Le pub Phillies

Le Phillies est un pub nord-américain tenu par Jim Cuthbertson. Natif d’Edmonton, en Alberta, au Canada, Jim est déménagé en Corée en 2004. Il exploite le pub Phillies depuis 2011 dans le secteur Haebangchon de Séoul, reconnu comme le quartier des expatriés et des immigrants.

Le Phillies compte deux étages; le rez-de-chaussée accueille le bar principal, la cuisine et la salle à manger, et le sous-sol est l’endroit où la fête bat son plein. Jeux de fléchettes et table de billard sont à la disposition de tous. Le menu, typique des pubs nord-américains, se compose exclusivement d’aliments frais préparés sur place. Le pub propose aussi un éventail d’offres spéciales. Mentionnons par exemple la soirée des ailes de poulet (Wing Night) le jeudi et le menu spécial « Phillies Sunday Special » le dimanche.

Comme l’emblème du pub est un faisan, l’établissement offre une boisson spéciale baptisée « Pleasant Pheasant » (le faisan amusant), qu’on ne sert nulle part ailleurs. Consultez la page Facebook officielle du Phillies pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements : https://www.facebook.com/Phillies-pub-170828282969113/ 

 

Babillard

Congé

L’ambassade du Canada à Seoul et le consulat de Busan seront fermés le 15 août pour le Jour de la libération.

Dépôt de demandes de passeport

Les heures d’ouverture de nos services consulaires et de passeport sont du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 11 h 30. Vous pouvez toutefois déposer votre demande de passeport remplie à l’ambassade après nos heures de service.

Avis aux Canadiens (Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger)

Les citoyens canadiens résidant en Corée sont invités à s’inscrire auprès de l’ambassade. Il est possible de s’inscrire en ligne à l’adresse http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-08-19