Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

mongolia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Dancing Against Violence: Canada Supports Girls’ Rights in Mongolia

Bookmark and Share


Girls practice a flash mob dance routine


Girls practice a flash mob dance routine

 


Junior police club members show solidarity for girls’ rights

 


Girls practice a flash mob dance routine

Canada spent several months promoting the rights of girls in Mongolia, speaking out against violence and supporting projects related to the International Day of the Girl Child through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives.

Aiming to bring the voices of girls to the ears of the country’s decision-makers, the Canadian Embassy supported the Princess Centre of Mongolia in engaging thousands of girls and young women in the protection of their rights, through a campaign called Girls are Not the Target of Violence.

A day-long Young Women’s Voice Forum brought hundreds of participants together to tackle the issue, allowing girls the opportunity to communicate directly with those in positions of power. At the forum, young women pushed for better support and more accessible services for girls who fall victim to sexual violence.

The campaign also raised awareness of the risks of early pregnancy and the tragedy of life-threatening abortions. The campaign distributed thousands of pamphlets, buttons, posters and powerful videos in which Mongolian girls spoke out against harassment, discrimination and violence.

The campaign also curated a photo exhibition to document the seriousness of violence in schools, domestic and sexual violence, street harassment and assault, and the influence of patriarchy on Mongolian girls’ lives.

The photo exhibition featured 100 photos that were collected during the Beautiful Hearts Campaign, presented by the Princess Centre and supported by the Canada Fund. It has since been invited to be exhibited in Japan.

The Canadian funding also helped the campaign distribute thousands of pamphlets, buttons and posters, and to produce a powerful video in which Mongolian girls shared their experiences and spoke out against threats and violence.

Flash mobs played a big part in the campaign, and videos capturing them are available on YouTube. The flash mobs involved girls at 42 different schools dancing to a song composed especially for the campaign, “We Are Not a Doll”.

The flash mobs and the testimonial video were both featured on Mongolian television stations and chronicled elsewhere in the media.

Around the world, young women are standing up for their rights to live safe and healthy lives. Canada is committed to the social and economic empowerment of women, and works to combat violations of women’s rights such as child, early and forced marriages and sexual assault. There remains much work to do, but initiatives such as this serve as inspiration in the pursuit of rights for women worldwide.

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-03-18

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

mongolia.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Danser contre la violence : appui du Canada aux droits des filles en Mongolie

Partagez et faite un signet


De jeunes filles s’entraînent pour une danse éclair


De jeunes filles s’entraînent pour une danse éclair

 


Jeunes policiers stagiaires exprimant leur solidarité envers les droits des filles

 


De jeunes filles s’entraînent pour une danse éclair

Le Canada a consacré plusieurs mois à la promotion des droits des filles en Mongolie, dénonçant publiquement la violence et donnant son appui à des projets connexes à la Journée internationale des filles par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales.

Afin que la voix des jeunes filles soit entendue par les décideurs du pays, l’ambassade du Canada a accordé son appui au Princess Centre de Mongolie afin de sensibiliser des milliers de filles et de jeunes femmes à la protection de leurs droits, par le biais d’une campagne intitulée Girls are Not the Target of Violence. [Les filles n’ont pas être la cible de violences]

Un forum d’une journée consacré aux jeunes femmes a réuni des centaines de participantes déterminées à s’attaquer à cette question, et leur a permis d’interpeller directement ceux qui occupent des postes décisionnels. Lors de ce forum, de jeunes femmes ont exigé plus de soutien et une meilleure accessibilité à des services pour les filles victimes de violence sexuelle.

La campagne a organisé une expo-photos afin de documenter la gravité de la violence à l’école, de la violence conjugale et sexuelle, du harcèlement et des agressions dans les rues des villes, et de l’influence du patriarcat sur l’existence des jeunes Mongoles. L’exposition illustrait aussi les risques liés aux grossesses précoces et les tragédies causées par des avortements dans des conditions mettant en danger la vie des jeunes filles.

L’exposition de photos présentait 100 clichés, dans le cadre de la campagne du Princess Centre et des Beautiful Hearts soutenue par le FCIL. Dernièrement, l’expo a été invitée au Japon.

Le financement du Canada a également aidé la campagne à distribuer des milliers de brochures, de macarons et d’affiches, et à produire un clip bouleversant dans laquelle de jeunes Mongoles expriment leur vécu et exhortent à en finir avec les menaces et la violence faite aux filles.

L’organisation de « rassemblements éclair » a fait partie intégrante de cette campagne, et on peut en voir de nombreux exemples sur YouTube. Ces activités ont mobilisé des filles de 42 écoles différentes autour d’une chanson composée pour la campagne, « Nous ne sommes pas des poupées ».

Les rassemblements éclair et les témoignages vidéo ont fait les gros titres des stations de télé mongoles et des autres médias.

Autour du monde, de jeunes femmes défendent leurs droits à vivre sainement et sans danger. Le Canada s’est engagé en faveur de l’autonomisation sociale et économique des femmes. Il œuvre afin de mettre fin aux violations des droits des femmes comme les mariages précoces et forcés et les agressions sexuelles. Il reste encore beaucoup à accomplir, mais des initiatives comme celles-ci nous inspirent à poursuivre la lutte pour les droits des femmes autour du monde.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-03-10