Sharing “Girls’ Voices” in Malaysia to end child marriage

Keynote speech by the Malaysian Minister of Women, Family and Community Development, Rohani Abdul Karim.

Canada’s High Commissioner to Malaysia Judith St. George and Minister Rohani at the social media booth.

Among the exhibition at the influential launch.

Rohani greets the guests at the launch.

In Malaysia, Islamic laws place the legal marrying age for boys and girls at 18 and 16, with girls aged below 16 being allowed to marry as long as they have consent from their parents and the court.

Although the Malaysian government strongly discourages child, early and forced marriages (CEFM), 74 percent of 600 child marriage applications were approved by the Syariah Court in 2014 because the guardians on both sides of the children consented to the marriages.

In 2015, Joint Action Group for Gender Equality said that there were as many as 15,000 Malaysians who were married off before the age of 19. The group also highlighted that in poorer states, young girls were married off to their rapists.

In order to raise public awareness and build support to end CEFM in Malaysia, the High Commission of Canada in Malaysia partnered with Malaysia’s Ministry of Women, Family, and Community Development (KPWKM) to  host a public photo exhibition  developed by the Government of Canada and Girls Not Brides  called “Girls’ Voices: Speaking Out Against Child Marriage.”

Exhibition exposes CEFM as a problem

 “Girls’ Voices” was displayed in a central concourse of the Berjaya Times Square (BTS) shopping mall in central Kuala Lumpur, sharing with the public the untold stories of girls forced into or are at risk of child marriage, and the stories of leaders, families, and community members who are advocating ending CEFM.

At the launch event, Canada’s High Commissioner to Malaysia, Judith St. George, delivered strong opening remarks that highlighted Canada’s global efforts to end CEFM. St. George then introduced Malaysian Minister of KPWKM, Rohani Abdul Karim, who delivered a powerful keynote speech that indicated that CEFM was indeed a problem in Malaysia and that the Government of Malaysia was “very, very much against” CEFM. Minister Rohani also highlighted the importance of Canada’s initiatives and that both domestic and international collaboration were essential to ending CEFM.

Canada has become recognized as a strong advocate against CEFM in Malaysia and has been approached by organizations from the Malaysian states of Melaka and Sabah for further partnership in the fight against CEFM.

Building off of the successful exhibition, Canada will continue to support and work with partners to raise public awareness of the harmful practices of CEFM across Malaysia and around the world.

Partager les « Paroles de filles » en Malaisie pour mettre fin aux mariages d’enfants

Discours de Rohani Abdul Karim, ministre malaisien des Femmes, de la Famille et du Développement communautaire.

Judith St. George, haut-commissaire du Canada en Malaisie et le ministre Rohani au kiosque des médias sociaux.

Une partie de l’exposition, qui a été inaugurée avec success.

M. Rohani accueille les invités lors de l’inauguration.

En Malaisie, la loi islamique fixe l’âge légal du mariage pour les garçons et les filles à 18 et 16 ans respectivement et autorise les filles âgées de moins de 16 ans à se marier si elles ont le consentement de leurs parents et du tribunal.

Bien que le gouvernement malaisien déconseille fortement les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF), 74 pour cent des 600 demandes de mariage d’enfants ont été approuvées par le tribunal de la Syariah en 2014 en raison du consentement au mariage des tuteurs légaux des deux enfants.

En 2015, le Joint Action Group for Gender Equality a déclaré qu’il y avait jusqu’à 15 000 Malaisiens qui s’étaient mariés avant l’âge de 19 ans. Le groupe a également souligné que dans les États les plus pauvres, les jeunes filles étaient souvent mariées à leur violeur.

Afin de sensibiliser l’opinion publique et renforcer son soutien pour mettre fin aux MEPF en Malaisie, le haut-commissariat du Canada en Malaisie s’est associé au ministère malaisien des Femmes, de la Famille et du Développement communautaire (KPWKM) pour accueillir l’exposition publique de photos intitulée « Paroles de filles : Ensemble contre le mariage d’enfants » qui a été créée par le gouvernement du Canada et l’organisme Filles, Pas Épouses.

L’exposition met en lumière le problème des MEPF

 Installée dans le hall principal du centre commercial Berjaya Times Square (BTS), dans le centre-ville de Kuala Lumpur, l’exposition « Paroles de filles » présentait des histoires inédites de jeunes filles ayant été confrontées au mariage d’enfants ou ayant subi un mariage forcé, ainsi que les histoires de dirigeants, de familles et de membres de communautés militant pour la fin des MEPF.

Lors de l'inauguration de l’exposition, Judith St. George, haute-commissaire du Canada en Malaisie, a prononcé un mot d’ouverture important qui venait souligner les efforts du Canada à l’échelle mondiale pour mettre fin aux MEPF. Mme St. George a par la suite présenté le ministre malaisien du KPWKM, Rohani Abdul Karim, qui a prononcé un discours convaincant visant à rappeler que les MEPF sont un problème majeur en Malaisie et que le gouvernement malaisien est « entièrement contre » les MEPF. Le ministre Rohani a également souligné l’importance des initiatives canadiennes et de la collaboration nationale et internationale pour mettre fin à ce problème.

Le Canada est désormais reconnu comme un fervent opposant aux MEPF en Malaisie et a été approché par des organismes des États malaisiens de Melaka et Sabah pour renforcer leurs partenariats dans la lutte contre les MEPF.

Le Canada s’appuiera sur la réussite de l’exposition pour continuer à soutenir ses partenaires et collaborer avec ces derniers afin de sensibiliser l’opinion publique à la pratique dangereuse des MEPF en Malaisie et dans le reste du monde.