Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Kuwait.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Services for Canadians

Notarial Services for Canadians

Notice: As of April 1st, 2017

  • Canadian documents will no longer be authenticated by the Embassy of Canada without the prior authentication by the Global Affairs Canada and the Kuwaiti Embassy in Ottawa (revised process is indicated below).

  • Police clearance request letters will no longer be issued by the Embassy of Canada. You are requested to obtain a Criminal Record Check with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) or with any local or provincial police station in Canada, prior to your arrival to Kuwait (please follow the notes in the Criminal Record Check section below).

Preamble

The Embassy of Canada to the State of Kuwait provides notarial services primarily for the benefit of Canadian citizens.

Consular officers are not notaries, nor are they commissioners of oaths, lawyers, etc. Consular officers do not provide the following services:

  • Certification of the genuineness of documents;
  • Drafting or modification of documents for clients;
  • Act as an agent for another entity;
  • Verify the identity of a person;
  • Sign any document if the content can be misleading or used for fraudulent purposes;
  • Provide legal advice, translation or interpretation services;
  • Provide immigration advice.

Their ability to provide services does not create an obligation to perform notarial functions on any document; consular officers may elect not to do so.

In many cases, local service providers are in a better position than the Embassy to offer the services.

Services Provided: Processing time of 3 working days unless otherwise stated.

  1. Authentication  &  Attestation of Canadian Documents Only
  2. Witnessing a Signature
  3. Certified Copies  for use in Canada only
  4. Free To Marry/ Declaration in lieu of Certificate of Non-impediment to Marriage in Kuwait

We DO NOT provide the following services:

  1. Authentication & Attestation of Kuwaiti & Foreign Documents
  2. Police Clearance Certificate Request Form
  3. Confirming Details of a Canadian Passport
  4. Transfer of Residency To-From a Canadian Passport
  5. Visa-Residency Sponsorship
  6. Driver’s Licenses
  7. Translation and Interpretation
  8. Legal Advice
  9. Immigration

Services Provided

Processing time of 3 working days unless otherwise stated.

1. Authentication & Attestation of Canadian Documents

Fee: $50.00 CAD - Visa or MasterCard only.

The Embassy can apply its seal on your Canadian document only if it has been previously authenticated by Global Affairs Canada in Ottawa. The non-validation of the content stamp will be added since the Embassy will only certify the genuineness of the signature and seal of GAC official.

If the Canadian document was already authenticated by Global Affairs Canada and the Kuwaiti Embassy in Ottawa, Canadians can simply print the Information Note – Legalizing Canada Issued Documents for Use in Kuwait (.pdf).

Please carefully note the steps to follow on the Authentication of Documents page.

2. Witnessing a Signature

Fee: $50.00 CAD - Visa or MasterCard only.

The Embassy of Canada may witness a signature on certain documents, on a case-by-case basis and after a review of the documents, to vouch for the authenticity of the signature. This is not to be confused with attesting or verifying the client’s identity, which cannot be performed by the consular officer.

Documents to be witnessed must be prepared by the client, as consular officers cannot do this. Please submit an electronic version of the whole document, for review, to KWAIT-CS@international.gc.ca; within 48 hours you will be contacted by a member of the consular staff to confirm whether the service can be provided. Clients must bring along a Canadian government-issued ID with a photo, signature, and personal details, to verify the signature. The stamp stating that the Embassy does not validate the content of the document will be added.

Note that signature witnessing can often be performed by other persons, including friends or coworkers, or by certain professionals. If you have an urgent need to have your signature witnessed on a document, please approach one of the local legal service providers.

3. Certified copies

Fee: $20.00 CAD for each certified - Visa or MasterCard only.

A true copy is a certified copy of an original document which, when properly marked as such, may be accepted by institutions (banks, governments, courts of law) as being of equal value as the original.

The Embassy will only provide certified true copies of Canadian-issued documents and to be used in Canada only. Document that can be certified as true copy include the following:

  • Canadian passports
  • Canadian IDs

Please note that the Embassy of Canada can only certify copies of documents issued by educational institutions (including diplomas and results transcripts), if the said documents have been previously authenticated by Global Affairs Canada (please refer to the Authentication/Attestation section).

4. Declaration in Lieu of Certificate of Non-Impediment to Marriage in Kuwait / Free to Marry

Fee: $50.00 CAD - Visa or MasterCard only.

Required documents: original and valid Canadian Passport

We do not provide the following services

5. Authentication & Attestation of Kuwaiti & Foreign Documents

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kuwait’s authentication of any Kuwaiti or foreign-issued document (non-Canadian) is sufficient for use in Kuwait or overseas. Please have this Information Note – Legalizing Kuwait or Foreign Documents for Use in Kuwait or Overseas (.pdf) with you when approaching any local authorities.

