Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Kuwait.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Qatar Relations

Canada maintains very good relations with Qatar. These relations are mainly commercial. However, due to Qatar growing regional influence, Canada has developed regular political dialogue with the Qatari leadership.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, John Baird, visited Qatar in March 2012. During his visit, he officially opened the Canadian Embassy in Doha. The Governor General of Canada, David Johnston, and his wife visited Qatar, February 27 to March 01, 2011. During his visit, he met the Amir of Qatar, Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, and his wife, Sheikha Mozah bint Nasser Al-Missned, Chair of the Qatar Foundation. The former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Lawrence Cannon, visited Qatar on several occasions. He attended the Contact Group Meeting on Libya in Doha on April 2011. In January 2011, he co-chaired, with his Qatari counterpart, the G8-BMENA in Doha.

In October 2010, an Air Transport agreement was concluded with the Qatar which allows Qatar Airways to operate 3 passenger flights and 3 cargo flights a week to Canada. Qatar Airways started its flights to Montréal in June 29, 2011.

Canadian Forces were based in Qatar from 1990-1991 during the first Iraq-Coalition Gulf War. Several Canadian military personnel are posted to Al Udeid US military base in Qatar.

Nearly 5,000 Canadians reside and work in Qatar. Trade relations between Canada and Qatar are expected to expand significantly over the coming years as Qatar’s economy continues to grow apace and as Canadian exporters and investors become more familiar with the unparalleled infrastructure-based opportunities it offers. Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Qatar has fluctuated significantly in recent years but remains substantial. In 2011, bilateral trade reached a record high of $459.5 million, of which $398 million, or 86%, were imports of liquefied natural gas from Qatar. Canada’s top merchandise exports to Qatar in 2011 are iron ore, aircraft, and machinery equipment. Qatar’s service imports from Canada consist primarily of engineering; architecture, and education services.

Among the most important projects in Qatar that involve Canada is a complete technical college in Doha operated by Newfoundland and Labrador’s College of the North Atlantic (curriculum design, teaching and overall management). The college, which opened in September 2002, has hired about 600 Canadian staff and enrols about 2000 students. The University of Calgary opened a nursing school in Qatar in May 2007. Prestigious companies like Norsk Hydro, Forrec, SNC-Lavalin and Toronto Sick Kids Hospital are also established in Qatar, along with other companies in the high tech and service sectors.

Qatar is a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) which is a priority market under Canada’s trade Global Commerce Strategy.

 

May 2012


Note: To view the PDF version of a document you may require Acrobat Reader available free of charge from Adobe or other software capable of viewing PDF files. An accessible version of Acrobat Reader, which includes support for screen readers, is also available. Alternatively, you can convert a PDF file to HTML or ASCII text by using one of Adobe’s conversion services.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Koweit.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Qatar

Le Canada entretient de très bonnes relations avec le Qatar. Ces relations sont surtout commerciales. Toutefois, en raison de l’influence régionale grandissante du Qatar, le Canada a établi un dialogue politique régulier avec les autorités du Qatar.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères, John Baird, s’est rendu au Qatar en mars 2012. Au cours de sa visite, il a inauguré l’ambassade du Canada à Doha. Le gouverneur général du Canada, David Johnston, et son épouse ont visité le Qatar, du 27 février au 1er mars 2011. Au cours de son séjour, il a rencontré l’émir du Qatar, Cheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, et son épouse, Cheikha Mozah bint Nasser Al-Missned, présidente de la Fondation du Qatar. L’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères, Lawrence Cannon, s’est rendu au Qatar à plusieurs reprises. Il a assisté à la réunion du Groupe de contact pour la Libye, à Doha, en avril 2011. En janvier 2011, il a coprésidé, en compagnie de son homologue du Qatar, le G8-MOEAN à Doha.

En octobre 2010, un accord sur le transport aérien a été conclu avec le Qatar, qui permet à Qatar Airways d’effectuer trois vols de passagers et trois vols de transport de marchandises par semaine vers le Canada. Qatar Airways a commencé à effectuer des vols vers Montréal le 29 juin 2011.

Les Forces canadiennes étaient établies au Qatar de 1990 à 1991 pendant la première guerre du Golfe opposant la coalition à l’Iraq. De nombreux militaires canadiens sont affectés à la base militaire américaine située à Al Udeid, au Qatar.

Près de 5 000 Canadiens vivent et travaillent au Qatar. Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Qatar devraient s’intensifier considérablement au cours des prochaines années parce que l’économie du Qatar continue de croître rapidement et les exportateurs et les investisseurs canadiens connaissent de mieux en mieux les débouchés incomparables axés sur les infrastructures qu’offre ce pays. Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises entre le Canada et le Qatar ont considérablement fluctué au cours des dernières années, mais ils demeurent importants. En 2011, les échanges bilatéraux ont atteint un sommet record de 459,5 millions de dollars. De cette somme, 398 millions de dollars, ou 86 %, représentaient des importations de gaz naturel liquéfié du Qatar. En 2011, le Canada a surtout exporté vers le Qatar du minerai de fer, des aéronefs et de la machinerie. Les importations de services du Qatar en provenance du Canada consistent notamment en services d’ingénierie, d’architecture et d’éducation.

Parmi les principaux projets auxquels participe le Canada au Qatar, mentionnons le collège technique à Doha qu’administre le College of the North Atlantic de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (élaboration des programmes, enseignement et gestion globale). Le collège, qui a ouvert ses portes en septembre 2002, emploie 600 Canadiens et accueille environ 2 000 étudiants. L'Université de Calgary a ouvert une école de soins infirmiers au Qatar en mai 2007. De prestigieuses entreprises, comme Norsk Hydro, Forrec, SNC-Lavalin et le Toronto Sick Kids Hospital sont également établies au Qatar, tout comme d’autres entreprises dans les secteurs de la haute technologie et des services.

Le Qatar est membre du Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG) qui représente un marché prioritaire dans le cadre de la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada.

Mai 2012


Veuillez prendre note : Pour visualiser un document en format PDF, vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat Reader d’Adobe, offert gratuitement, ou d’un autre logiciel capable de visualiser des documents en format PDF. Nous offrons également une version accessible d’Acrobat Reader, qui comprend un support pour les lecteurs écrans. À l’inverse, vous pouvez convertir un document en format PDF en format HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l’un des services de conversion d’Adobe (offert en anglais seulement).

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-21