Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Lebanon.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Protecting Canada’s Immigration System

Beirut, December 9, 2013 — Effective December 11, 2013, visitors to Canada from several countries, including Lebanon and Syria, will be required to provide fingerprints and a digital photograph when they apply for a visitor visa, study or work permit. 

This new requirement will not only help protect the safety and security of Canadians while helping facilitate legitimate travel, it will also protect prospective visitors by making it more difficult for others to forge, steal or use an applicant’s identity to gain access to Canada. The new requirement will put Canada in line with other countries which are already collecting this information from visitors, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, countries in the European Union Schengen Zone, and Japan.

In the long run, the use of this information will make entry to Canada easier by providing a reliable tool to readily confirm a person’s identity.

Applicants will need to go in person to a visa application centre (VAC) to submit their application and give their fingerprints and have their photograph taken. There is a new fee of $85 CAD for the collection of fingerprints and the photograph, which includes application services at the VAC. Family members who apply together for a visitor visa will pay a maximum fee of $170 CAD.

Applicants under the age of 14 or over the age of 79 will not have to give this information. Diplomats and government officials travelling on official
business are also exempt.

When a traveller arrives in Canada at a port of entry, a Canadian border services officer will use all available sources of information to confirm that person’s identity.

Visitors can submit their application, their fingerprints and their photo by visiting the VAC located at:

Concord Center, Concord Street, Verdun, 7th floor.

VAC service agents are available by phone, email or in person to answer questions in local languages and to make sure that applications are complete. This helps avoid unnecessary delays or refusals due to incomplete applications.

For more information on the new requirements and VAC services, please visit www.cic.gc.ca.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-12-09

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Liban.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Protéger le système d’immigration du Canada

Beyrouth, 9 décembre 2013 — À partir du 11 décembre, les visiteurs souhaitant venir au Canada et originaires d’un certain nombre de pays, dont le Liban et la Syrie, devront fournir leurs empreintes digitales et une photographie numérique lorsqu’ils demanderont un visa de visiteur, un permis d’études ou un permis de travail.

Cette nouvelle exigence ne contribuera pas seulement à protéger la sécurité des Canadiens et à faciliter les déplacements légitimes, mais aussi à protéger les visiteurs en compliquant la contrefaçon, le vol ou l’utilisation de leur identité par des malfaiteurs qui souhaiteraient entrer au Canada. Il s’ensuivra une harmonisation des politiques du Canada avec celles d’autres pays qui sollicitent ces renseignements des visiteurs. Ces pays sont notamment les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l’Australie, les pays de l’espace Schengen de l’Union européenne et le Japon.

À long terme, le recours à cette information facilitera l’entrée au Canada en permettant la confirmation sûre et rapide de l’identité d’une personne.

Les demandeurs devront se présenter à un centre de réception des demandes de visa (CRDV) pour soumettre leur demande, fournir leurs empreintes digitales et se faire prendre en photographie. De nouveaux frais de 85 $CAN sont exigés pour la collecte des empreintes digitales et la prise de la photographie, cette somme couvrant les services de demande fournis au CRDV. Pour les membres d’une même famille qui présentent ensemble leur demande de visa de visiteur, les frais seront au maximum de 170 $CAN.

Les demandeurs de moins de 14 ans ou de plus de 79 ans n’auront pas à fournir ces données, de même que les diplomates et les représentants gouvernementaux qui voyagent dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions officielles.

À l’arrivée d’un voyageur à un point d’entrée du Canada, un agent des services frontaliers du Canada utilisera les données biométriques pour confirmer l’identité du voyageur.
Les visiteurs peuvent soumettre leur demande, leurs empreintes digitales et leur photo en se rendant au CRDV situé au centre Concord, rue Concord, Verdun, 7e étage.
Les agents des CRDV sont disponibles pour répondre aux questions par téléphone, par courriel ou en personne, dans la langue locale, et s’assurent que les demandes sont dûment remplies, ce qui contribue à éviter aux demandeurs les retards ou refus inutiles découlant de la présentation de demandes incomplètes.

Pour en savoir plus sur les nouvelles formalités à remplir et les services que peuvent fournir les CRDV, consultez cic.gc.ca.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-12-09