6. Police Clearance Certificate Request Form

The Embassy does not issue letters for the request of police clearances.

Prior to their arrival in Kuwait Canadians are requested to obtain a Criminal Record Check with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) or with any local or provincial police station in Canada. This Criminal Record Check should then be authenticated by Global Affairs Canada and the Kuwait Embassy in Ottawa. Doing so, will allow Canadians to apply for residency without delay upon arrival by proceeding directly to the General Department of Criminal Evidence in Farwaniya/Dhajeej presenting their Canadian passport, Kuwaiti Civil ID, and any other supporting documents required (e.g. photo, etc.) to apply for their Police Clearance Certificate.

If arrangements have not been made in Canada prior to your arrival, you will be required to provide finger prints at the General Department of Criminal Evidence in Farwaniya/Dhajeej and then submit a request for a Criminal Record Check in Canada, following the same procedure described in the previous paragraph as well as print the Information Note – Police Clearance Request Letter (.pdf) and provide it to the General Department of Criminal Evidence, if needed.

7. Confirming Details of a Canadian Passport

For a letter confirming your passport details, please present this Information Note – Confirming Details of a Canadian Passport (.pdf) along with your original Canadian passport and any other required supporting documents and proceed to the requesting authorities.

8. Transfer of Residency To-From a Canadian Passport

The Embassy does not issue a “No objection” letter for transferring a Kuwaiti residency to/from a Canadian passport.

Canadian citizens should print the Information Note – Transfer of Residency to-From a Canadian Passport (.pdf) and proceed to the Immigration and Passport Directorate along with their passports and any required supporting documents to apply for transferring a residency to/from a Canadian passport.

9. Visa-Residency Sponsorship

The Embassy does not issue “No objection” letters to sponsor family for Kuwait residency.

Canadian citizens should print the Information Note – Visa-Residency Sponsorship (.pdf) and proceed to the Immigration and Passport Directorate along with any required supporting documents to apply for sponsoring their family member.

10. Driver’s Licenses

The Embassy does not issue Kuwaiti driver licenses. The Government of Kuwait requires a certification of the status of the province issued driver’s license, which the Embassy of Canada does not have the legal authority to provide.

Canadian citizens wishing to obtain a Kuwait driver’s license must obtain a certified copy of their driving license/record which has been signed and stamped by Global Affairs Canada, and the Embassy of Kuwait in Ottawa.

We strongly recommend that Canadian citizens contact the General Traffic Department in Kuwait to obtain the most up-to-date information regarding the process.

Please click Ministry of Interior - Kuwait for information from the Government of Kuwait on applying for a driver’s license.

11. Translation & Interpretation

Consular Officers are not permitted to translate documents, certify to the correctness of translations, authenticate translators’ signatures and provide interpretation services. Translators and Interpreters in Kuwait.

12. Legal Advice

Legal advice can be obtained by local lawyers. A list of lawyers is provided.

13. Immigration

The Embassy of Canada in Kuwait does not offer visa or immigration advice and services. For immigration services, please visit the website of the Embassy of Canada in Abu Dhabi, www.uae.gc.ca.

For temporary visitor, or student visa, please visit the website, www.cic.gc.ca or visit the Visa Application Center in Kuwait City:

Kuwait City, Sharq Area,
AlRaya Tower, 54th floor
Tel. +965-2291-3770

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-02-11

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Koweit.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Services aux Canadiens

Services notariaux

Notice : à compter du 1er avril, 2017

  • Aucun document canadien ne sera authentifié par le personnel de l’Ambassade sans avoir été authentifié au préalable par Affaires mondiales Canada et l’Ambassade du Koweït au Canada (processus révisé décrit plus amplement ci‑dessous).
  • Aucune lettre de demande de certificat de police ne sera délivrée par le personnel de l’Ambassade. Les citoyens canadiens doivent obtenir une attestation de vérification du casier judiciaire auprès de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ou auprès de tout poste de police local ou provincial au Canada avant de se rendre au Koweït (veuillez consulter les notes figurant dans la section ci-dessous sur la vérification du casier judiciaire).

Préambule

L’Ambassade du Canada au Koweït offre des services notariaux principalement aux citoyens canadiens.

Les agents consulaires ne sont pas des notaires, ni des commissaires à l’assermentation, des avocats, etc. Ils n’offrent pas les services suivants :

  • Certification de l’authenticité de documents;
  • Rédaction ou modification de documents pour le client;
  • Services de mandataire;
  • Vérification de l’identité d’une personne;
  • Signature de tout document dont le contenu peut être trompeur ou utilisé à des fins frauduleuses;
  • Conseils juridiques, services de traduction ou d’interprétation;
  • Conseils en matière d’immigration.

