Cultural Affairs

Over the past decade, as the Canada-Mexico political relationship has broadened and the commercial relationship multiplied, so too have bilateral cultural relations expanded and diversified. Canadian artists and performers have become increasingly prominent on the Mexican cultural scene. At the same time, personal exchanges and collaborations between artists and cultural personalities are becoming ever more frequent.

Canadian cultural presentations in the last few years have ranged from performances of extraordinary quality such as the Cirque du Soleil, Cavalia and the La Pietà Chamber Orchestra, featuring Canadian violinist of international prestige Angèle Dubeau, to the engaging productions of the translated plays of Marc Michel Bouchard, Wajdi Mouawad and Michel Tremblay. The concerts of Diana Krall, Michael Bublé, Justin Bieber and Arcade Fire have enchanted the Mexican public, as well as the more intimate performances of pianists Roger Lord and Marika Bournaki, flautist Susan Hoeppner, the Dave Young Jazz Quartet, the Steve Koven Trio, and Vancouver- based Scrap Arts.

The Atwood-Roy Literary Chair, created in 2002 at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) in order to increase the knowledge and profile of Canadian literature in Mexico has recently featured internationally renowned figures such as Margaret Atwood, James Bartleman, Nino Ricci, Miriam Toews, and Merilyn Simonds, all of whom participated in the  international literary festivals of the cities of San Miguel de Allende and Tepoztlan.  Other authors such as Lorna Crozier, Paul Bélanger and Albert Moritz have also participated in recent years in other literary festivals throughout the Mexican Republic.

Canadian visual arts exhibits in Mexico have ranged from the grand exhibit of the Canadian Museum of Civilizations’ First Peoples of Canada at the Museo Nacional de las Culturas, to Vincenzo Pietropaolo’s photographic exhibit Harvest Pilgrims, to a restropective show of Claire Weissman Wilks’ paintings, complemented by her most recent creation of earthenware sculptures, and visual artist Toller Cranston’s exhibit at the Embassy of Canada. Recently, the works of plastic artists Marion Perlet, Ann Marie Slipper, Gary Slipper, Elaine Wilson and Ted Michener were presented in a show called Through Canadian Eyes in Tepoztlán, Morelos.

As far as film is concerned, Canada participated as country of honour at the Monterrey International Film Festival 2011. Also, Canadian films are frequently being shown in Mexican cinemas, like the critically acclaimed Incendies and Monsieur Lazhar.

Canadian and Mexican artists and performers are also getting to know each other. Since 1995, the Banff Centre for the Arts has partnered with Mexico’s National Fund for Culture and the Arts (FONCA) to invite Mexican artists from such disciplines as music, visual arts, writing, dance and translation to participate in workshops at the Centre, thereby offering a space for creative inspiration. Increased personal contact between Mexican and Canadian artists is providing the opportunity for artists from the two countries to undertake collaborative projects.

In short, Canadian culture is big in Mexico, and we invite to you to visit the cultural calendar of the Canadian Embassy in Mexico to see what's coming up in the next few months.

Links

General (Government and national agencies)

Directories and Encyclopedias

Visual Arts

Cinema and Television

Books and Literature

Dance, Performing Arts, Theatre, Music

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-08-14

Affaires culturelles

Au cours de la dernière décennie, alors que les relations politiques entre le Canada et le Mexique se sont développées et que les relations commerciales se sont intensifiées, les relations culturelles elles aussi se sont accrues et diversifiées. Les artistes canadiens deviennent chaque fois plus proéminents sur la scène culturelle mexicaine et les échanges et collaborations entre artistes et personnalités du monde de la culture de chaque pays sont chaque jour plus fréquents.

Les présentations culturelles canadiennes durant les dernières années ont été nombreuses et variées, allant de spectacles de qualité extraordinaire comme celui du Cavalia, le Cirque du Soleil et l'orchestre La Pietà avec la prestigieuse violoniste Angèle Dubeau, jusqu'aux productions des œuvres de Michel Tremblay, Wajdi Mouawad et Marc Michel Bouchard. Les concerts de Diana Krall, Michael Bublé, Justin Bieber et Arcade Fire ont enchanté le public mexicain, aussi que les concerts plus intimes des pianistes Roger Lord et Marika Bournaki, flutiste Susan Hoeppner, le Dave Young Jazz Quartet, le Steve Koven Jazz Trio, et Scrap Arts de Vancouver.

Le programme d'enseignement Atwood-Roy, créé en 2002 à l'Université Nationale Autonome de Mexico (UNAM) dans le but de développer le profil de la littérature canadienne, a reçu des personnalités de renommée internationale comme Margaret Atwood, James Bartleman, Nino Ricci, Miriam Toews, et Merilyn Simonds, qui ont participé aux festivaux littéraires internationaux à San Miguel Allende et Tepoztlan. Des autres auteurs comme Lorna Crozier, Paul Bélanger et Albert Moritz ont participé aux festivaux littéraires autour du Mexique.

Les expositions de l'art visuel du Canada au Mexique ont présenté des travaux qui comprennent la grande exhibition des Premiers Peuples du Canada du Musée Canadien des Civilisations, l'exhibition photographique Harvest Pilgrims de Vincenzo Pietropaolo, la rétrospective de Claire Weissman Wilks, et l'exhibition de l'artiste visuel Toller Cranston à l'Ambassade du Canada. Récemment, le travail des artistes Marion Perlet, Ann Marie Slipper, Gary Slipper, Elaine Wilson et Ted Mitchener a été présenté dans l'exhibition A Travers des Yeux Canadiens à Tepoztlán, Morelos.

Quant au film, Canada a été le pays d'honneur du Festival International du Film de Monterrey en 2011. Des films canadiens sont montrés fréquemment dans des cinémas mexicains, comme Incendies et Monsieur Lazhar.

D'autre part, les artistes canadiens et mexicains ont aussi eu l'occasion de se rencontrer. Depuis 1995 le Centre des Arts de Banff s'est associé avec le Fondo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes (FONCA) de Mexico pour inviter des artistes mexicains de différentes disciplines comme la musique, les arts visuels, la littérature, la danse et la traduction à participer à des ateliers organisés dans le Centro, offrant un espace pour l'interprétation créative. Les contacts personnels entre artistes canadiens et mexicains sont de plus en plus fréquents et permettent de mener à bien des projets de collaboration.

En résumé, la présence de culture canadienne est très importante et nous vous invitons à consulter le Calendrier Culturel de l'Ambassade du Canada au Mexique pour vous maintenir au courant des événements qui auront lieu dans les mois à venir.

Liens

Généraux

Repertoires et encyclopédies

Arts visuels

Cinéma et télévision

Livres et littérature

Danse, theatre et musique

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-08-14