Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Libya.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Media Room

Protecting civic and human rights during Libya’s transition

Bookmark and Share


A participant stands with his certificate after completing a workshop on children’s rights.
   

Participants exchange notes during a workshop exploring women’s civic and human rights in Libya.
   

A participant receives her certificate after completing a workshop on women’s and children’s rights.
   

Canada has made it a priority to support the protection of human rights internationally. In Libya, the ongoing conflict and political transition have made the protection of human and civil rights even more urgent. Educating and engaging Libyans on their human and civic rights is a critical tool for supporting the country’s transition to democracy.

The Embassy of Canada to Libya recently partnered with Canadian Leaders in International Consulting (CLIC) and two local Libyan organizations to conduct awareness raising activities about women’s and children’s rights in Libya.

These workshops offered an important opportunity to provide Libyans with information on their rights; build the capacity of local organizations that continue to advocate for the rights of Libyans; and to develop and submit formal suggestions on the protection of rights to Libya’s Constitutional Drafting Assembly.

Workshops for rights

The project aimed to target Libyan women and men residing in Misrata, Khoms, and Tripoli, as well as Libyan children, parents, and teachers from local schools in the Amazigh community residing in the Nefusa Mountains. Participants explored the rights of women and children, how these rights are affected by conflict, and the ways in which women contribute to a stable and democratic society.

Mentoring sessions were provided to local partner organizations in Libya including Tira and Why for Me? Women’s Rights. Training on community outreach and mobilization was provided, enabling participating organizations to develop new tools and strategies to serve the needs of their communities. In order to keep dialogue and connections going moving forward, several human rights committees were formed which will bring ongoing benefits to the communities.

Constitution considerations

The Constitutional Drafting Assembly in Libya is currently working to develop a new constitution, which will serve as a cornerstone of the country’s democratic transition.

In the workshops, participants produced several recommendations which were submitted to the Assembly for their consideration during this process.  Recommendations included ensuring equality for men and women throughout the constitution, strengthening language to guarantee the protection of rights, and providing legal provisions for divorce initiated by women.

This project provided a critical and well-timed opportunity to educate Libyans and support local organizations who are working to ensure these rights are protected during and after Libya’s transition.

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-06-12

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Libye.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Protéger les droits de la personne et les droits civils durant la transition de la Libye

Partagez et faite un signet


Un participant tient son certificat après avoir terminé un atelier sur les droits des enfants.
   

Des participants échangent des notes durant un atelier portant sur les droits de la personne et les droits civils des femmes en Libye.
   

Un participant reçoit son certificat après avoir terminé un atelier sur les droits des femmes et des enfants.
   

Le Canada s’est donné comme objectif prioritaire de soutenir la protection des droits de la personne à l’échelle internationale. En Libye, le conflit persistant et la transition politique actuelle ont rendu la protection des droits de la personne et des droits civils encore plus urgente. Sensibiliser et faire participer les Libyens à leurs droits de la personne et droits civils est un moyen essentiel pour favoriser la transition démocratique de ce pays.

L’ambassade du Canada en Libye s’est récemment associée à Canadian Leaders in International Consulting (CLIC) et à deux organisations libyennes pour mener des activités de sensibilisation aux droits des femmes et des enfants en Libye.

Ces ateliers ont offert une occasion importante d’informer les Libyens de leurs droits, de renforcer les capacités des organisations locales qui continuent à défendre pour les droits des Libyens, de formuler et de présenter des suggestions officielles sur la protection des droits à l’Assemblée constituante libyenne.

Des ateliers axés sur les droits

Le projet était destiné aux Libyens et Libyennes résidant à Misrata, à Khoms et à Tripoli, et s’adressait également aux enfants, aux parents et aux enseignants des écoles de la communauté amazighe établie dans la région des monts Nefoussa. Les participants ont abordé les droits des femmes et des enfants, la façon dont le conflit porte atteinte à ces droits, et les moyens dont disposent les femmes pour contribuer à une société stable et démocratique.

Des séances de mentorat ont été assurées par des organisations partenaires libyennes telles que Tira et Why for Me? Women’s Rights. Les organisations participantes ont reçu de la formation sur l’action de proximité et la mobilisation communautaire pour leur permettre de concevoir des outils et des stratégies utiles aux besoins de leurs communautés. Pour maintenir le dialogue et les relations à l’avenir, plusieurs comités des droits de la personne ont été mis sur pied, ce qui apportera des avantages durables aux communautés.

Des éléments d’appréciation pour la Constitution

L’Assemblée constituante libyenne est actuellement en train d’élaborer une nouvelle constitution qui servira de pierre angulaire à la transition démocratique du pays.

Lors des ateliers, les participants ont formulé plusieurs recommandations présentées aux membres de l’Assemblée pour qu’ils les prennent en considération durant le processus de rédaction.  Les recommandations portent notamment sur la consécration du principe de l’égalité entre hommes et femmes dans l’ensemble de la constitution, le renforcement des termes utilisés pour garantir la protection des droits, et la prévision de dispositions légales pour les procédures de divorce engagées par les femmes.

Le projet a offert une occasion cruciale et opportune de sensibiliser les Libyens et de soutenir les organisations locales qui agissent pour faire en sorte de protéger ces droits pendant et après la transition de la Libye.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-06-12