Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Lebanon relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Lebanon in 1954, when Canada deployed an "Envoy Extraordinaire" to Beirut. Canada sent its first Ambassador to Lebanon in 1958. The Canadian Embassy in Beirut was closed in 1985 during the civil war, and reopened in January 1995.

Lebanon opened a consulate in Canada in 1946. This was replaced by a Consulate General in 1949. Lebanon opened its Embassy to Canada in 1958.

Canada-Lebanon bilateral relations are rooted in the strong ties generated by Canada’s Lebanese-Canadian community and the large Canadian diaspora in Lebanon. The first Lebanese immigrants arrived in Montreal in 1882. During the 1975-1990 civil war in Lebanon, Canada gave refuge to thousands of affected Lebanese. The community was estimated at 165,000 in the 2006 census, making it the largest ethnic Arab group in Canada. The evacuation in 2006 of Canadians from Lebanon was the largest in Canada’s history and spoke of the importance of this diaspora community. This relationship is strengthened by close cultural ties, and participation in La Francophonie.

Bilateral trade in merchandise between Lebanon and Canada has totalled around $109 million Canadian dollars in 2014. Canadian exports to Lebanon totalled around $84.5 million, and imports totalled around $24.7 million.

Canada’s top export products to Lebanon include motor vehicles, pharmaceutical products and aircraft; while Lebanon’s main exports to Canada are preparations of vegetables/fruits, beverages and coffee/tea/spices. 

Canada has signed a Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA) in Beirut on 1997 which came into force on 1999. An Air Transport Agreement was initiated in Montreal on 1998 and signed in Beirut on 2000. In 2013, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed between the Canadian Commercial Corporation and the Lebanese Ministry of Finance to strengthen trade and investment cooperation between the two countries.

Canadian companies/institutions are increasingly present in Lebanon, either directly or through agents/representatives/franchises/partnerships, especially in Information and Communication Technologies (ICT); Consumer Products; Education; Agrifood; Building Products; Sustainable Technologies and Life Sciences sectors.

In response to the Syrian crisis, Canada has contributed C$503.5 million in humanitarian assistance funding of which over C$103.6 million directly supports activities in Lebanon, to strengthen the country’s resilience in dealing with the pressure of hosting over 1.2 million refugees. Funding is channeled through UN Agencies, International NGOs, and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies. Canadian humanitarian assistance is helping to provide, amongst other things, food, clean drinking water, shelter, health, education and protection services, as well as contributing to strengthening existing structures and services in the country for both refugees and Lebanese host communities. A total of C$22.5 million was mobilized to support the “No Lost Generation Initiative”, which is helping improve access to education and provide protection services for conflict-affected children in Lebanon.

Canada’s assistance to Lebanon existed far before the Syrian crisis. Following the 2006 conflict, Canada contributed C$30.5 million to respond effectively to humanitarian relief, early recovery, and stabilization needs in Lebanon. At the “2007 International Conference of Support to Lebanon”, Canada pledged an additional C$20 million to support the Lebanese government as it worked to implement social and political reforms, focusing on democratic governance and the development of the private sector.

Canada’s support to Lebanon, is not only limited to the Syrian crisis response. The bilateral relations between the two countries are historical and rooted in the strong people to people ties generated by Canada’s Lebanese-Canadian community and the large Canadian diaspora in Lebanon. Since 2011, Canada’s bilateral assistance program has provided over C$17 million towards a variety of developmental objectives and initiatives, including the National Poverty Targeting Program, which aims at alleviating the suffering of the most vulnerable Lebanese. And with Education among its top development priorities, Canada has also allocated C$10 million to strengthen the Lebanese education system and improve access to quality education for all children.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) supports projects proposed and implemented by local civil society organizations in Lebanon. In 2014-15 the CFLI funded projects targeting priority issues like protection of vulnerable groups and advocacy of human rights, sex and gender-based violence (SGBV), and early marriage (CEFM).  The CFLI builds the capacity of local organizations to support communities all across Lebanon.

Canada strongly supports the Lebanese government’s efforts to strengthen democracy, justice and security in Lebanon. The Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL) was established at the Hague in March 2009 under United Nations Security Council Resolution (UNSCR) 1757 in order to investigate the 2005 assassination of former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri and other victims. Canada has contributed more than $6.5 million to the STL through DFATD’s Global Peace and Security Fund and through secondments of police officers. Canada is also the vice-chair of its Management Committee, which provides administrative and budgetary oversight.  Former Deputy Attorney-General of Canada Daniel Bellemare was the first prosecutor of the STL.  He was succeeded in 2012 by fellow Canadian, Norman Farrell. Canada supports the work of the STL as an independent judicial institution.”

August 2015

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.


Date Modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Liban.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Liban

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Liban en 1954, lorsqu’il a dépêché un « envoyé extraordinaire » à Beyrouth, et y a envoyé son premier ambassadeur en 1958. Le Canada a fermé son ambassade à Beyrouth en 1985 pendant la guerre civile et l’a rouverte en janvier 1995.

Pour sa part, le Liban a ouvert un consulat au Canada en 1946 et l’a remplacé par un consulat général en 1949, puis par une ambassade en 1958.

