Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Netherlands.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office

Ambassador's Message

Ambassador Sabine NölkeI am deeply honoured to have been appointed as Canada’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands and as Permanent Representative to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), as well as to represent Canada’s interests before the international courts and legal institutions based in The Hague.

It is a privilege, as well, to be working with an experienced and expert team of Canadian and Dutch colleagues, who together cover political and economic affairs; trade and investment; science and technology; defense; police cooperation; and border security.

The Canada-Netherlands relationship -- 75 years strong -- is steeped in a hard-fought shared history, common values of democracy and human rights, and an endless stream of people to people exchanges in pursuit of education, exploration and mutual prosperity.  We stand side by side with our Dutch friends on a broad spectrum of global issues, from child and early forced marriage to nuclear security, from counter terrorism and cyber threats to freer trade between Canada and Europe.  The Netherlands is our fifth-largest trading partner – second largest in the European Union – and our second-largest investor in Canada.  Over one million Canadians trace their roots back to the Netherlands, and thousands of Canadians have made the Netherlands their home.  Our challenge going forward is to capitalise on all that we have in common in new and exciting ways. 

Canada's relations with the Kingdom of the Netherlands include our friends and hemispheric neighbours, the constituent countries of Aruba, Curaçao and St. Maarten.  Our ties with the Dutch Caribbean are strong and growing in the areas of security, prosperity and governance.

At the OPCW, we work with the organization on a broad variety of challenges, ranging from the destruction of existing stockpiles of chemical weapons and preventing their use in conflicts such as that in Syria, to strengthening the implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention by states around the globe and shaping a vision for the future of the Organization.

Finally, my team and I are committed to promoting accountability for serious crimes, the pacific settlement of disputes and the rule of law, through the work of the many international legal institutions that call The Hague home.

Your thoughts, ideas and feedback are always welcome.  As a firm believer in “direct diplomacy”, I look forward to meeting and engaging with you at events around this beautiful country and to hearing from you on Facebook and Twitter!

Ms. Sabine Nölke
Ambassador of Canada to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons


Biography

Sabine Nölke (BA, MA, LLB, University of Western Ontario; LLM, London School of Economics and Political Science) has spent most of her career in the Legal Affairs Bureau, including as counsel in the Legal Operations Division, as deputy director of the United Nations, Criminal and Treaty Law Division and as director of the United Nations, Human Rights and Economic Law Division. She served abroad, at the High Commission of Canada in London and with the Canadian delegation to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe in Vienna. Prior to her appointment to the Netherlands, she was Director-General of the Non-Proliferation and Security Threat Reduction Bureau. Ms. Nölke is married to Christopher D. Ram and has one daughter, Eilidh.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-10-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Pays-Bas.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux

Message de l'ambassadeur

Ambassadrice Sabine NölkeJe suis profondément honorée d’avoir été nommée ambassadrice du Canada au Royaume des Pays-Bas et représentante permanente auprès de l’Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), et de représenter les intérêts du Canada devant les tribunaux internationaux et les institutions juridiques établis à La Haye.

C’est un privilège également de travailler avec une équipe experte et expérimentée de collègues canadiens et néerlandais, qui, ensemble, s’occupent des affaires politiques et économiques, du commerce et de l’investissement, des sciences et de la technologie, de la défense, de la coopération policière et de la sécurité frontalière. 

La relation entre le Canada et les Pays-Bas, forte de ses 75 ans, est imprégnée d’une histoire commune chèrement disputée, des valeurs communes que sont la démocratie et les droits de la personne, et d’une suite ininterrompue d’échanges interpersonnels à des fins d’études, d’exploration et de prospérité mutuelle. Nous partageons les mêmes vues que nos amis néerlandais sur une grande variété de questions mondiales, que ce soit les mariages des enfants, les mariages précoces ou forcés, la sécurité nucléaire, la lutte contre le terrorisme, les cybermenaces ou la libéralisation des échanges entre le Canada et l’Europe. Les Pays-Bas sont notre cinquième partenaire commercial en importance, et le deuxième en Union Européenne, ainsi que le deuxième investisseur en importance au Canada. Plus d’un million de Canadiens ont des origines néerlandaises, et des milliers de Canadiens se sont établis aux Pays-Bas. Notre défi pour l’avenir est de mettre à profit tout ce que nous avons en commun par des moyens nouveaux et prometteurs.  

Les relations du Canada avec le Royaume des Pays-Bas englobent nos amis et voisins hémisphériques, les pays constitutifs d’Aruba, de Curaçao et de St Maarten. Nos liens avec les Caraïbes néerlandaises dans les domaines de la sécurité, de la prospérité et de la gouvernance sont solides et vont croissant.

À l’OIAC, nous travaillons avec l’organisation à un large éventail de défis, qui vont de la destruction des stocks existants d’armes chimiques et de la prévention de leur utilisation dans des conflits comme celui qui sévit en Syrie, au renforcement de la mise en œuvre de la Convention sur les armes chimiques par des États partout dans le monde et à la définition d’une vision pour l’avenir de l’Organisation.

Enfin, mon équipe et moi sommes déterminées à promouvoir la reddition de comptes pour les crimes graves, le règlement pacifique des différends et la primauté du droit, par l’intermédiaire du travail des nombreuses institutions juridiques qui sont établies à La Haye.

Vos réflexions, idées et commentaires sont toujours les bienvenus. Je crois fermement à la diplomatie directe et je serai heureuse de vous rencontrer et de nouer le dialogue avec vous à l’occasion d’activités dans ce beau pays et d’avoir de vos nouvelles sur Facebook et Twitter!

Mme Sabine Nölke
Ambassadrice du Canada auprès du Royaume des Pays-Bas
Représentante permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques


Biographie

Mme Sabine Nölke (B.A., M.A., LL.B., Université Western Ontario; LL.M., London School of Economics and Political Science) a passé la plus grande partie de sa carrière au sein de la Direction générale des affaires juridique, y compris comme avocate à la Direction des opérations juridiques, directrice adjointe à la Direction du droit onusien, criminel et des traités, et directrice du Droit onusien, des droits de la personne et du droit économique. À l’étranger, elle a été affectée au haut-commissariat du Canada à Londres et à la délégation canadienne auprès de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe, à Vienne. Avant sa nomination aux Pays-Bas, elle était Directrice générale du bureau de la non-proliferation et de la réduction des menaces à la sécurité. Elle est mariée à Christopher D. Ram et mère d’une fille, Eilidh.


 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-10-06