Ambassador David William Sproule

Message from the Ambassador

On behalf of all of my colleagues at the Embassy of Canada in Ulaanbaatar, I would like to welcome you to our website.  I hope you find the information on these pages to be a useful starting point in learning more about the services we offer and about Canada’s relations with Mongolia.  I also invite you to follow us on social media in English (@CanadaMongolia) and French (@CanadaMongolie).

David William Sproule
Ambassador of Canada to Mongolia

Ambassador - David William Sproule

Biography

David Sproule began his career as a Foreign Service officer with External Affairs Canada in 1981. Following his first posting as Third/Second Secretary in Singapore, Mr. Sproule held other positions in embassies abroad, including as First Secretary in Bangkok and Counsellor in Washington, D.C.

From 2000 to 2004, Mr. Sproule served as Counsel and Deputy Agent of Canada before the International Court of Justice, in the “Case Concerning the Legality of the Use of Force (Yugoslavia v. Canada)”. He was first appointed as a Head of Mission in 2004, serving as High Commissioner to Bangladesh, then as Ambassador to Afghanistan, followed by Ambassador to Thailand, after which he was appointed as Ambassador to Norway, and more recently as Ambassador to Libya before his current position as Ambassador to Mongolia.

In Ottawa, Mr. Sproule’s assignments have included Deputy Director of the Economic Policy and Summits Division; Deputy Director of the Human Rights Law Section; Director of the Asia Division at the Intelligence Assessments Secretariat of the Privy Council Office; Director of the Oceans and Environmental Law Division; Director of the Human Rights, UN, and Economic Law Division; and, Director General of the Legal Bureau. Mr. Sproule has also led numerous Canadian delegations in negotiation of bilateral and multilateral treaties and other international legal instruments.

Ambassadeur David William Sproule

Message de l'ambassadeur

De la part de tous mes collègues de l'Ambassade du Canada à Oulan-Bator, je tiens à vous souhaiter la bienvenue sur notre site Web. J’espère que vous trouverez les informations utiles sur ces pages, lesquelles vous serviront d’un point de départ pour en savoir davantage sur les services que nous offrons et sur les relations entre le  Canada et  la Mongolie. Je vous invite également à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux en français (@CanadaMongolie) et en anglais (@CanadaMongolia).

David William Sproule
Ambassadeur du Canada en Mongolie

Ambassador - David William Sproule

Biographie

David Sproule a débuté sa carrière en tant qu'agent du service extérieur avec Affaires Étrangères du Canada en 1981. À la suite de sa première affectation en tant que troisième et deuxième secrétaire à Singapour, M. Sproule a occupé d'autres postes dans des ambassades à l'étranger, y compris en tant que premier secrétaire à Bangkok et conseiller à Washington, DC.

De 2000 à 2004, M. Sproule a été conseiller et agent adjoint du Canada devant la Cour internationale de Justice, dans l' «Affaire concernant la légalité de l'emploi de la force (Yougoslavie c. Canada)». En 2004, il a  été nommé chef de mission pour la première fois, en tant que Haut-Commissaire au Bangladesh. Il a ensuite été nommé ambassadeur en Afghanistan, puis en Thaïlande, en Norvège, et plus récemment en Libye avant d'être nommé dans son poste actuel d'ambassadeur en Mongolie.

À Ottawa, les fonctions de M. Sproule ont été diverses. Il a notamment été directeur adjoint de la Direction de la politique économique et des sommets; directeur adjoint de la Section du droit des droits de l'homme; directeur de la Division de l'Asie au Secrétariat de l'évaluation du renseignement au Conseil privé; directeur de la Direction du droit des océans et de l'environnement ; directeur de la Division des droits de l'Homme des Nations Unies et du droit économique ainsi que directeur général du Bureau juridique. M. Sproule a également dirigé de nombreuses délégations canadiennes dans les négociations de traités bilatéraux et multilatéraux et d'autres instruments juridiques internationaux.