Canada funds “VERIFIER” system for KLIA2

June 16, 2015, Kuala Lumpur:  At a ceremony today at KLIA2, High Commissioner for Canada in Malaysia, Judith St. George, joined Dato' Mohd Zulfikar Bin Ahmad, Director of KLIA Immigration; Mr. Sjef Broekhaar and Ms. Elisa Tsakiri from the International Organisation for Migration (IOM) to witness the handover of a “VERIFIER Travel Documents & Biometrics” system to Malaysia.

The first set VERIFIER system in Malaysia was deployed at KLIA in 2014 and is now being expanded to KLIA2.  Backed by funding from Canada and developed by the IOM, VERIFIER assists immigration and border control officers to detect fraudulent travel documents and imposters.  It reads information and chips in passports and compares biometric identifiers against all records, all in less than 20 seconds.  Since 2014, the IOM has deployed VERIFIER with Canadian support to nine countries in Asia which has resulted in hundreds of fraud cases being identified. 

"Canada is proud to be working with the IOM and Malaysia on improving border security,” said High Commissioner St. George.  “It highlights the importance our two countries and the IOM place on international collaboration to fight transnational and organized crime."


- 30  -

Media contact:

Asha Chandren, High Commission of Canada in Malaysia
+6 03 2718 3308 / +6012-396-5451, KLMPRMedia@international.gc.ca

Le Canada finance le système « VERIFIER » pour KLIA2

16 juin 2015, Kuala Lumpur: Lors d’une cérémonie tenue aujourd’hui à KLIA2, Judith St. George, haut-commissaire du Canada en Malaisie, s’est jointe à Dato' Mohd Zulfikar Bin Ahmad, directeur de KLIA Immigration, ainsi qu’à M. Sjef Broekhaar et Mme Elisa Tsakiri de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM) pour assister à la remise d’un système de vérification des « documents de voyage & des données biométriques VERIFIER » à la Malaisie.

Le premier système VERIFIER en Malaisie a été déployé à KLIA en 2014 et son utilisation est maintenant étendue à KLIA2. Soutenu par le financement du Canada et développé par l’OIM, VERIFIER aide les agents d’immigration et de contrôle des frontières à détecter les documents de voyage frauduleux et les imposteurs. Il lit les informations et les puces dans les passeports et compare les identificateurs biométriques à toutes les données enregistrées, le tout en moins de 20 secondes. Depuis 2014, l’OIM a déployé VERIFIER avec le soutien du Canada dans neuf pays d’Asie, permettant la détection de centaines de tentatives de fraude.

« Le Canada est fier de travailler de concert avec l’OIM et la Malaisie pour améliorer la sécurité des frontières », a déclaré le haut-commissaire St.George. «Cela met en relief l’importance que nos deux pays et l’OIM accordent à la collaboration internationale pour lutter contre la criminalité transnationale organisée».