High Commissioner Antoine Chevrier

Message from the High Commissioner

As Canada's High Commissioner for Mozambique and on behalf of all my colleagues, it is with great pleasure that I welcome you to our website. I hope the site will help you find information on the various activities of the High Commission in Mozambique, as well as in Malawi and Swaziland.

It is an honour and a privilege for me to lead the team representing Canada in this warm and wonderful country. Canada’s relationship with Mozambique, of more than 40 years, has developed and matured. Canada maintains strong relations with Mozambique and considers it a key partner in Africa. Our teams deliver program supporting the breadth of our partnership, in the areas of political and economic relations, trade and business development, development cooperation, security cooperation, consular affairs and administration.

Canada has had a longstanding development partnership with Mozambique.  As a significant donor Canada supports a balanced portfolio which includes program-based approaches, multilateral initiatives and a complementary set of projects with Canadian, local and international organizations.  Canada provides support to health and the rights of women, including maternal, newborn and child health, as well as to education, vocational training, green economic growth and governance.    

Canada is committed to working in an integrated manner across our various areas of cooperation.  Canada is committed to supporting training and capacity building of Mozambican professionals and institutions to help create jobs and foster green economic growth.     

Canada-Mozambique economic and trade relations continue to increase, with more opportunities for strategic growth in trade and investment. A number of Canadian companies are active in the country, particularly in engineering and construction, transport and infrastructure, mining, oil and gas, as well as renewable energy. Mozambique is a country of immense opportunities, so let our Trade Commissioner Service know how it can support you.

Canadian travellers in Mozambique, Malawi, and Swaziland marvel at the richness, diversity, and pristine environment of this part of the continent. Many of my fellow citizens also volunteer in each of those countries in order to make a real and valuable contribution to a more peaceful and prosperous world. Regardless of whether their stay is brief or long, temporary or permanent, Canadians may count on effective and efficient consular services.

For those interested in travelling to Canada, please note that the High Commission of Canada in Pretoria is responsible for the immigration program, including the issuance of visitor and student visas for our three countries of accreditation. You can find information about applying for a visa at www.southafrica.gc.ca or via the links on this site.

You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter @CanHCMozambique!

Welcome!

Antoine Chevrier

High Commissioner of Canada to Mozambique
@chevrierantoine

 

Biographical note

Antoine Chevrier (BA [Economics], Laval University, 1993; MA [International Relations], Laval University, 1996) started working with the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in 1997. At Headquarters, he was director of the Haiti Bilateral Development Program, as well as director of the transition team in charge of amalgamating CIDA with Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada in 2013. In 2014, he was appointed director general of the Geographic Coordination and Mission Support Bureau. He has served abroad in positions including, from 2009 to 2013, director of the development program at the Canadian embassy to Peru and Bolivia. From 2002 to 2006 he assumed various functions, including chief of staff in the Executive Secretariat for Integral Development at the Organization of American States, in Washington, D.C. Mr. Chevrier is married to Catherine Vézina; they have a daughter, Philomène.

Haut-commissaire Antoine Chevrier

Message du haut-commissaire

En tant que Haut-commissaire du Canada au Mozambique et au nom de tous mes collègues, c’est avec plaisir que je vous souhaite la bienvenue sur notre site web. J’espère que celui-ci vous aidera dans la recherche d’information sur les différentes activités du haut-commissariat au Mozambique, ainsi qu’au Malawi et au Swaziland.  

C’est un honneur et un privilège pour moi de mener l’équipe qui représente le Canada dans ce pays merveilleux et si chaleureux. Les relations du Canada avec le Mozambique, qui durent maintenant depuis plus de 40 ans, se sont bien développées au fil des ans. Nos relations sont fortes, et le Mozambique est un partenaire clé du Canada en Afrique. Notre équipe met en œuvre de manière intégrée des programmes qui couvrent l’ensemble de notre partenariat, que ce soit au niveau des relations économiques et politiques, du commerce et de l’investissement, la coopération pour le développement, la coopération au niveau de la sécurité. Le tout sans oublier les affaires consulaires et l’administration. 

Le Canada a un partenariat de longue date avec le Mozambique au niveau de la coopération en matière de développement. En tant que bailleur d’importance, le Canada avance un programme équilibré qui inclut des approches-programmes, des initiatives multilatérales et plusieurs projets avec des partenaires locaux, canadiens et internationaux. Le Canada est actif dans les secteurs de la santé et du droit des femmes, notamment la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. Le programme intervient également dans les secteurs de l’éducation, la formation professionnelle, la croissance économique verte et la gouvernance.    

Les relations économiques et commerciales entre le Canada et le Mozambique continuent de s’accroître. Un nombre de compagnies canadiennes sont présentes au pays, particulièrement dans les secteurs de l’ingénierie, de la construction, du transport, des mines, des hydrocarbures, ainsi que celui des énergies renouvelables.  Le potentiel du Mozambique est immense. N’hésitez donc pas à contacter le service des délégués commerciaux pour vous aider.

Les voyageurs canadiens au Mozambique, au Malawi et au Swaziland sont impressionnés par la richesse, la diversité et l’environnement naturel de ce coin de continent. Plusieurs de mes compatriotes y font du bénévolat afin de contribuer de manière directe et concrète à un monde plus sûr et plus prospère. Que ce soit dans le cadre de séjours de courte ou longue durée, temporaires ou permanents, les Canadiennes et Canadiens peuvent compter sur un service consulaire efficace.

Pour ceux et celles qui seraient intéressé/es à voyager au Canada, prière de noter que nos collègues au haut-commissariat à Pretoria sont responsables des services d’immigration, incluant l’émission de visas de visiteur ou d’étudiant pour nos trois pays d’accréditation.  Vous trouverez de l’information sur le processus d’application au http://www.afriquedusud.gc.ca  ou via les liens offerts sur notre site.

Vous pouvez également nous suivre sur Facebook et Twitter @HCCanMozambique!


Bienvenue!

Antoine Chevrier

Haut-commissaire du Canada au Mozambique
@chevrierantoine


Notice biographique

M. Antoine Chevrier (B.A. [économique], Université Laval, 1993; M.A. [relations internationales], Université Laval, 1996) est entré à l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) en 1997. À l’administration centrale, il a été directeur du Programme bilatéral de développement d’Haïti ainsi que directeur de l’équipe de transition responsable d’effectuer la fusion de l’ACDI et d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada en 2013. Depuis 2014, il occupe le poste de directeur général, Coordination géographique et appui aux missions. Il a occupé plusieurs postes à l’étranger, dont celui de directeur du programme du développement à l’ambassade du Canada au Pérou et en Bolivie, de 2009 à 2013. Il a également occupé divers postes, y compris celui de chef de cabinet au sein du Secrétariat pour le développement intégral de l’Organisation des États américains, à Washington, de 2002 à 2006. M. Chevrier est marié à Catherine Vézina, et le couple a une fille, Philomène.