Protecting the rights of women and girls in the Pacific

Locals from the village of Vavau in Samoa participate in a discussion on domestic violence

Samoa’s Commissioner of Police, Fuiavailiili Egon Keil, encourages high school students to help reduce violence in schools
 

Christian DesRoches is invited to siva (dance) during the workshop in Vavau
 

Christian DesRoches, from the High Commission in New Zealand, addresses Samoa College students on Canada’s commitment to gender equality
 

In the past year, the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand supported seven projects in the South Pacific, including a series of community workshops in Samoa that focused on the causes and appropriate responses to intimate partner violence. The catalyst for these community conversations was “Raise the Sennit Sail: Exploring violence against women and girls in Samoa” a documentary film produced by local filmmakers with the support of Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).

As a world leader in the promotion and protection of women’s rights and gender equality, Canada is committed to the view that gender equality is not only a human rights issue, but is also an essential component of sustainable development, social justice, peace, and security.

Canada helps to advance these priorities in the South Pacific by partnering with governments, human rights defenders and local communities. The CFLI continues to provide support to small scale, short-term projects by working with local, national and international NGOs and other organisations.

Fostering dialogue on domestic violence

Young men and local policy community outreach officers of the village of Vavau, Samoa alongside the High Commissioner Christian DesRoches participated in a half-day workshop on the causes of violence against women and girls. The women of Vavau village used the powerful medium of performing arts to convey their own experience of domestic violence. Discussions focused on how traditional village structures and interpretations of religion are creating barriers to prevent violence against women and girls.

The High Commission also took part in a seminar on domestic violence and violence in schools, delivered to local students at Samoa College in the capital Apia. Samoa’s Commissioner of Police Fuiavailiili Egon Keil encouraged students to play their part in reducing instances of violence and bullying in schools.

Steven Percival, the documentary filmmaker behind these initiatives, sees these community workshops as a way to provide communities with strategies that can be used to prevent or reduce violence in families and in wider Samoan society. His motivation for making the film came from his view that a generational change in Samoan culture will end such violence.

Fostering dialogue on domestic violence has helped raise awareness in Samoa about women’s rights and the importance of allowing society to benefit from the diverse experience, talents and capabilities of all its members.

Protéger les droits des femmes et des filles dans le Pacifique

 Des personnes locales du village du Vavau à Samoa participent à une discussion sur la violence familiale.

 Le commissaire de police de Samoa Fuiavailiili Egon Keil encourage les étudiants du secondaire à aider à réduire la violence dans les écoles.
 

 Christian DesRoches est invité à siva (danser) pendant l’atelier à Vavau.
 

 Christian DesRoches, du haut-commissariat en Nouvelle-Zélande, parle aux étudiants du Samoa College de l’engagement du Canada envers l’égalité des sexes.
 

Au cours de l’année passée, le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande a soutenu sept projets dans le Pacifique Sud, notamment une série d’ateliers communautaires à Samoa qui était axée sur les causes de la violence conjugale et les interventions appropriées. Le catalyseur de ces conversations communautaires était le film documentaire « Raise the Sennit Sail: Exploring violence against women and girls in Samoa » produit par des cinéastes locaux avec le soutien du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

En tant que leader local de la promotion et de la protection des droits de la femme et de l’égalité des sexes, le Canada s’engage à percevoir l’égalité des sexes non seulement comme une question de droit de la personne, mais également comme une composante essentielle du développement durable, de la justice sociale, de la paix et de la sécurité.

Le Canada aide à faire progresser ces priorités dans le Pacifique Sud en établissant des partenariats avec les gouvernements, les défenseurs des droits de la personne et les communautés locales. Le FCIL continue à fournir un soutien aux projets à petite échelle et à court terme en travaillant avec les ONG locales, nationales et internationales et avec d’autres organisations.

Favoriser le dialogue sur la violence familiale

Des jeunes hommes et des agents de sensibilisation communautaire politiques locaux du village de Vavau (Samoa) ainsi que le haut-commissaire Christian DesRoches ont participé à un atelier d’une demi-journée sur les causes de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles. Les femmes du village de Vavau ont utilisé le puissant moyen des arts pour communiquer leur propre expérience de la violence familiale. Les discussions étaient axées sur la façon dont les structures traditionnelles des villages et les interprétations de la religion créent des obstacles empêchant la prévention de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.

Le haut-commissariat a également pris part à un séminaire sur la violence familiale et la violence dans les écoles. Celui-ci était destiné aux étudiants locaux du Samoa College dans la capitale Apia. Le commissaire de police de Samoa Fuiavailiili Egon Keil a encouragé les étudiants à prendre part à la réduction des cas de violence et d’intimidation dans les écoles.

Steven Percival, le documentariste derrière ces initiatives, perçoit ces ateliers communautaires comme un moyen de fournir aux communautés des stratégies qui peuvent être utilisées pour empêcher ou réduire la violence dans les familles et dans la société samoane en général. Il a fait ce film car il est d’avis qu’un changement de génération au niveau de la culture samoane mettrait fin à cette violence.

Le fait de favoriser le dialogue sur la violence familiale a aidé à accroître à Samoa la sensibilisation sur les droits des femmes et l’importance de permettre à la société de bénéficier de l’expérience variée, des talents et des capacités de tous ses membres.