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et le Liban s’appuient sur les liens solides entre l’importante communauté libano-canadienne et la diaspora canadienne au Liban. Les premiers immigrants libanais sont arrivés à Montréal en 1882. Pendant la guerre civile de 1975-1990, le Canada a accordé l’asile à des milliers de Libanais touchés par la guerre. Au recensement de 2006, on évaluait la communauté libanaise à 165 000, ce qui en faisait le plus important groupe ethnique arabe au Canada. L’évacuation des Canadiens au Liban, en 2006, était la plus importante opération de ce genre dans l’histoire du Canada et elle témoigne de l’importance de cette diaspora. Nos relations sont renforcées par les liens culturels étroits qui unissent les deux pays et notre participation commune à l’Organisation internationale de la francophonie.

Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Liban et le Canada a totalisé environ 109 millions de dollars canadiens en 2014. Les exportations canadiennes vers le Liban totalisaient environ 84.5 millions de dollars; pour leur part, les importations s’élevaient à 24.7 millions de dollars.  Les plus importantes exportations canadiennes au Liban comprennent les véhicules automobiles, les produits pharmaceutiques et les avions, tandis que les exportations principales du Liban vers le Canada sont les préparations de légumes/fruits, les boissons et café/thé/épices. Le Canada a signé un accord sur la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) à Beyrouth en 1997 qui est entré en vigueur en 1999.  Par ailleurs, un accord de transport aérien paraphé à Montréal en 1998 a été signé à Beyrouth en 2000. En 2013, un protocole d'entente a été signé entre la Corporation commerciale canadienne et le ministère libanais des Finances pour renforcer la coopération commerciale et d'investissements entre les deux pays. Les entreprises/institutions canadiennes sont de plus en plus présentes au Liban, que ce soit directement ou par l'intermédiaire d'agents/représentants/franchises/partenariats, en particulier dans les secteurs de la technologie de l'information et des communications (TIC), les produits de consommation, l'éducation, l'agro-alimentaire, les matériaux de construction, les technologies durables et sciences de la vie.

En réponse à la crise syrienne, le Canada a contribué au financement de l'aide humanitaire à hauteur de C$ 503,5 millions dont plus de C$103,6 millions soutiennent directement des activités au Liban qui visent le renforcement de la résilience du pays face à la pression qu’exerce l’accueil de plus de 1,2 millions de réfugiés. Le financement est acheminé au travers des agences des Nations Unies, des ONG internationales, de la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge. L’aide humanitaire canadienne fournit, entre autres choses, de la nourriture, de l'eau potable, des abris, des soins de santé, des services d'éducation et de protection et contribue ainsi au renforcement des structures et services existants dans le pays pour les réfugiés et les communautés d'accueil libanaises. Une somme de C$22,5 millions a été mobilisée pour soutenir le “No Lost Generation Initiative” laquelle améliore l'accès à l'éducation et assure, au Liban, des services de protection en faveur d’enfants affectés par le conflit.

L'aide canadienne au Liban existait bien avant la crise syrienne. Après le conflit de 2006, le Canada a débloqué C$ 30,5 millions afin de répondre efficacement aux besoins humanitaires, au redressement et stabilisation du pays. Lors de « la Conférence internationale de soutien pour le Liban 2007”, le Canada a annoncé une contribution supplémentaire de C$20 millions afin de soutenir le gouvernement libanais et pour qu’il puisse travailler à la mise en œuvre de réformes politiques et sociales, en mettant l'accent sur la gouvernance démocratique et le développement du secteur privé.

L'appui du Canada au Liban, n’est pas limité à la seule réponse à la crise syrienne. Les relations bilatérales entre les deux pays sont historiques et enracinées dans des liens forts noués par des générations de Libano-canadiens et la grande diaspora canadienne au Liban. Depuis 2011, le programme d'aide bilatérale du Canada a accordé plus de C$17 millions servant une variété d'objectifs et d’initiatives de développement, notamment le Programme national de ciblage de la pauvreté, qui vise à alléger les souffrances des Libanais les plus vulnérables. L'Education demeure une des priorités du développement et le Canada a également alloué C$ 10 millions pour renforcer le système éducatif libanais et améliorer l'accès à une éducation de qualité pour tous les enfants.

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) vise à appuyer des projets proposés et mis en œuvre par des organisations de la société civile au Liban. En 2014-2015, le FCIL a financé des projets qui étaient axées sur des questions prioritaires tels que la protection de groupes vulnérables et la sensibilisation aux droits de la personne, les violences sexuelles et basées sur le genre et les mariages précoces. Le FCIL construit les capacités d’organisations locales afin de soutenir des communautés partout au Liban.

Le Canada appuie fermement les efforts du gouvernement libanais pour renforcer la démocratie, la justice et la sécurité au Liban. Le Tribunal spécial pour le Liban (TSL) a été établi à La Haye en mars 2009 selon la Résolution 1757 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (RCSNU), afin d’enquêter sur l’assassinat de l’ancien Premier ministre Rafiq Hariri en 2005 et d’autres victimes. Le gouvernement du Canada a versé plus de 6.5 millions de dollars au TSL par le biais du Fonds pour la paix et de la sécurité mondiales géré par le Ministère des Affaires étrangères, commerce et développement (MAECD) et la formation d’officiers de police. De plus le Canada est le vice-président du Comité de gestion qui assure la supervision administrative et budgétaire du TSL. L’ancien sous-procureur général du Canada, Daniel Bellemare, a été le premier procureur du TSL. Il a été remplacé en 2012 par son compatriote canadien Farrell Norman. Le gouvernement du Canada appuie le travail du TSL à titre d’instance judiciaire indépendante.

Août 2015


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-08-06