La capacité des agents consulaires d’offrir des services n’entraîne pas l’obligation d’accomplir des fonctions notariales sur tout document; les agents consulaires peuvent donc décider de ne pas offrir les services.

Dans de nombreux cas, les fournisseurs de services locaux sont mieux placés que le personnel de l’Ambassade pour offrir les services.

Services Offerts :

  1. Authentification et attestation de documents canadiens
  2. Certification de signature
  3. Copies conformes
  4. Libre de se marier / Déclaration tenant lieu de certificat de non-empêchement au mariage au Koweït

Services Non-Offerts :

  1. Authentification et attestation de documents étrangers (Koweït ou ailleurs)
  2. Formulaire de demande de certificat de police
  3. Confirmation des détails d’un passeport canadien
  4. Transfert de résidence d’un passeport étranger au passeport canadien ou vice versa
  5. Parrainage pour visa/résidence
  6. Permis de conduire
  7. Traduction et interprétation
  8. Conseils juridiques
  9. Immigration

Services Offerts

Délai de traitement 3 jours ouvrables, sauf indication contraire.

1. Authentification et attestation de documents canadiens

Frais : 50 $ CAN, plus 1,50 $ de frais de service - Visa ou MasterCard seulement.

L’Ambassade ne peut étamper votre document canadien que s’il a été préalablement authentifié par Affaires mondiales Canada à Ottawa. Le timbre de non-validation du contenu sera ajouté, puisque l’Ambassade ne fera qu’attester l’authenticité de la signature et du sceau de l’agent d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Si le document a déjà été authentifié par Affaires mondiales Canada et l’Ambassade du Koweït à Ottawa, les canadiens peuvent simplement imprimer la note d’information – Légalisation des documents d’origine canadienne pour utilisation au Koweït (.pdf, en anglais seulement).

Veuillez prendre note des étapes à suivre à la page sur l’authentification des documents.

2. Certification de signature

Frais: 50 $ CAN, plus 1,50 $ de frais de service - Visa ou MasterCard seulement.

L’Ambassade du Canada peut certifier la signature sur certains documents, au cas par cas et après examen des documents, pour attester l’authenticité de la signature. La certification de la signature ne doit pas être confondue avec l’attestation ou la confirmation de l’identité du client, qui ne peut pas être effectuée par l’agent consulaire.

Les documents dont la signature doit être certifiée doivent être établis par le client, car les agents consulaires ne sont pas autorisés à faire cette tâche. Veuillez présenter une version électronique du document entier, pour examen, à l’adresse KWAIT-CS@international.gc.ca; dans un délai de 48 heures un membre du personnel consulaire communiquera avec vous pour vous indiquer si le service peut être fourni. Les clients doivent présenter une pièce d’identité canadienne officielle avec photo, signature et détails personnels, afin de certifier la signature. Le timbre indiquant que l’Ambassade ne valide pas le contenu du document sera ajouté.

Veuillez noter que la certification d’une signature peut souvent être effectuée par d’autres personnes, des amis, des collègues ou certains professionnels. Si vous avez un besoin urgent de faire certifier votre signature sur un document, veuillez communiquer avec l’un des fournisseurs de services juridiques locaux.

3. Copies conformes

Frais: 20 $ CAN par copie, plus 1,50 $ de frais de service - Visa ou MasterCard seulement.

Une copie conforme est une copie certifiée d’un document original qui, lorsqu’elle est marquée comme telle, peut être acceptée par les institutions (banques, gouvernements, tribunaux) au même titre que l’original.

L’Ambassade ne fournit des copies certifiées conformes que pour des documents canadiens et pour utilisation au Canada uniquement.  Les documents suivants peuvent être certifiés conformes :

  • Passeports canadiens
  • Pièces d’identité canadiennes (À NOTER: Les cartes ou certificats de citoyenneté ne seront pas certifiés conformes.)

Veuillez noter que l’Ambassade du Canada ne peut produire des copies conformes à l’original de documents issus d’institutions pédagogiques, que si ces documents ont été au préalable certifiés par Affaires Mondiales Canada (veuillez-vous référer à la section « Authentification et Attestation de Documents Canadiens »).

4. Libre de se marier / déclaration tenant lieu de certificat de non-empêchement au mariage au Koweït

Frais: 50 $ CAN, plus 1,50 $ de frais de service - Visa ou MasterCard seulement

Documents requis :

  • Passeport canadien: original et valide;

Services Non-Offerts

5. Authentification et attestation de documents koweïtiens ou étrangers

L’authentification par ministère des Affaires étrangères du Koweït de tout document délivré par une autorité koweïtienne ou étrangère (non-Canadienne) peut être utilisé au Koweït. Veuillez-vous assurer d’avoir la note d’information – Légalisation de documents koweïtiens ou étrangers pour utilisation au Koweït ou à l’étranger (.pdf, en anglais seulement) en votre possession lors de vos contacts avec les autorités locales.

