Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Kuwait.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Kuwait Relations

Canada and Kuwait established diplomatic relations in 1965. Canada has an Embassy in Kuwait City. Kuwait is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa.

At the basis of the friendship between the two countries is the fact that more than 4000 Canadian Forces personnel served in the Gulf in 1990-1991, as part of the international coalition to force the Iraqi military out of Kuwait. In March 2006, Kuwait, through the Kuwaiti Embassy in Canada, awarded a Liberation of Kuwait Medal to Canadian soldiers who served in the first Gulf War.      

The establishment in Kuwait of a staging base to support Canada’s mission to Afghanistan is the latest major development in our bilateral relations. During his visit to Kuwait July 11-12, 2011, the Minister of National Defence, Peter McKay, signed an MOU formalising the Canadian military presence in Kuwait. The staging base has been operational since September 2011 and is primarily involved in moving equipment, material and personnel out of Afghanistan.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, John Baird, attended the G8 BMENA meeting in Kuwait City, November 20-22, 2011. On this occasion, he had bilateral meetings with the Emir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, Prime Minister Nasser, and the new Foreign Minister, Sheikh Sabah Khaled Al-Sabah.

The Prime Minister of Kuwait, Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohamed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, made a working visit to Canada in September 2011.The visit included a ceremony to sign a Foreign investment Protection Agreement (FIPA), a tête-à-tête with Prime Minister Harper and a working lunch with the Prime Minister and Ministers of Defence, Health and Trade.

The Governor General of Canada, The Right Honourable David Johnston and his wife, visited Kuwait, February 25-27, 2011, at the invitation of the Amir of Kuwait on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the liberation of the country following the 1990-91 Iraqi occupation.

There have also been a number of high-level Canadian visits to Kuwait:

  • The Minister of International Trade visited Kuwait in October 2010;
  • Kuwait Minister of Commerce and Industry visited Canada in November 2009;
  • The Kuwaiti Minister of Health was twice in Canada in 2010.

A delegation from the Kuwaiti Majlis Ash Shura (legislative council) visited Canada in September 2010.

Kuwait is a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) which is a priority market under Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy. This small, rich country can count on oil reserves estimated at 104 billion barrels (approximately 7% of the global reserves).

Many Canadian companies are currently active in Kuwait covering a range of trade sectors. Canada exports machinery, vehicles, wood and food products.

May 2012


Note: To view the PDF version of a document you may require Acrobat Reader available free of charge from Adobe or other software capable of viewing PDF files. An accessible version of Acrobat Reader, which includes support for screen readers, is also available. Alternatively, you can convert a PDF file to HTML or ASCII text by using one of Adobe’s conversion services.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-08-13

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Koweit.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Koweït

Le Canada et le Koweït ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1965. Le Canada a une ambassade dans la ville de Koweït. Une ambassade représente le Koweït à Ottawa.

Au centre de l'amitié entre les deux pays se trouve le fait que plus de 4 000 membres du personnel des Forces canadiennes ont servi dans la région du Golfe de 1990 à 1991 au sein de la coalition internationale visant à expulser les militaires irakiens du Koweït. En mars 2006, le Koweït, par l'intermédiaire de l'ambassade koweïtienne du Canada, a remis une médaille de libération du Koweït aux soldats canadiens qui ont servi dans la première guerre du Golfe.           

L'établissement d'une base d'étape au Koweït visant à soutenir la mission du Canada en Afghanistan constitue le dernier développement majeur dans le cadre de nos relations bilatérales. Durant sa visite au Koweït du 11 au 12 juillet 2011, le ministre de la Défense, Peter McKay, a signé une un protocole d'entente officialisant la présence militaire canadienne dans ce pays. La base d'étape est opérationnelle depuis le mois de septembre 2011 et sert principalement à déplacer de l'équipement, du matériel et du personnel hors de l'Afghanistan.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères, John Baird, a assisté à la réunion du G8-BMENA dans la ville de Koweït, qui a eu lieu du 20 au 22 novembre 2011. À cette occasion, il a assisté à des rencontres bilatérales avec l'émir du Koweït, le cheik Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, le premier ministre Nasser et le nouveau ministre des Affaires étrangères, le cheik Sabah Khaled Al-Sabah.

Le premier ministre du Koweït, le cheik Nasser Al-Mohamed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, a effectué une visite de travail au Canada au mois de septembre 2011. La visite comprenait une cérémonie visant à souligner la signature de l'Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers, un tête-à-tête avec le premier ministre Harper et un déjeuner de travail avec le premier ministre ainsi que les ministres de la Défense, de la Santé et du Commerce.

À l'occasion du 20e anniversaire de la libération du pays à la suite de l'occupation irakienne de 1990 à 1991, le gouverneur général du Canada, le très honorable David Johnston, ainsi que sa femme ont visité le Koweït du 25 au 27 février 2011, sur l'invitation de l'émir du Koweït.

Un certain nombre d'autres visites canadiennes de haut niveau ont eu lieu au Koweït :

  • Le ministre du Commerce international a visité le Koweït en octobre 2010;
  • Le ministre du Commerce et de l'Industrie du Koweït a visité le Canada en novembre 2009;
  • Le ministre koweïtien de la Santé a visité le Canada deux fois en 2010.

Une délégation du Majlis Ash-Shura koweïtien (conseil législatif) a visité le Canada en septembre 2010.

Le Koweït, qui est membre du Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG), constitue un marché prioritaire pour le Canada dans le cadre de sa stratégie commerciale mondiale. Ce pays, petit mais riche, possède des réserves de pétrole estimées à 104 milliards de barils (environ 7 % des réserves mondiales).

De nombreuses entreprises canadiennes sont actuellement actives au Koweït dans divers secteurs commerciaux. Le Canada exporte de la machinerie, des véhicules ainsi que des produits forestiers et alimentaires.

Mai 2012


Veuillez prendre note: Pour visualiser un document en format PDF, vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat Reader d’Adobe, offert gratuitement, ou d’un autre logiciel capable de visualiser des documents en format PDF. Nous offrons également une version accessible d’Acrobat Reader, qui comprend un support pour les lecteurs écrans. À l’inverse, vous pouvez convertir un document en format PDF en format HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l’un des services de conversion d’Adobe (offert en anglais seulement).

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-08-13