Engaging youth in Moroccan politics

Poster for the debate.
 

Panelists debate about the most recent regional and local election.
 

Canada believes that it is important for youth to vote because their voice will contribute to public policy choices and decision-making at all levels of government.

The Canadian Embassy to Morocco, through the Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives, supported a debate that encouraged young people to exercise their right to vote and become more involved in Morocco’s political life.

The debate, organized by Marocains Pluriels, was held in Rabat, Casablanca, Fes, Tangier, Marrakech, Agadir, Taroudant and Oujda. All young people were welcomed and each participant was invited to speak the language where he/she felt most comfortable.

Professionals speak about the elections

The first part of the debate focused on the panel speakers’ point of view about the most recent regional and local election.

Panel speakers included Leila Binebine, a private school teacher who also runs a women's rights association; Younes Yatine, a member of the National Council for Human Rights; Imad Fakhori, President of the youth group National Rally of Independents; and Anas Oulmis, President of the Lighting the Way youth association in Morocco.

Panel speakers raised issues such as the persistence of low turnout, the need to vote, and the need for political parties to speak the language of young people.

Youths question panelists about the elections

Youth in the audience were given the opportunity to voice their opinions during the second part of the debate. The youth were outstanding and raised various issues such as their concerns about not knowing who to vote for, about low female-representation, and about the lack of political presence throughout the term in comparison to the political presence that arose during elections period. After a productive discussion, the panelists concluded the debate by stressing the need for youth to vote and the power youths’ political views have.

Canada encourages the full participation of all citizens, no matter young or old, to exercise their right to vote, in order to achieve effective and inclusive governance systems that reflect the will of the people.

Young people raise questions to the panel speakers.

Inciter les jeunes à participer à la politique marocaine

Affiche pour le débat.
 

Les conférenciers animent un débat sur les plus récentes élections régionales et locales.
 

Le Canada estime qu’il est important pour les jeunes d’aller voter, car leur voix contribuera à influencer les choix de politiques publiques et la prise de décisions à tous les paliers du gouvernement.

L’Ambassade du Canada auprès du Maroc, par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, a appuyé un débat incitant les jeunes à exercer leur droit de vote et à s’impliquer davantage dans la vie politique du Maroc.

Le débat, organisé par l’association Marocains Pluriels, a eu lieu à Rabat, Casablanca, Fès, Tanger, Marrakech, Agadir, Taroudant et Oujda. Tous les jeunes étaient les bienvenus et chaque participant a été invité à s’exprimer dans la langue de son choix.

Les professionnels parlent des élections

La première partie du débat a porté sur le point de vue des conférenciers invités au sujet des plus récentes élections régionales et locales.

Parmi les conférenciers invités se trouvaient Leila Binebine, une enseignante dans un collège privé qui dirige également une association pour les droits des femmes; Younes Yatine, membre du Conseil national pour les droits de l’homme; Imad Fakhori, du groupe de jeunes pour le Rassemblement national des indépendants; et Anas Oulmis, président de l’association des jeunes Lighting the Way au Maroc.

Les conférenciers invités ont soulevé des questions telles que le problème persistant de la faible participation électorale, la nécessité de voter et l’importance pour les partis politiques de parler le langage des jeunes.

Les jeunes questionnent les conférenciers sur le déroulement des élections

Les jeunes dans l’auditoire ont eu l’occasion d’exprimer leurs opinions au cours de la deuxième partie du débat. Les jeunes ont été remarquables et ont évoqué le fait de ne pas savoir pour qui voter, la faible représentation des femmes et le maque de présence politique tout au long du mandat par rapport à la présence politique qui a surgi au cours de la période électorale. Après une discussion fructueuse, les conférenciers ont conclu le débat en soulignant la nécessité pour les jeunes de voter et le pouvoir que représente l’opinion des jeunes en matière de politique.

Le Canada invite tous les citoyens à participer pleinement, peu importe leur âge, dans l’exercice de leur droit de vote, afin de réussir à instaurer des systèmes de gouvernance efficaces et inclusifs qui représentent les volontés du peuple.

Les jeunes posent des questions aux conférenciers.