6. Formulaire de demande de certificat de police

L’Ambassade du Canada n’émet pas de lettres visant la demande de vérification de casier judiciaire.

Avant leur arrivée au Koweït, les Canadiens sont priés d’obtenir une attestation de vérification du casier judiciaire auprès de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ou de tout poste de police local ou provincial au Canada. Le certificat de vérification du casier judiciaire devra ensuite être authentifié par Affaires mondiales canada et l’Ambassade du Koweït à Ottawa. Ce faisant, à leur arrivée au Koweït, les citoyens canadiens pourront appliquer pour leur résidence sans délai auprès du Département général des preuves pénales à Farwaniya/Dhajeej en  présentant leur passeport canadien, leur pièce d’identité civile du Koweït et tout autre document justificatif requis (p. ex., photo) pour demander leur certificat de police.

Si les arrangements n’ont pas été faits au Canada avant leur arrivée, vous serez tenus de fournir vos empreintes digitales au Département général des preuves pénales à Farwaniya/Dhajeej et ensuite faire une demande de vérification de casier judiciaire au Canada, en suivant la même procédure décrite au paragraphe précédent et en imprimant  la note d’information – Lettre de demande de certificat de police (.pdf, en anglais seulement) et la fournissant au Département général des preuves pénales au besoin.

7. Confirmation des détails d’un passeport canadien

Pour obtenir une lettre confirmant les détails de votre passeport, veuillez présenter la note d’information – Confirmation des détails d’un passeport canadien (Note d’information – CONFIRMATION DES DÉTAILS D’UN PASSEPORT CANADIEN), accompagnée de votre passeport canadien original et de tout autre document justificatif requis, aux autorités compétentes.

8. Transfert de résidence d’un passeport étranger au passeport canadien ou vice versa

L’Ambassade du Canada n’émet pas de lettre de non-objection visant le transfert de résidence koweïtien d’un passeport étranger à un passeport canadien ou vice versa.

Les citoyens canadiens doivent imprimer la note d’information – Transfert de résidence d’un passeport étranger au passeport canadien ou vice versa (.pdf, en anglais seulement) et se rendre à la Direction de l’immigration et des passeports, où ils devront présenter leur passeport et les documents justificatifs requis pour demander le transfert de résidence d’un passeport étranger au passeport canadien ou vice versa.

9. Parrainage – visa/résidence

L’Ambassade du Canada n’émet pas de lettre de non-objection visant le parrainage à des fins de résidence Koweitienne d’un membre de la famille. Les citoyens canadiens doivent imprimer la note d’information – Parrainage – visa/résidence (.pdf, en anglais seulement) et se rendre à la Direction de l’immigration et des passeports, où ils devront présenter les documents justificatifs requis pour demander de parrainer le membre de leur famille.

10. Permis de conduire

L’Ambassade du Canada n’émet pas de permis de conduire koweïtiens. Le gouvernement du Koweït exige une attestation de l’état du permis de conduire par la province ayant émis le permis, attestation que l’Ambassade du Canada n’est pas légalement autorisée à fournir.

Les citoyens canadiens qui souhaitent obtenir un permis de conduire du Koweït doivent se procurer une copie conforme de leur permis/dossier de conduite, signée et estampillée par Affaires mondiales Canada et par l’Ambassade du Koweït à Ottawa.

Nous recommandons fortement aux citoyens canadiens de communiquer avec le Département de la circulation générale au Koweït pour obtenir les renseignements les plus à jour au sujet du processus à suivre.

Consultez Ministry of Interior - Kuwait (en anglais seulement) pour obtenir des renseignements sur les demandes de permis de conduire koweïtiens.

11. Traduction et interprétation

Les agents consulaires ne sont pas autorisés à traduire des documents, à certifier l’exactitude des traductions, ni à authentifier la signature des traducteurs, ni fournir des services d’interprétation. Traducteurs et interprètes au Koweït.

12. Conseils juridiques (Liste des avocats)

Des conseils juridiques peuvent être sollicités auprès d’avocats locaux.

13. Immigration

L’Ambassade du Canada au Koweït n’offre pas de services de visa ou d’immigration.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les services d’immigration, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Ambassade du Canada à Abu Dhabi, à l’adresse www.uae.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les visiteurs temporaires ou les visas d’étudiant, veuillez consulter le site Web www.cic.gc.ca ou vous rendre au Centre de réception des demandes de visa à l’adresse suivante :

Ville de Koweït, secteur Sharq,
Tour AlRaya, 54e étage
No de téléphone : +965-2291-3770

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-03-20